We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”
Review of The Keadeen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Keadeen Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Shannon, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Four of us + a child had lunch here on Saturday 23rd. November 2013 and it was well worth the visit
The lounge area where we had lunch is most spacious and comfortable. I had Pork, which was stuffed and was delicious - I opted for chips and salad and the chips had their skins attached, which, of course, made them tastier. The Ladies and Gents that served us were, attentive, efficient and most friendly and welcoming.
This Hotel was a great find - for us - and I look forward to returning. Míle Buíochas Ostán Keadeen

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aidan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hi AodhaneF

Go raibh maith agat! I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your very kind feedback.

I hope you get a chance to visit us again soon

Kind regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    151
    50
    18
    16
See reviews for
165
138
19
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Group (11) of us stayed here for a birthday celebration. The hotel is lovely and has a really nice atmosphere but what was outstanding for us was the friendly and super attentive staff. They couldn't do enough for us. From arranging cocktail hour, reserving seating, booking taxi's and serving the post dancing peckish of us biscuits at 3 am with their night caps :-) The little personal touches and friendly can do attitude made our stay. Besides the rooms were lovely, well in keeping with the nice surroundings. Left feeling like a customer.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Liz R

Thank you! What wonderful feedback you have given us and we are delighted to have had the opportunity to look after you and your group for your Birthday celebrations. You will have to make it an annual trip!! I will be sure to pass on to all the team here at the keadeen Hotel.

Kind regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed ere with my boyfriend on a Thursday and Friday night last weekend. Everything from start to finish was excellent. The lady at reception was very welcoming and very informative. Our room was lovely, nice size and had a sofa too which was nice .we also decided to go for a swim in the pool which was so relaxing and with the sauna and steam room too , bliss. ..
We had a 3 course dinner included in our price and it was fab. The choice is huge and I had the black pudding and chiozro starter and im still talking about it and had the special of asain duck for main, again fab and really tasty . My boyfriend had the prawn starter , was a little spicy but was good also and has the smoked cod for main course. Dessert was fab as well. Thry had a wide range of different specials on the next evening also but we jus had a starter as we had late lunch. Had the chicken wings which were lovely and my boyfriend had the potatoe filled skins which were to die for. The service at dinner was excellent , the young girl I think Danielle was so informative and was always chatting to the customers, reccomming this dish or whatever. Other staff we encounted were equally as nice. Lovely hotel and would definitely recommend it .

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Máire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Maire C

THANK YOU! Your feedback is fantastic and it has made our day! I will be sure to pass to all our staff members here.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

i enjoyed my stay the rooms are great but the staff lacked interaction with customers such as us the only person that would talk to us and have a bit of banter was a young barman called Thomas witty person. food wasn't too great it has its ups and downs just the gravy tasted like flour and the creamed potato's was lumpy other than that the meat was nice service was slow even when it was quiet. i wouldn't recommend it but it ain't the worst place i have been to but wouldn't be in a hurry to come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Hi Sarah S

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, I really appreciate it.
I am delighted to hear you think our bedrooms are great we are very proud of the standard and quality of the rooms we provide. I am very happy to hear Thomas looked after you well and you enjoyed his sense of humour! While we certainly encourage all staff to be warm and friendly, not everyone has such a natural wit. In terms of service, all our dishes are cooked fresh and to order and therefore some menu items will take longer than others to prepare and serve. I take on board your comments regarding the gravy although this is first time we have received a comment of this nature and in relation the mashed potatoes- they are 'lumpy' as they are prepared with onions, a recipe we use to high regard.

Considering you enjoyed our great bedrooms and witty staff members, I would sincerely hope you will reconsider your decision and revisit our hotel again in the future.

Kind regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Recently stayed at the Keadeen for three nights with my extended family as we were attending my dear Gran's funeral. She was a regular there and they did her proud. Nothing was too much trouble, they looked after each and every one of us from start to finish including some last minute requests and despite the fact they were very busy. An immaculate old-style hotel, which is kept spotless. The Bar food is excellent and many of the newer, more 'luxury' hotels could learn from the Keadeen Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TASSmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear TASSmyth

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience here at the Keadeen Hotel but I am very sorry it wasnt under happier circumstances. It gives us great pleasure to read your Grandmother was a regular visitor to the Hotel and that you and your family have extended that tradition.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed at this beautiful hotel in June for the Durby day. Group of 16 of us for my sisters hen party and EVERYONE loved the hotel!! The staff were just amazing. we got our own room away from other guests for our dinner do we didn't have to worry about making noise :D They thought of everything. Thank you so much again - sorry for the delay with the review.

Room Tip: We had about 8 room - all of which were of the hightest standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest

Great to hear from you, I am delighted you had the opportunity to experience our hospitality during the Derby Racing Festival. Your feedback is very much appreciated!

Kind regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
totsstuff
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed in the Keadeen at the weekend and were so pleased with our break that we said we would consider coming back.

Staff were extremely pleasant and very helpful throughout the weekend. Our room was lovely and cosy, particularly as it was quite a cold weekend. We had lunch from the bar menu, which was more than adequate, and on Saturday night we ate dinner in the restaurant- this was delicious and the service was brilliant.

It's not too far from the Shopping Village, and the Town Centre. Ideal location for a couple's retreat or a girly shopping weekend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank totsstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Totstuff

Thank you for taking the time to voice your great feedback. It is very much appreciated and we will be sure to pass your comments to all members of our team.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbridge
5.9 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
6.6 mi away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
Kildare House Hotel
Kildare House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kildare
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
576 reviews
13.3 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
12.3 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keadeen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keadeen Hotel

Property: The Keadeen Hotel
Address: Curragh Road | Ballymany, Newbridge, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Newbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Keadeen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury 4-star family-run Keadeen Hotel is situated in Newbridge Town and in the heart of The Thoroughbred County.Just 35 minutes from Dublin City, hotel facilities include 75 luxurious bedrooms and suites, extensive conference, occasion and wedding suites, lounge bar, AA Rosette winning restaurant, and a leisure centre with a 20m swimming pool, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and spa treatment room. Complimenting the luxurious interiors are the extensive and beautifully manicured award winning gardens making it a total oasis of relaxation no matter whether your stay with us is for business or pleasure. Established in 1970 by the O'Loughlin family, The Keadeen Hotel is County Kildare's oldest family run hotel and has an unsurpassed reputation for delivering traditional hospitality and professional service. Located in the heart of County Kildare guests have access to the world renowned Curragh, Naas and Punchestown racecourses home to exciting racing festivals and meetings. The historic town of Kildare is close by as well as an extensive range of special interest activities including golf, motor racing at Mondello, walking, fishing and much more. Visit the many nearby houses and gardens including Castletown and the Irish National Stud's Japanese Gardens and St Fiachras Garden with wonderful shopping available at the nearby Kildare Village Chic Shopping Outlet and Whitewater Shopping Centre in Newbridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Keadeen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keadeen Hotel Newbridge
The Keadeen Hotel Newbridge, Ireland - County Kildare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing