We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best I've ever stayed in.”
Review of The Keadeen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Keadeen Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This hotel was absolutely fabulous. The driveway was beautiful and the exterior was so welcoming with lots and lots of flowers! The entrance was nice if not a bit old fashioned. The receptionist was lovely and helpful.The room was spectacular there were two separate rooms one with a double bed and a good size tv the second one was a lovely cozy living room with a lovely fire! The food was very tasty but a bit expensive. After I ate I went out to the garden which was very pretty. I'd definitely come back here again though I wouldn't recommend this hotel for families.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
3  Thank Alexis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Alexis C

Great to hear from you and thank you for your feedback. I am delighted you noticed our driveway as it has recently been redesigned and we feel it adds greatly to the hotel. As for our gardens and abundance of flowers I will be sure to pass on your positive comments to our hard working resident gardener Gerry! Just one little thing, I am curious as to why you would not recommend our hotel for families? The hotel is very popular for family breaks and our 18m swimming pool is a big hit with the kiddies! We are also close to a variety of local family attractions ie Japanese gardens etc. If you would like to share your thoughts please contact me on sales@keadeenhotel.ie/045 431666. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

very pleasant hotel with a cosy feel. comfortable and reasonably priced. the evening meal in the bar was a bit overpriced but food was good. the breakfast was really good, lots of choice and very fresh and tasty. Would go back

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scatty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Scatty2

Thank you kindly for taking the time to provide us with some feedback on your stay, it is very much appreciated and I am delighted to hear you will be back to visit us!

Looking forward to welcoming you to the Keadeen again soon.

Kind regards
Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Very well appointed and gracious hotel. Fitness suite and pool good. Rooms and common areas very elegant and well appointed. Dinner was served only in the bar, and was somewhat overpriced and underwhelming. Breakfast was excellent. good food and plenty of choice at the restaurant buffet. A good quality hotel, best in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonnieraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Jonnieraven

A very Happy New Year to you! Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us, I appreciate you taking the time to voice your comments to us. We pride ourselves on our traditional 'old school' values and we believe this counts for making the Keadeen Hotel the 'quality hotel' you we strive to be. In terms of dining, our Derby Restaurant is open at weekends and offers a more formal dining experience however during the weekday our Club Bar Bistro does a roaring trade for both lunch and dinner with our fusion menu. I am dissapointed to hear you were not overally enthusiastic about our menu offerings as to date the feedback has always been super, however just to let you know our Head Chef has introduced a new bistro menu for 2014 which was launched yesterday. I sincerely hope you will take the time to come back to visit and try it out.

Kind regards
Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Was a lovely night, food lovely, service very good and very relaxing cosy hotel, restaurants looked very busy....Hotel a great Christmas feel ,romantic warm open fires, music and great atmosphere...location very good too

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Hi Catherine C

Thank you kindly for your wonderful feedback! We LOVE Christmas here at the Keadeen Hotel and we do our very best to make a magical time for all of our guests! I am delighted you had the opportunity to experience it with us and we look forward to many more visits from you in 2014.
Wishing you and yours a Happy New Year.

Kind regards
Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Great service, friendly staff. Only dislike was you needed a different wifi password for every device. I didn't really mind as I don't use many devices while traveling, but if that's important to you...loved the fitness center and spa. It was great to relax by the pool indoors on a chilly day. Superb food in the restaurant outside the bar and hearty breakfast! Overall, very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeronicaLeigh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Hi VeronicaLeigh83

Thank you for your kind feedback, it is very much appreciated! You described our Hotel as a 'Quiet Country Retreat' and thats certainly what we strive to create for our guests!
In terms of the wifi at the moment it is an individual password for each device however we have recently upgraded our entire wifi system and as part of this upgrade we will be changing the password system in short.

Kind regards
Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Overall the hotel was good, especially as I understand it to be an independent. The only real negative I have was that the room was looking a little tired,but, it was clean and comfortable.
The free WiFi was good and they reception staff were helpful and friendly.
I ate dinner in the bar and also had breakfast, both were very good (although dinner was on the pricy side even for a hotel).
I would definitely use it again if I am in the area.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank UkSil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I stayed at this Hotel from 17th-19th December. Despite the time of day, the Hotel looked pretty impressive from the outside with an abundance of parking available.
The check-in was pretty easy and I was allocated a room a couple of minutes away from the reception area.
The room was lovely and had all the usual amenities that a Hotel of this rating should have. There was also Sky Sports on the TV that made it beneficial for myself personally.
The food in the main bar was excellent and I just asked the staff what they recommended without looking at the menu. The choices they picked on both evenings was superb and I thoroughly recommend eating here.
I used the gym and this was also great for my particular needs with the usual facilities. There is a pool and spa facility here but I chose not to use these.
The breakfast was also excellent with many choices to cater for everyone's needs.

If I had one very minor negative feedback comment, it would be for the Hotel to look at the towels that are supplied in the bathroom. In my opinion the bath towels are too small and could do with more substance as they are also pretty thin. This is a minor criticism that did not detract from my stay at this Hotel.

I thoroughly recommend staying at this Hotel if you are in the Newbridge area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJamesH66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbridge
5.9 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
6.6 mi away
Osprey Hotel
Osprey Hotel
#2 of 5 in Naas
1,216 reviews
4 mi away
Kildare House Hotel
Kildare House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kildare
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
947 reviews
13.3 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
18.4 mi away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keadeen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keadeen Hotel

Address: Curragh Road | Ballymany, Newbridge W12 T925, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Newbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newbridge
Price Range: £132 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Keadeen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury 4-star family-run Keadeen Hotel is situated in Newbridge Town and in the heart of The Thoroughbred County.Just 35 minutes from Dublin City, hotel facilities include 75 luxurious bedrooms and suites, extensive conference, occasion and wedding suites, lounge bar, AA Rosette winning restaurant, and a leisure centre with a 20m swimming pool, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and spa treatment room. Complimenting the luxurious interiors are the extensive and beautifully manicured award winning gardens making it a total oasis of relaxation no matter whether your stay with us is for business or pleasure. Established in 1970 by the O'Loughlin family, The Keadeen Hotel is County Kildare's oldest family run hotel and has an unsurpassed reputation for delivering traditional hospitality and professional service. Located in the heart of County Kildare guests have access to the world renowned Curragh, Naas and Punchestown racecourses home to exciting racing festivals and meetings. The historic town of Kildare is close by as well as an extensive range of special interest activities including golf, motor racing at Mondello, walking, fishing and much more. Visit the many nearby houses and gardens including Castletown and the Irish National Stud's Japanese Gardens and St Fiachras Garden with wonderful shopping available at the nearby Kildare Village Chic Shopping Outlet and Whitewater Shopping Centre in Newbridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Keadeen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keadeen Hotel Newbridge
The Keadeen Hotel Newbridge, Ireland - County Kildare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing