We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely grounds, great staff, prices creeping up a little...”
Review of The Keadeen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Keadeen Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Lovely grounds, great staff, prices creeping up a little...”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed here in connecting rooms (2 kids and 2 adults) on a Saturday night in May for EUR270, while attending a wedding
This is a 4 star hotel, and was probably at maximum capacity as Holy communion season was in full swing.

What I liked:
Grounds looked lovely, very spacious. Heavy constant downpours of rain prevented us from using.
Large car park, very secure
Rooms were very spacious, and well fitted out
Meeting/conference rooms very nice.
Food was nice
Swimming pool very nice (kids really liked it)

What I liked less:
Thought room price was definitely very high for 1 night, and if I was not attending a wedding, I doubt I would have paid such a high price
Could do with improved signage to function rooms around the hotel, as a lot look very similar.
The bar prices were extremely high in my opinion. Example: EUR6.75 for a glass of wine. Not once did I have to queue for a drink, and I think that was because people thought they were too high, and adjusted consumption. Soft drinks were also expensive.
They have a very short window for breakfast on Sunday mornings, compared to most hotels. As mentioned they were very full, so most people arriving after 9.30am were asked to wait in reception (some distance away). Also people were asked to vacate their seats to free up space. The space allocated for breakfasts was too small compared to the number of guests in a short window available. It also had an awkward layout. Definitely room for improvement logistically, but the food itself was nice (no croissants though!)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dublinlocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback, we really appreciate your comments. We are thrilled you enjoyed our facilities such as the swimming pool, our spacious bedrooms and our landscaped gardens (despite the rain!). I am disappointed you feel our prices are high, in terms of accommodation the rate quoted is for 2 nights as a family room etc and in terms of food & beverage we really strive to provide a very high standard of service and food while still providing value for money. I am however delighted you noticed there wasnt a queue at the bar! Guests queuing for a long time for drinks is a pet peeve of ours and therefore we always ensure to have quick and efficent bar staff to avoid this. In terms of breakfast, at weekends we serve from 8-10.30am which is standard for most hotels however as is human nature, everyone leaves breakfast until the last minute!! We are all guilty of it I suppose :). We will however discuss your feedback at our weekly management meeting and thank you once again for taking the time to leave us your comments.

Kind regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    147
    50
    18
    15
See reviews for
161
134
19
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I recently got married here. I can honestly say we had the most wonderful day. I must say dealing with the Keadeen was a breath of fresh air, Sharon & Tina and all the staff could not have done more for us. The food was delicious and the gardens were beautiful for the pictures. Its a family run hotel and the service is outstanding, especially the girls on reception and all the bar staff. My Mum visited the hotel a few days later for lunch and said she was treated with the same kindness and wonderful service she received the day of the wedding. We will definitely be returning to the Keadeen Hotel for many a family occasion in the future. :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraceKenna84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you! We are honoured and humbled by your comments and we will be certain to pass on to all of our management & staff here. We really strive to ensure each and every one of our weddings receive the unique Keadeen treatment and it gives us great pleasure to hear our hard work has paid off and you enjoyed your day with us. We very much look forward to hosting many more of your family occasions in the coming future.

Kind regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbridge, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The Hotel is situated just of the Curragh Race course and at the top of the town. Lovely food and ambiance. Grounds are lovely for a summers day drink or two. Can be a bit expensive peak season but look out for the special offers

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback! We are very grateful to have such amazing facilities on our doorstep such as the Curragh Racecourse and Newbridge Town is only a walk away.
We are delighted you enjoyed your experience with us and we hope to have you back with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stopped at the Keadeen for work, as it's the closest to the Whitewater Centre, and had a lovely stay. The flowers inside and outside of the hotel were gorgeous; such a nice touch because I'm used to staying in bland chain hotels.

The breakfast was top quality and wide variety. Probably the best hotel breakfast I've had.

The bedroom was spacious and comfy, good WIFI and good choice of TV channels. Gorgeous old bathroom and nice big bath.

The only compliant I could make was due to the fact there was a race on the following day I struggled to get a seat for dinner, and with the amount of time sat waiting, it took 2 hours to get a main and dessert, but the staff were still nice enough despite being run off their feet. Main course was a bit average, but dessert was beautiful. I'm sure on a quieter evening it would have been exceptional. The groups seemed to be enjoying themselves, but it's not much fun waiting when you're on your own!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Ruth E

Thank you for feedback! We are delighted to be your home away from home!
Unfortunately the week you stayed was Punchestown Races and the night in question everyone came back from the races to eat at the exact same time! We have reviewed this for next year and how we can better improve our service. We apologise for the delay in dining service.

Kind regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tewkesbury
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Just come back from a 5 night stay for punchestown races , our 9th year in a row which probably says it all , this hotel has everything , superb food , staff & facilities , it's in a great position for racing & local pubs ,we had a fantastic stay & many thanks to launa,Victoria , Elizabeth & Colette for looking after us .thanks again nigel & lads.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank dinkytewkesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hi Nigel & Co!

9 years in a row! What an achievement and we delighted you choose us each year, we really appreciate it!! It is pleasure to welcome your group each year and see the familar faces coming back to us year on year. Looking forward to next year.

Kind regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

I attended the keadeen hotel for a wedding in February 2014, I only stayed for one night and from that night alone I was mesmerised by the first class facilities and staff in the hotel, I Adored the old fashioned style of the frontal exterior, and all the colourful and attractive flowers, the reception felt very welcoming and the receptionist even more so, every room was beautiful, and I was very fond of the design especially of the living room with the fireplace. If I had one negative thing to say about this hotel is that it is slightly hard to find your way around if you are a first time customer, but I'm very glad to see this is countered by labelling separate areas of the hotel with the names of trees, which is another personal touch I love. I was very fond of the barmen serving the drinks, they were very pleasant and humorous, when I finally had to go to sleep, a member of staff was very kind in giving clear directions to my room, which is always appreciated, and the bed was extremely comfortable.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for all occasions, and I will most definitely be coming back again

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Hartygale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear HartyGale

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for your kind review, we really appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again soon.

Kind regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
407 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed here recently whilst in Ireland and had a lovely stay at the hotel. The rooms are a lovely size with plenty of space and a very comfortable bed. Great shower in the bathroom.
The food is of a high standard and breakfast was a delight with a huge spread featuring lots of variety including a large selection of hot dishes as well as cold.
Staff were very attentive and whilst this is a large hotel felt very warm and inviting

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ian239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Ian239

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and we are humbled by your kind praise.
We sincerely hope this will be one visit of many to our Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbridge
5.9 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
6.6 mi away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
Kildare House Hotel
Kildare House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kildare
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
567 reviews
13.3 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
12.3 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keadeen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keadeen Hotel

Property: The Keadeen Hotel
Address: Curragh Road | Ballymany, Newbridge, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Newbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Keadeen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury 4-star family-run Keadeen Hotel is situated in Newbridge Town and in the heart of The Thoroughbred County.Just 35 minutes from Dublin City, hotel facilities include 75 luxurious bedrooms and suites, extensive conference, occasion and wedding suites, lounge bar, AA Rosette winning restaurant, and a leisure centre with a 20m swimming pool, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and spa treatment room. Complimenting the luxurious interiors are the extensive and beautifully manicured award winning gardens making it a total oasis of relaxation no matter whether your stay with us is for business or pleasure. Established in 1970 by the O'Loughlin family, The Keadeen Hotel is County Kildare's oldest family run hotel and has an unsurpassed reputation for delivering traditional hospitality and professional service. Located in the heart of County Kildare guests have access to the world renowned Curragh, Naas and Punchestown racecourses home to exciting racing festivals and meetings. The historic town of Kildare is close by as well as an extensive range of special interest activities including golf, motor racing at Mondello, walking, fishing and much more. Visit the many nearby houses and gardens including Castletown and the Irish National Stud's Japanese Gardens and St Fiachras Garden with wonderful shopping available at the nearby Kildare Village Chic Shopping Outlet and Whitewater Shopping Centre in Newbridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Keadeen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keadeen Hotel Newbridge
The Keadeen Hotel Newbridge, Ireland - County Kildare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing