We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Good.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Keadeen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Keadeen Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pretty Good.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

beautiful location and grounds. hotel little older style , which led to some confusion with finding the way around it, better signage perhaps would help.
breakfast was bit hectic, and some of the food was cold, i think that there was a wedding party staying also so this would explain the hectic part but the cold food for such a high standard hotel is not good. overall good however.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank efortune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear efortune,

Many thanks for your review , I am very glad to hear you found the location & grounds beautiful during your stay with us. The hotel is 43 years in business this year and would be a little older in style than other 'modern' hotels in comparison, however we think it adds character & charm to the hotel, we have recently had a company update our signage throughout the hotel and there is signage displayed on each corridor , along with daily directional signage for any events onsite, I do not think the age of the hotel negatively effects the layout of the hotel.
Unfortunately the breakfast can be quite busy in the mornings as we are all guilty of trying to get a little bit longer in bed! Which does lead to everyone coming down around the same time, as you said the breakfast was quite hectic and I am surprised to hear you found the breakfast to be cold as the kitchen would have constantly been replenishing the Hearty Breakfast Items with the busy surge, We will look into this further with the senior management.


We thank you for your feedback & We look forward to Welcoming you back to the hotel in the not to distant future,
Kind regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    141
    49
    18
    15
See reviews for
155
123
19
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I did not stay here just had lunch from the bar menu with some family members, The food we had here was well presented and everyone enjoyed the good tasty food, which was well worth the price paid. the down side to our visit here however was most of the staff...
The bar was not busy at the time and we had our choice of seats. once seated 5 times we were passed by the wait staff without acknowledgement before I went to the bar to ask for some menus. I was told that they would be dropped down to us. When the girl arrived with our menus she threw them onto our table and was gone without a word. We then waited for our order to be taken. Once we were finished eating to save us waiting any longer I went to the bar to pay. I asked for the bill which was slapped down on the counter in front of me and had to then wait for 5 minutes for someone to come back to me to take payment. none of this is good enough, especially when the bar was not busy. the staff need to be better trained in customer service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AaronEMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear AaronEMorris

Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your experience. As you can see from our previous reviews our bar staff are complimented time and again on their service. Therefore I am shocked and dismayed that you should experience anything less than exceptional. Your feedback is invaluable to us as a training tool however it is always helpful to us to know the day/date so we can look into the matter further. On this note I would very much appreciate it if you would make contact with me on 045 431 666 or email sales@keadeenhotel.ie to discuss your feedback in detail.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

stayed here for a wedding on the 14th june,14. check in was quick and easy and the receptionist was very frendly,the room was large and airey with a very large bed plenty of wardrobe and storage space,iron and kettle and tv. large windows looking out on to the beutiful gardens.the bathroom had sink,toilet and bath with a shower over it.the food served at the reception was as good if not better than most resturants we have ever been to,it was served hot and quickly and there was no waiting for ages between courses, so well done waiting staff the service could not be faulted,now to my favourite part the bars were well run and no waiting to be served so a big well done to the bar staff, the drink price,s were just a bit more expensive than a pub.but to be expected.the breakfast was lovely and fresh,the only complaint was the toaster was very slow hence people waiting,so if this could be sorted out you would have perfection
we could not fault anything about this hotel,all the staff were very frendly and polite the gardens are beutiful and well kept and there is plenty of parking space.
So you looking for somewhere to stay in newbridge this is the place. we will definitly stay here again,well done

Room Tip: we stayed on the ground floor lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank menherDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you sincerely for your wonderful feedback! We are delighted with your kind words and I will be sure to pass on to all of our staff here as it is truly appreciated.

I am thrilled you enjoyed the wedding celebrations and hopefully you will come to visit us again soon!

Kind regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Attended a wedding at the Keadeen Hotel. Reasonable price, Hotel is beautiful, rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Staff were brilliant, grounds perfect for wedding photos. Wedding reception room was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest

What lovely feedback- thank you! Hopefully you will have the opportunity to come visit us again soon.

Kind regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here on way to Dublin for the ferry. Nice hotel with very good service from the reception staff to the bar staff and at breakfast. Rooms are huge as is the bed. Very clean throughout and very comfortable. Close to the Curragh for the horse racing and the Newbridge silver factory is just down the road. The only down fall was the food not of the standard of the hotel, but after a chat with the manager we were told this is being looked into.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Tony G

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. It really is very much appreciated.
Thank you for your compliments on our hotel bedroom we are very pleased you enjoyed it and also our great location close to so many amazing amenities. I apologise your main course was not cooked to your liking and I believe one of our managers on the night offered you an alternative immediately. We have this main course as a regular feature on our evening menu and this is the first time we have received any negative feedback on it.

We very much hope to welcome you back to our hotel again soon

Kind regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Another wonderful stay at the keadeen hotel! Arrived to a beautiful room on the first floor. Lovely and bright with a gorgeous decor. Reception staff were so welcoming and cheerful! Food in the bar again kept us from leaving the hotel either evening. Best chips ever!!!! And the bar staff are lovely! Gardens are looking beautiful and we enjoyed a walk each evening. Ate too much for breakfast both mornings.....theres so much to choose from! Cant wait to return!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank scrappym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest

We are delighted to hear this is your second visit to our Hotel! It gives us great joy to see our guests come back to stay with us time and time gain. Thank you for your kind words, I will be sure to pass on to all our staff and in particular our bar staff!

Hoping to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clogheen, Ireland
Level Contributor
220 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Close to the Curragh and not too far from Dublin, the Keadeen Hotel is located in lovely grounds on the Kildare side of Newbridge. The rooms are bright, quiet, spacious and with tea and coffee making facilities but no fridge. Reception staff are efficient and friendly and the bar at night is lively and atmospheric with very comfortable seating. Breakfast is good and again the staff here are helpful and courteous. Dinner menu is extensive, all tastes being catered for. Of the starters, the calamari was particularly good, the main course lamb was beautifully garnished and the Eton Mess type desert was to die for. Would have no hesitation in recommending this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCHPORTVENDRES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely feedback, your comments are very much appreciated.
We hope to welcome you to our hotel again soon.

Kind regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbridge
5.9 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
6.6 mi away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
7.2 mi away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Kildare House Hotel
Kildare House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kildare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
12.3 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
13.3 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keadeen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keadeen Hotel

Property: The Keadeen Hotel
Address: Curragh Road | Ballymany, Newbridge, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Newbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Keadeen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury 4-star family-run Keadeen Hotel is situated in Newbridge Town and in the heart of The Thoroughbred County.Just 35 minutes from Dublin City, hotel facilities include 75 luxurious bedrooms and suites, extensive conference, occasion and wedding suites, lounge bar, AA Rosette winning restaurant, and a leisure centre with a 20m swimming pool, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and spa treatment room. Complimenting the luxurious interiors are the extensive and beautifully manicured award winning gardens making it a total oasis of relaxation no matter whether your stay with us is for business or pleasure. Established in 1970 by the O'Loughlin family, The Keadeen Hotel is County Kildare's oldest family run hotel and has an unsurpassed reputation for delivering traditional hospitality and professional service. Located in the heart of County Kildare guests have access to the world renowned Curragh, Naas and Punchestown racecourses home to exciting racing festivals and meetings. The historic town of Kildare is close by as well as an extensive range of special interest activities including golf, motor racing at Mondello, walking, fishing and much more. Visit the many nearby houses and gardens including Castletown and the Irish National Stud's Japanese Gardens and St Fiachras Garden with wonderful shopping available at the nearby Kildare Village Chic Shopping Outlet and Whitewater Shopping Centre in Newbridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Keadeen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keadeen Hotel Newbridge
The Keadeen Hotel Newbridge, Ireland - County Kildare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing