We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice but i had hearf such glowing reports i expected more”
Review of The Keadeen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Keadeen Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newbridge
Certificate of Excellence
dublin ireland
Level Contributor
178 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“nice but i had hearf such glowing reports i expected more”
Reviewed 29 January 2010

stayed in keadeen.......sorry to say as i walked to front door and reception....there was fag ends and chewing gum everywhere......needs a tidy up and a daily sweeping please...would take all of 5 mins if attended to daily..........room very nice....warm...pool excellent......food good.. disappointed that restaurant was not open......even in recession we must eat.........big hotel like this should provide choice and advertise that fact......over all grand i will return

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomhannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    143
    49
    18
    15
See reviews for
157
127
19
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2010

Staff, warm, homely and friendly. The Food is second to none. Totaly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shiv43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2009

Was at this hotel for my sisters wedding, lovely setting, nice hotel, extremely rude staff. Never experienced this type of attitude from staff in any other hotel. We had problems with overcharging, general rudeness and serious attitude problems. Would definitely not recommend it to any other wedding party. Has anybody else experienced difficulties with this hotel?

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ButtonsDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limavady N Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2009

My partner and I stayed at the Keadeen hotel for a 3 night break last week. The hotel was very homely, staff were excellent and breakfast was first class. The gardens were colourful and well tended as was the flowers throughout the hotel. The leisure centre was excellent very clean and modern. The only fault we could find was that the main restaurant was not open during the week and the room where the meals were served had small tables. The menu was a bit basic for a 4 star hotel and a couple of the choices had run out when we ordered our meal, so we not impressed by that, but the food that we did order was good and had big portions. Good location for seeing Kildare and Newbridge.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gingergirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Just back from a short midweek stay in the Keadeen. We booked the deluxe rooms, and they were nice and spacey but starting to look their age. Comfy beds, spotless bed linen, comfy armchair and setee in each room. Unfortunately a large red stain on one of the carpets, looked like someone had spilled ketchup all over and it wasn't cleaned. Excellent leisure centre, looked quite new and the staff here and indeed all over the hotel were extremely pleasant and helpful. Great breakfast, but the main restaurent was closed in the evening time, only opens at weekend apparently, and while the dinner was lovely we had to eat it in the bar on very small tables, not what you would expect for a hotel of this size. The hotel overall was nice, but has quite an old country house feel about it. We had a nice stay, but for the cost involved didn't feel that it was great value.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dunneyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

I stayed in the Keadeen hotel for 3 nights B&B, 1 x eve dinner. We took 2 x family rooms for young children, teenager, gran etc. The rooms were spacious & comfortable. The food was a delight - fresh, varied breakfast - something for every1 to enjoy. Eve meal was plentiful, tasty, and adapted to suit kids etc. Staff are excellent - content in their jobs I felt. The owner (although not obviously so), had a hand in most area's - and related to the staff. The decor was quaint, fresh, comfortable plush. The gardens were tended with loving care, and the fresh flowers around the hotel added a touch of class. Well done to all involved in this hotel, it was one of the best I've stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinFreespirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2009

I stayed in the Keadeen hotel for 3 nights B&B, 1 x eve dinner. We took 2 x family rooms for young children, teenager, gran etc. The rooms were spacious & comfortable. The food was a delight - fresh, varied breakfast - something for every1 to enjoy. Eve meal was plentiful, tasty, and adapted to suit kids etc. Staff are excellent - content in their jobs I felt. The owner (although not obviously so), had a hand in most area's - and related to the staff. The decor was quaint, fresh, comfortable plush. The gardens were tended with loving care, and the fresh flowers around the hotel added a touch of class. Well done to all involved in this hotel, it was one of the best I've stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinFreespirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbridge
5.9 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
6.6 mi away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
7.2 mi away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Kildare House Hotel
Kildare House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kildare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
12.3 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
13.3 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keadeen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keadeen Hotel

Property: The Keadeen Hotel
Address: Curragh Road | Ballymany, Newbridge, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Newbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Keadeen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury 4-star family-run Keadeen Hotel is situated in Newbridge Town and in the heart of The Thoroughbred County.Just 35 minutes from Dublin City, hotel facilities include 75 luxurious bedrooms and suites, extensive conference, occasion and wedding suites, lounge bar, AA Rosette winning restaurant, and a leisure centre with a 20m swimming pool, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and spa treatment room. Complimenting the luxurious interiors are the extensive and beautifully manicured award winning gardens making it a total oasis of relaxation no matter whether your stay with us is for business or pleasure. Established in 1970 by the O'Loughlin family, The Keadeen Hotel is County Kildare's oldest family run hotel and has an unsurpassed reputation for delivering traditional hospitality and professional service. Located in the heart of County Kildare guests have access to the world renowned Curragh, Naas and Punchestown racecourses home to exciting racing festivals and meetings. The historic town of Kildare is close by as well as an extensive range of special interest activities including golf, motor racing at Mondello, walking, fishing and much more. Visit the many nearby houses and gardens including Castletown and the Irish National Stud's Japanese Gardens and St Fiachras Garden with wonderful shopping available at the nearby Kildare Village Chic Shopping Outlet and Whitewater Shopping Centre in Newbridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The Keadeen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keadeen Hotel Newbridge
The Keadeen Hotel Newbridge, Ireland - County Kildare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing