We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in the middle of Longford County”
Review of Viewmount House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Viewmount House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Longford
Certificate of Excellence
Rivera Village
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Paradise in the middle of Longford County”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

A beautiful property in the middle of the country. The gardens were worth taking the time to stroll through. A Japanese to the side and an english style to the back. Very nice rooms. Next time we will dine there as the restaurant looked fantasic. Do not leave without the great breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlinla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    20
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
41
94
9
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I recently returned with my sister for just one night, and we were made so welcome by Beryl. The room was beautiful & the breakfast superb. We could only stay one night this time but hope to stay longer in future. Well worth going out of your way to experience the hospitality at Viewmount.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missannajobelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon Lake, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

While visiting friends and relatives in the midlands we found the Viewmount to be one of the great places to stay in our extensive trip throughout Ireland. The grounds and gardens are a match for any of the fine estates we visited. The restaurant is exceptional and do not miss any breakfast!. Corlea trackway is a local attraction that is very underrated.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

I spent two night in Viewmount and thoroughly enjoyed it. We were welcomed on arrival by the owner, James, who checked us in quickly and showed us to our room. We had a really lovely, large room with an upstairs mezzanine sitting room area. The bedroom was very spacious; not overly fancy but well furnished and comfortable. The sitting area was similarly simply furnished. Bathroom was very large with a bathtub and overhead shower.
Breakfast was excellent - really good quality delicious food; hot food cooked to order. There wasn't an enormous choice but more than enough to satisfy most tastes.
We ate in the restaurant one evening. Beryl welcomed us when we arrived. I was accompanied by my two children, the only children in the restaurant. They were made to feel very welcome. It is a formal restaurant though so if you are bringing kids it is not the sort of place that will have a separate kids menu. Dinner is a set price and there is a choice of four or five items for each course. My children shared one dinner which was more than enough for them; the chef kindly agreed to split each course onto two plates for them.
There is a lovely garden at the back of the house with a huge seat swing which the children loved playing on.
Viewmount is not the most luxurious place I have stayed but it is so welcoming and the standard of service and food is so good that it thoroughly deserves all of the endorsements written here.
I booked directly with the hotel by phone and got a cheaper rate than I was quoted online.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLMCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dub
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

I have had the pleasure of staying in Viewmount on two occasions with friends. The owners Beryl and James are extremely welcoming. The rooms are beautiful as are the gardens which are immaculately kept. The restaurant serves top quality food , sourcing local Irish produce. I cannot recommend a visit highly enough, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sasaDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

There is a reason that Viewmount House is an award-winning accomodation and restaurant. Two adult family members and I stayed at Viewmount House for two nights while working on genealogy in town. It was our first nights in Ireland, in fact our first nights out of the USA and our first B&B. We could not have been more spoiled. Lovely room 21 was perfect for our group. And dinner....what to say? Words are not enough for its deliciousness. This accomodation and dining experience was the favorite, including a castle stay, of everyone's trip. I intend to return to Ireland and specifically to Viewmount House.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Our family recently stayed one night in Room 21, it was superb. The room had some lovely antique furniture and a four poster bed, and, for the children there was a mezzanine upstairs, just perfect. The house is Georgian, the exterior so plain and elegant that it is beautiful, the interior tasteful with lovely furnishings. There is a discrete modern extension and the house is set in gorgeous grounds that are a real delight.
We ate in the restaurant, real fine dining with an excellent menu, very good local ingredients very well cooked and presented. Service was friendly and attentive, the staff were very helpful towards our children, and our breakfasts up to the standard of dinner.
For real country house luxury this could not be beaten. We hope to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longford
13.2 mi away
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
19.2 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
10.9 mi away
Cooneys Hotel
Cooneys Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballymahon
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,844 reviews
19.5 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,034 reviews
23.1 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viewmount House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viewmount House

Property: Viewmount House
Address: Dublin Road, Longford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Longford > Longford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Longford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Viewmount House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Viewmount House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viewmount House Hotel Longford
Viewmount Hotel Longford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing