We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful House and Food”
Review of Viewmount House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Viewmount House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Longford
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful House and Food”
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I booked into a room for 2 nights as I was in the area for work reasons and was pleasantly upgraded to a suite when I arrived at no extra charge. The room was stunning and the upstairs loft area was a great addition. I also made use of the jacuzzi bathtub. I had dinner in the restaurant one of the nights and it was one of the nicest meals I have ever had, the front of house made sure I was comfortable and paid me no less attention even though I was dining alone. My only tiny complaint is that the parts of the lovely gardens could be a bit better maintained.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gham17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    20
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
93
9
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mullingar, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

A party of nine of us, varying in ages between 85 and 13 enjoyed an absolutely fabulous sunday lunch at Viewmount house. There was something on the menu to suit all tastes and the host was most accommodating. The setting was peaceful, relaxed and full of character with original stone walls and vaulted ceiling in the dining room.
It was also fantastic value for the quality of food that was presented to us- 3 courses for only 28 euro. I would encourage all going here to try the duck with a glass of house red and the banana spring rolls with rum and raisin ice-cream for dessert-just heavenly.
Will definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ash21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights MI
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

stayed here on our last day in Ireland, really pretty guesthouse , our rooms were really beautiful
clean and comfy. we had dinner at the VM restuarant and it was a GREAT meal.
Beryl and James were so kind , we had raced from Doolin to Longford and walked in with minutes to spare for our dinner reservation. Beryl was welcoming and gracious and made us feel relaxed. James helped me check us in online for our flight the next day....
Do visit this lovely place, you will not be disapointed.
Jill

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evelynsgirl1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

A very enjoyable stay, the excellent food in the restaurant and at breakfast, a comfortable room, peace, quiet, plenty to read and nice (from what i saw in the dark in October !) nicely laid out garden areas.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Locomotiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I have stayed in hundreds of hotels throughout Ireland and the UK and this is my favourite place to stay. The welcome is so warm and the restaurant food is some of the best I have tasted. I stay here on a regular basis and enjoy coming back every time. I actually can't recommend this place enough!

Room Tip: Room on the ground floor near the restaurant are gorgeous, the ones with the mezzanines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Yorks, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Late booking here due to working in the area.
Nice friendly greeting followed by upgrade to a suite (bedroom on a mezzanine level above a comfortable lounge area). Great duvet, nice and heavy, couldn't move under it so I slept really well!! Sadly, the restaurant is closed Monday and Tuesday so I had to eat elsewhere.
Spotless bathroom.
Irish breakfast was voluminous, cereals, dates and other dried fruit, porridge with honey, soda bread (hold on, I need to draw breath) cooked plate with lovely bacon, sausages, mushroom and perfect poached egg. topped off with a black & white pudding terrine. toast! I didn't need to eat till 9pm that night.
in the words of Arnie......"I'll be back"!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardNYorks_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
152 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Joined six friends for Dinner at Viewmount House. My first visit, others in my company had eaten here on a couple of occassions. Absolutely beautiful property, tranquil Japanese garden. Very fortunate to have had a lovely evening weather wise, making the garden a lovely treat. Dining room decor was interesting and quaint at the same time. Between us we had prawn (shrimp) starter, leg of duck confit, soup special and salads. All very nicely presented and tasty. Main courses we selected steak (a little dry), lamb (beautiful) chicken (lovely). I was a little disappointed with the mixed veg. selection. One thing you can usually count on in an Irish restaurant is a good portion of veg., this time not so much the case. However, I doubt it would be a problem to request more if you wished. Very friendly and helpful staff. Decent wine list and desserts were very nice. Overall a lovely location for dinner. Set menu price which i think was worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longford
13.2 mi away
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
19.5 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
22.9 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roscommon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
19.2 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
10.9 mi away
Cooneys Hotel
Cooneys Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballymahon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viewmount House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viewmount House

Property: Viewmount House
Address: Dublin Road, Longford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Longford > Longford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Longford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Viewmount House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Viewmount House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viewmount House Hotel Longford
Viewmount Hotel Longford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing