We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Traditional Country House Accommodation in Longford”
Review of Viewmount House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Viewmount House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Longford
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
502 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Excellent Traditional Country House Accommodation in Longford”
Reviewed 5 December 2012

A lovely old house dating from mid 18th century with open fireplaces and classic decoration. The hosts are brilliant, the rooms are great, breakfast was superb with best homemade muesli ever. Bathroom a bit quirky with hot and cold reversed on the shower, only real let down no tea or coffee facilty in the room and ebe aware the VM restaurant is closed Mondays and Tuesdays. Would thoroughly recommend if you're in Longford, nice rest areas eg. library in hotel too.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maraalfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    21
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
43
96
9
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

This guesthouse is the best I have ever stayed in. The rooms are beautifully designed. (I recommend a suite) Excellent price for the standard of rooms. The owners really know how to make you feel welcome. The guesthouse itself could have been 5 star standard but without the formality.
The Restaurant is just amazing and we were treated so well by the owners and restaurant staff. The food was of michelin star standard. Breakfast was also top notch.
Had a lovely stay, and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LlyodClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullingar, Westmeath, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We had a small wedding here and all our guests raved about it. Staff were friendly and always smiling. Owners were a pleasure to deal with and our wedding was perfect because they did everything to help us make it the way we pictured it. The food was so good that we are making plans to go back for a family meal. Their menu suited everyone from 2 year olds to the older generation!!! Rooms were spacious and spotless. Nobody wanted to leave, cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I booked into a room for 2 nights as I was in the area for work reasons and was pleasantly upgraded to a suite when I arrived at no extra charge. The room was stunning and the upstairs loft area was a great addition. I also made use of the jacuzzi bathtub. I had dinner in the restaurant one of the nights and it was one of the nicest meals I have ever had, the front of house made sure I was comfortable and paid me no less attention even though I was dining alone. My only tiny complaint is that the parts of the lovely gardens could be a bit better maintained.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gham17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullingar, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

A party of nine of us, varying in ages between 85 and 13 enjoyed an absolutely fabulous sunday lunch at Viewmount house. There was something on the menu to suit all tastes and the host was most accommodating. The setting was peaceful, relaxed and full of character with original stone walls and vaulted ceiling in the dining room.
It was also fantastic value for the quality of food that was presented to us- 3 courses for only 28 euro. I would encourage all going here to try the duck with a glass of house red and the banana spring rolls with rum and raisin ice-cream for dessert-just heavenly.
Will definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ash21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights MI
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

stayed here on our last day in Ireland, really pretty guesthouse , our rooms were really beautiful
clean and comfy. we had dinner at the VM restuarant and it was a GREAT meal.
Beryl and James were so kind , we had raced from Doolin to Longford and walked in with minutes to spare for our dinner reservation. Beryl was welcoming and gracious and made us feel relaxed. James helped me check us in online for our flight the next day....
Do visit this lovely place, you will not be disapointed.
Jill

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evelynsgirl1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

A very enjoyable stay, the excellent food in the restaurant and at breakfast, a comfortable room, peace, quiet, plenty to read and nice (from what i saw in the dark in October !) nicely laid out garden areas.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Locomotiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longford
5.1 mi away
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
25.0 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
19.5 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,920 reviews
17.9 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
17.8 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roscommon
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viewmount House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viewmount House

Property: Viewmount House
Address: Knockahaw, Dublin Road, Longford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Longford > Longford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Longford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Viewmount House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your Viewmount House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viewmount House Hotel Longford
Viewmount Hotel Longford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing