We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking forward to staying again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Viewmount House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Viewmount House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Longford
Certificate of Excellence
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Looking forward to staying again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

I recently stayed at Viewmount house with my wife for dinner bed and breakfast. The restaurant was more like you would expect from a 5 star hotel, The food was first class and the staff could not do enough. The room was very comfortable with the added benefit of an upstairs area for TV and relaxation. The house is in a quiet setting with a number of beautiful gardens, ideal for walking and relaxing. Great place to break the journey when traveling across the country. Looking forward to staying again soon

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank discerning_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    20
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
93
9
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

This has some of the best food I have ever tasted in my life. Its just excellent, simple as that. If I was pushed to point out a negative it would be that the desserts were not to the same standard of the other courses. I enjoyed the petit fours more than the actual dessert, in saying that I rate it 5 star.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackmc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

I was working in the area and was struggling to find somewhere to stay until I noticed Viewmount House on Google Maps. It looked expensive from their site (€110 per night I think) but when I rang I was only charged something like €60 per night, and for this price it really was a fantastic place. I had a huge room which was very clean, comfortable and quiet. The gardens out the back are great to look out on and there was free broadband throughout the building. I didn't eat in the restaurant as it was closed but given how nice breakfast was I can understand all the good reviews of their food.

So all-in-all it's a really nice place that I would absolutely stay in again if in the area, just make sure you phone to book as it seems to be much cheaper than the website!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil_2547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed in June 2013 in the family suite with 2 teenage children. The room was so comfortable, the hospitality exceptional and the restaurant was the best value for money, quality feed I have ever experienced. The purpose of our visit was a family wedding with a family dinner organised the night before the wedding. The whole stay was exceptional and a visit to Longford just for the dinner is not over the top. The spa bath fits my 6'4' son in comfort and the breakfast the next day was included in the very reasonable tarriff unbelievably. The gardens are also beautiful. We will return here on future visits to Ireland

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, IL, USA
Level Contributor
152 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed at Viewmount House years ago before the restaurant opened and we loved our stay and wanted to return and try the restaurant, too. This was near the end of our 2-week self-drive around Ireland and it's a great stopping point when driving from Donegal or Galway back to Dublin. The house and gardens are even more beautiful than before; the restaurant is excellent; and they've opened up an additional guest lounge in the historic former kitchen room. Our Packenham Suite was quite deluxe: comfortable bedroom, large bathroom, and a beautiful and spacious sitting room, with Waterford crystal drinking glasses. Our friends' rooms were also very elegantly decorated and comfortable. The gardens are more beautiful and expansive than ever and so tranquil to walk through or just sit and relax in. The VM restaurant is beautifully decorated with attractive views of the house and grounds. The food was wonderfully prepared and presented and was one of the highlight meals of our trip. The menu is fixed price but we were also able to order a la carte for the smaller appetites. Desserts are delicious and very imaginative -- I enjoyed the "PBJ." We lingered long after most other diners had left, not wanting the dinner to end. Service was very pleasant and attentive. We can certainly see how VM Restaurant would be beautiful for weddings and other special occasions.

James and Beryl are very hospitable hosts. Our room was in the original house, they have added some ground floor rooms but this is not a detached annex like so many other places with modern additions: the new wing of guest rooms opens right to the guest lounge and the restaurant, so all the new rooms feel a part of the main house, too. Breakfast is one of the best in Ireland, including delicious pancakes/crepes.

If you are passing anywhere near Longford we highly recommend VM Restaurant and staying over night; it is gracious living at it's best, and reasonably priced for the value.

Room Tip: It may cost a little more but the Packenham Suite is very large and comfortable and worth a splurge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IllinoisMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Had a lovely three nights here in May 2013. Was in Longford on business and this was a wonderful place to come back to in the evenings. The restaurant was not open on the nights I stayed but the breakfasts were great and the room huge. The only thing I would have liked that I didn't get was tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Can't recommend it enough!

Room Tip: I had a larger room on 2 floors because they were quite quiet that week and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night initially before meeting up with family. We had such a great time that we decided to go back and stay for another 3 nights. Fantastic place to stay, with comfortable beds, super shower and bathroom, wonderful hosts, best breakfast in Ireland, and a wonderful associated restaurant. I can't rate this highly enough!

We chose to stay in a suite which had a lovely view over the garden, and a mezzanine with sofas and tv. On one very wet and hailing afternoon I spent a lovely time sitting in the lounge enjoying a cup of tea in front of the fire, while my husband worked. Relaxing, warm and a real home away from home.

The restaurant is at the top end of the scale, professional service, fantastic food, and the ambience is simply delightful. We enjoyed both meals we had here, lovely balances of flavour and presentation was excellent. Delicious food, in ample quantity, lovely people and faultless service.

All up I have to say that this is a place for travellers to stay - extremely business like, but warm and welcoming, excellent wifi, food and comfort. A real asset for Longford as we are likely to go back just to stay here!!!!

Room Tip: Just be clear about why you are visiting and I'm sure the best room for your needs will be provi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RooGirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longford
13.2 mi away
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
19.5 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
22.9 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roscommon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
19.2 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
10.9 mi away
Cooneys Hotel
Cooneys Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballymahon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viewmount House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viewmount House

Property: Viewmount House
Address: Dublin Road, Longford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Longford > Longford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Longford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Viewmount House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viewmount House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viewmount House Hotel Longford
Viewmount Hotel Longford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing