We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Restaurant”
Review of Viewmount House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Viewmount House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Longford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We were on a golfing holiday to the Northwest and spent one night in route from Dublin at the Viewmount House and had an absolutely amazing meal. Three weeks later we are still discussing the dinner – the service was nice - the gardens and facilities are worth taking a leisure walk. We did both before and after dinner. A very nice place to start from for our R&R trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank US-Expat-in-Bahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for Viewmount House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed here whilst in the area for a family birthday, now we find ourselves looking for excuses to return so that we can indulge ourselves in this utterly delightful property. From the genuinely warm welcome, the fabulously comfortable and well appointed suite, to the scrumptious breakfast, it was just wonderful. Top quality bed linens, extremely comfortable bed, and spotlessly clean room, all combined to make for a relaxing and pleasurable, but all too brief, weekend. This represents just fantastic value, and a rather sumptuous location (wonderful gardens to stroll around) for a weekend treat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrochUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My sister-in-law and I dined in the restaurant yesterday evening and were impressed by the whole experience. The staff were pleasant, attentive but discrete from the time we sat down to chose from the menu to the time we were seated. The restaurant is fantastic - both the decor and of course the quality of the food - the nettle risotto was delicious as was the John Dory which we had for the main course. Although the clientele appeared to be 'well-healed' there was none of that stuffiness sometimes associated with restaurants of this calibre, making for a relaxed evening. What also impressed was that on finishing dinner, there was no hurry to get diners out - people lingered over their coffee!

One small point which we found a bit irksome was the waiter who, although enthusiastic about the food provenance when helping diners select from the menu, might perhaps lower his voice a little.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I treated ourselves to a one night stay in a king sized suite and a 5 course meal in their restaurant. My husband is dairy, egg and gluten intollerant so I phoned ahead of our arrival and the owner was so pleasant and helpful. From soya milk to complement our welcome tea tray to a customised breakfast to suit his needs but not compromise in size or flavour, the owner really went out of her way to give us the best service! The best of all was the 5 star meal! The chef printed out the menu for my husband and highlighted dishes that were suitable to eat and also ways to alternate ones that weren't fully suitable. To top it off we were given a lovely waitress who was aware of my husbands needs so we didn't need to keep checking or explaining to different staff.
Our hotel room was pure luxury! No expense is spared in these rooms from the king bed to jacuzzi bath, it was the perfect stay.
Looking forward already to our next stay in the near future.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thirtycountriesby30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We got a room with 4 beds which was really spacious. But limited space to but suitcases up. The bathroom was also spacious. Be careful when stepping out if the bath - the tubs are sharp and in the middle of the way out. The breakfast was great. Unfortunately the restaurant wasn't open when we were there.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank KaPach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here for one night after receiving a voucher from friends. The accommodation is finished to a very high standard. It was spotlessly clean and so warm and cosy.
We ate in the restarant which lived up to the standard of the rest of the property.
Breakfast did not disappoint either with crisp white linen and homemade brown bread. It was a fabulous stay. Definitely a treat but well worth the price. We can't wait to return !!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arasain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Viewmount House seems to have nothing but excellent reviews and rightly so! On arrival we were surprised to be upgraded to a suite and what a gorgeous, luxurious room! Beautifully decorated and finished with an amazing bed!
We also ate in the (also) amazingly well reviewed restaurant and again it did not disappoint - brilliant range of dishes which were a real treat. Even the breakfast in the morning was lovely and suffice to say we had a lovely stay, just wish it was for longer!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longford
6.3 mi away
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
19.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,135 reviews
24.6 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roscommon
673 reviews
17.8 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
18.5 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viewmount House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viewmount House

Address: Knockahaw, Dublin Road, Longford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Longford > Longford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Longford
Price Range: £127 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Viewmount House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Viewmount House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viewmount House Hotel Longford
Viewmount Hotel Longford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing