We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Stunning"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Augherea Guest House
Ranked #1 of 7 Longford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Irleand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“"Stunning"”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Having stayed in the main house on 7th August I can only say you have to book this B&B.Sheer luxury and loved finding out the history of the house from Nora.Thanks to Matt for a wonderful breakfast in the coach house -stunning.We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ligure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
28
1
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Covina, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We were treated like family! Matt and Nora were gracious hosts and I really enjoyed the conversations we had during our stay.
It felt special to have a room in the main house. We slept extremely well, the bed was comfortable and our room was elegantly decorated and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was also very big and modern!
We also enjoyed being able to relax in the living room downstairs. Augherea House was such a peaceful place to stay!
The breakfast is what we enjoyed the most. Matt catered to our every wish! There was cold cereal, fresh fruit, juice, brown bread and marmalade in addition to the 'main' breakfast. He also offered wonderful alternatives to the traditional Irish breakfast! Matt cooks in the coach house breakfast area; he spent time talking to us about our plans for the day and gave us ideas as well.
It was a relaxing atmosphere and genuinely warm environment! You will be well looked after at Augherea House!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tere K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darmstadt, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Our four day stay at Augherea House in Longford could not have been more pleasant; from the moment we arrived we were warmly and sincerely welcomed by Matt and his staff. The main house itself, elegantly set on large grounds with flocks of sheep grazing in the distance, gives the visitor an authentic taste of Ireland's past. The rooms (our party occupied the two rooms in the main house) have been renovated to a very high standard to afford the guest the conveniences one would expect in from a top hotel (flat screen TV and modern bathroom facilities etc) and yet the Georgian integrity of the house is still preserved, with the formal rooms downstairs still furnished as perhaps they were in its hey-day. These rooms are made available (to my delight) to the guests.

The breakfast at Augherea House was amazing. Again, a huge credit to Matt and Nora who provided us all with über class style breakfasts one might be presented at in a top restaurant! And bespoke to boot! All freshly prepared by the hosts in a modern kitchen at one end of a large modern room in the former coach house, all dishes were served beautifully and (imaginatively). During my stay I enjoyed kippers, salmon and traditional irish breakfasts, complimented by home-made jams, irish breads, fresh fruit, juice, excellent tea and more importantly, great coffee!

I am coming back! 10 out of 10!!!

Room Tip: Couples or honeymooners try to get one of the two rooms in the big house. All rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bousval, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at Augherea guest house in the superb old house and the completely renewed horse stable. We never had such nice breakfasts. Matt gave us good advices for retaurants in Longford, pubs with live music. In this center part of Ireland , there are a lot of things to visit : the river Shannon, the oldest road discovered in the bogs, Strokestown and the famine museum. Actually a nice place to stay and very welcoming people.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darmstadt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Even before our stay at Augherea House, Matt was extremely helpful (via email) with our reservation needs. We were traveling with my elderly mother and a toddler.

We were absolutely thrilled with the guest rooms!!! We stayed 5 nights in the main house and the rooms were spacious, spotless and comfortable! The house and coach house are restored beautifully! We had everything we needed for ourselves and the baby (a cot to sleep in and high chair for breakfast)!

Every evening Matt asked us what we would prefer for breakfast ("Irish", crepes, etc.). The food was fantastic - in fact, we skipped lunch every day because we were so well fed! Not to forget the fresh raspberries Matt picked for our toddler or the homemade surprise treats left waiting for us when we got home...

Matt and Nora were gracious hosts who treated us with genuine warmth! We are so excited about Augherea House that we started making plans for a return visit with a group of friends as soon as possible!

Look no further, this is THE place to stay in Longford!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed here for a weekend while I was visiting for a course and Matt etc very helpful in phoning taxis, advising us great places to eat (the restaurant he suggested ranked in the top five best meals we've ever had- Michelin class definitely!!)
then there is the accommodation itself- wonderfully clean and the attention to detail in the renovation and fit out, a real blend of old and new that was just like the home you'd love to have!

all in all a lovely place and I just wish we could send everyone there to relax for a few days before returning to the real world!

Thanks for such a friendly welcome!

Simon and Debbie Smith

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

have stayed twice at the Augherea House, this is the place to be..Matt and his family go out of their way to make you feel welcome, the coach house is fantastic..and as for breakfast, I can tell you it is up there with any five star hotel...The Augherea guest house is Ireland`s crock of gold at the end of the rainbow!! M O`Neill

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longford
9.4 mi away
Viewmount House
Viewmount House
#1 of 2 in Longford
216 reviews
3.8 mi away
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
St Albans House
St Albans House
#6 of 7 in Longford
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
Westhouse Cafe
#3 of 7 in Longford
2 reviews
7.5 mi away
Convent Guest House
Convent Guest House
#1 of 2 in Lanesborough
13 reviews
7.7 mi away
Quay Rest Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augherea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augherea Guest House

Property: Augherea Guest House
Address: Aghareagh, Longford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Longford > Longford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Longford
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide quality Bed and Breakfast Guest House accommodation in our period residence 1km from Longford Town. Our Guest House Bed and Breakfast is ideally situated on the main N5 Westport bypass.The Main House is of a classical Georgian style, retaining many of its original features, furnishings and décor.The Coach House to the rear of the main house provides a wonderful open plan contemporary setting with original stone walls inside. Longford has many interesting and relaxing leisure activities including Fishing and Boating on the River Shannon and the numerous inland waterways. Strokestown House now offers day trippers guided tours of its wonderful House, Famine Museum and Gardens situated only a short distance from our Guest House. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing