We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ray and Lorraine / australia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Augherea Guest House
Ranked #1 of 7 Longford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Outstanding accommodation, professionally renovated, excellent hosts, quality food in a central location. Matt and wife have created a large, modern, clean, airy and spacious premises, from a historic and beautiful old coach house. Not a stone lfeft unturned, attention to quality service, friendly and helpful with all inquiries from any visitor, local or overseas. We have stayed at B&B's all over Ireland during in three past trips (2003-2013) however, nothing surpasses this magnificent new premises and the quality provided. Highly recommended for, single, couples, family.

Room Tip: Great views from elevated rooms and all well positioned.. quality new fittings and furnishings in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

International levels of quality all round. Staying in the historical main house was very comfortable and a real treat but the modern luxury of the coach house for a delicious breakfast topped it all off.
Just outside Longford town this special place would be cheat at twice the price.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quinness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We were a little apprehensive about staying in a B&B from past experiences but this was a huge departure from those experiences. Old world charm certainly meets modern elegance in the hybrid coach house design. Subtle design details, a beautiful yet simple colour scheme and a bright, welcoming and relaxing atmosphere make this one of the most pleasant stays we've ever had, including those we've had in 5 star hotels. Matt was a considerably helpful resource to us, pointing us in the right direction on our travels and sharing some local knowledge with us. The breakfast was absolutely beautiful and Matt made every effort to cater for my rather specific dietary requirements, an excellent host. Overall, this certainly was an excellent stay. We will make it our business to return to the midlands just to stay again. Thanks for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidmoloney32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Set in gentle Irish rural landscape just outside Longford Matt and his wife have created a unique setting with old and modern elegantly juxtaposed. You can stay in the main house and enjoy 19C old-world charm or stay in the converted Coach House where modern, airy and luxuriously appointed rooms and dining/sitting area awaits. Matt goes out of his way to do a mean modern Irish breakfast and nothing is too much trouble. It is truly a home away from home. Fabulous stay thanks!

Room Tip: Go for the coach house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Having stayed in the main house on 7th August I can only say you have to book this B&B.Sheer luxury and loved finding out the history of the house from Nora.Thanks to Matt for a wonderful breakfast in the coach house -stunning.We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ligure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We were treated like family! Matt and Nora were gracious hosts and I really enjoyed the conversations we had during our stay.
It felt special to have a room in the main house. We slept extremely well, the bed was comfortable and our room was elegantly decorated and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was also very big and modern!
We also enjoyed being able to relax in the living room downstairs. Augherea House was such a peaceful place to stay!
The breakfast is what we enjoyed the most. Matt catered to our every wish! There was cold cereal, fresh fruit, juice, brown bread and marmalade in addition to the 'main' breakfast. He also offered wonderful alternatives to the traditional Irish breakfast! Matt cooks in the coach house breakfast area; he spent time talking to us about our plans for the day and gave us ideas as well.
It was a relaxing atmosphere and genuinely warm environment! You will be well looked after at Augherea House!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tere K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Our four day stay at Augherea House in Longford could not have been more pleasant; from the moment we arrived we were warmly and sincerely welcomed by Matt and his staff. The main house itself, elegantly set on large grounds with flocks of sheep grazing in the distance, gives the visitor an authentic taste of Ireland's past. The rooms (our party occupied the two rooms in the main house) have been renovated to a very high standard to afford the guest the conveniences one would expect in from a top hotel (flat screen TV and modern bathroom facilities etc) and yet the Georgian integrity of the house is still preserved, with the formal rooms downstairs still furnished as perhaps they were in its hey-day. These rooms are made available (to my delight) to the guests.

The breakfast at Augherea House was amazing. Again, a huge credit to Matt and Nora who provided us all with über class style breakfasts one might be presented at in a top restaurant! And bespoke to boot! All freshly prepared by the hosts in a modern kitchen at one end of a large modern room in the former coach house, all dishes were served beautifully and (imaginatively). During my stay I enjoyed kippers, salmon and traditional irish breakfasts, complimented by home-made jams, irish breads, fresh fruit, juice, excellent tea and more importantly, great coffee!

I am coming back! 10 out of 10!!!

Room Tip: Couples or honeymooners try to get one of the two rooms in the big house. All rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longford
2.6 mi away
Viewmount House
Viewmount House
#1 of 2 in Longford
227 reviews
3.7 mi away
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
16.4 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roscommon
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Percy French Hotel
Percy French Hotel
#1 of 1 in Strokestown
78 reviews
11.7 mi away
Cooneys Hotel
Cooneys Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballymahon
146 reviews
1.3 mi away
St Albans House
St Albans House
#7 of 7 in Longford
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augherea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augherea Guest House

Address: Aghareagh, Longford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Longford > Longford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Longford
Price Range: £105 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide quality Bed and Breakfast Guest House accommodation in our period residence 1km from Longford Town. Our Guest House Bed and Breakfast is ideally situated on the main N5 Westport bypass.The Main House is of a classical Georgian style, retaining many of its original features, furnishings and décor.The Coach House to the rear of the main house provides a wonderful open plan contemporary setting with original stone walls inside. Longford has many interesting and relaxing leisure activities including Fishing and Boating on the River Shannon and the numerous inland waterways. Strokestown House now offers day trippers guided tours of its wonderful House, Famine Museum and Gardens situated only a short distance from our Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Augherea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing