We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVE IT!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Augherea Guest House
Ranked #1 of 6 Longford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“LOVE IT!!!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Absolutely gorgeous place to stay! We were very impressed with all that Augherea House had to offer: Friendly hosts, delicious food, comfortable beds, impeccably clean and beautiful accommodations! We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
27
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Having had one bad experience staying in Longford area, was dreading revisiting, but then found this place. Wow! What a beautiful place! We had a room in the coach house, which has only been open for 6 months and everything was still beautifully new. The bedroom was amazing, with a lovely sleigh bed and a beautiful ensuite bathroom. Fab breakfast all freshly cooked and the whole stay was so good, cannot wait to return!

This would be a fab place to stay with friends!

Matt (owner) recommended a great great restaurant "Keenans" a very short distance away, which was really lovely and subject to a seperate review

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulW42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I didnt get to stay here unfortunately, and after the experience I had in The Longford Arms Hotel, I really wish I had. i was there with a friend and work collegue who was checking in, and I have to stay it looks absolutely luxurious!!! the converted coachhouse is something to marvel at and how it uses the space is incredible. I seem to remember three rooms, all with huge double or king size beds and I know at least one room had a stand alone bath!!
The welcome was really nice by the guy who runs it and even though I wasnt staying there, i was offered tea and freshly made pastrys.
Jealous is an understatement of how I felt, and speaking to my work collegues, its definitely on there list of amazing b&bs.
Miss this at your peril!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin,Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I had a beautiful room in the converted coach house, which is like something out of Grand Designs. The breakfasts were the best I've had traveling around Ireland, with a lovely varied menu to choose from. A genuine warm welcome from Matt the proprietor, who gave us plenty of good advice on places to visit, restaurants etc. I definitely want to go back to this little gem!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mari0nDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My son and I stayed here the end on October 2013. Words cannot express the beauty, comfort and attention to detail. I noticed that another reviewer said it was better than a 5 star hotel....and they were correct! Matt's breakfast was amazing, fresh ingredients, and cooked to perfection. The presentation was equally amazing. He was very helpful with suggestions to Longford's restaurants and we had two wonderful meals. I could have stayed for a week! The beds are so comfy, and the bathtub was so relaxing! Thanks Matt and Mary, we hope to be back some day! Hi to Miss Marble!

Room Tip: Definitely the Coach House!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Una B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I was working in the Longford area this week and stayed at this bed and breakfast for four nights. My bedroom was located in the converted coach house. It was spacious, tastefully decorated, warm and cosy. The renovated building opened in January 2013. Wifi has recently been installed. Matt was most accommodating to my dietary requirements. The dining area is bright and airy and most comfortable. Matt is a wonderful host and I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a bedroom in the converted coach house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed in the remodeled carriage building and what an incredible remodeling project it was. Very modern renovation: incredible kitchen and sitting room, very nice bedrooms (but a chair would have been a nice addition). Matt, the son-in-law of the family that has owned it did the renovation and designed the project. He gave us suggestions for eating in nearby Termonberry and recommended we stop and see the Shannon River and the docking area for the end of the Great Canal. Breakfast we delicious. What more can we say? It was just perfect!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDS333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longford
9.4 mi away
Viewmount House
Viewmount House
#1 of 2 in Longford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
3.8 mi away
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
16.5 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roscommon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
15.5 mi away
Hannon's Hotel
Hannon's Hotel
#2 of 3 in Roscommon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
1.8 mi away
St Albans House
St Albans House
#6 of 6 in Longford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augherea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augherea Guest House

Property: Augherea Guest House
Address: Aghareagh, Longford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Longford > Longford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Longford
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide quality Bed and Breakfast Guest House accommodation in our period residence 1km from Longford Town. Our Guest House Bed and Breakfast is ideally situated on the main N5 Westport bypass.The Main House is of a classical Georgian style, retaining many of its original features, furnishings and décor.The Coach House to the rear of the main house provides a wonderful open plan contemporary setting with original stone walls inside. Longford has many interesting and relaxing leisure activities including Fishing and Boating on the River Shannon and the numerous inland waterways. Strokestown House now offers day trippers guided tours of its wonderful House, Famine Museum and Gardens situated only a short distance from our Guest House. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing