We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect host and stunning setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Augherea Guest House
Ranked #1 of 7 Longford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Coach house stunning conversion to extremely high standard and matched with a friendly host who was attentive and welcoming . The rooms were so comfortable didnt want to leave.beautiful surroundings and a breakfast to die for. Would definately return .Would suit for romantic getaway, business or pleasure visit.

Room Tip: Modern rooms both in main house or conversion of coach house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank den d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

We only stayed one night and I hadn't read the reviews so we were delighted by the warm welcome accompanied by a delicious cup of tea with home made scones. We stayed in the coach house and were impressed by the style and quality of the interior. Our hosts were friendly and helpful with recommendations for places to eat dinner. The whole place was spotlessly clean; the bed was comfortable and roomy and we had no trouble sleeping in spite of the sheep bleating in the field below. (Just separated from their lambs) Matt proved to be a versatile, talented host. I would definitely stay here again. Just one small thing - I would have liked the hairdryer to be within range of a mirror. If you are using a sat nav put in the alternative spelling 'Aghareagh', then you will find it easily.

Room Tip: As far as I could tell all the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kitty502014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Augherea B&B is a beautiful retreat . We stayed in the converted Coach House . It is a modern, bright , spotless clean house . Our spacious room was beautiful with an ultramodern bathroom with a fantastic power shower.We had prebooked matt's Afternoon tea . It was fantastic . The fresh home made cakes are to die for. Matt the owner is very welcoming and has a superb knowledge of all the historic local sites. Our breakfast was the best we have had in recent times . It was freshly cooked to order and included a superb buffet . You won't go hungry .We highly recommend this great B&B . We will definitely be returning to matt's great house .

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pat b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Travelled one week in Ireland and this was the best accommodation. Matt is a charmer and an excellent breakfast chef though if you want fish - smoked herring or kippers for instance - you must order the night before. Matt has plenty of good suggestions for dining locally. Room in coach house was quiet and spacious and juliette balcony has views of green fields with black faced sheep being rounded up by a border collie as the rain set in. Very comfortable firm bed gets our vote and the skylight in the bathroom is a plus for ventilation. Famine Museum down the road worth a look though do your chronological homework first as curatorial style a bit confused. Actually, just ask Matt about the history as he has expansive knowledge of Irish history & politics.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank heronswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My sisters and I stayed here back in February (my apologies for not writing my review earlier but we all thought the other sister already had as we had all raved so much about it). We were attending our grandmothers funeral so we were not in the greatest frame of mind however the welcome we received soon put us at ease. We didn't arrive until 11pm but Matt was waiting for us even helping us upstairs with our cases. Even though it was so late he still offered us food and drink he also took our breakfast orders and asked what time we would like it, nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in the main house and the rooms were nothing short of pure comfort the beds were so nice we didn't want to get up in the morning. Mary gave us a little tour of the house and regaled us in the history all of which I found fascinating as a close friends family came from the area and had the same surname (they have booked to visit in the next few weeks). The breakfast - well what can I say - beautiful, so full we never managed to try it all over the 2 days we were there. Cant fault the place and am looking forward to an excuse to go back.

Room Tip: If you like the idea of grandeur and history stay in the main house, if you love sleek and modern co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jodyella73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed here on the last night of our planned B & B stays in Ireland. After many different ones in our 3 week tour of the country, this one made our top 3 list, with almost all of the places being excellent. We were warmly welcomed and the room in the coach house was large, very nicely finished and quiet. The bathroom in our room was huge and finely detailed. Matt was great and offered good suggestions for our onward journey. The breakfast was fresh and very well done, presented and quality was excellent. This farmhouse type setting was great and we recommend this B & B enthusiastically.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Simply awesome. Matt has done a remarkable job with the interior, the setting, and his service in treating his guests. It was the ultimate. He personally served us breakfast, made certain we were comfortable, spent time talking about the local things to do and discussed many things of interest that help us enhance our vacation. I can't say enough good things about his place and his friendliness.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longford
2.5 mi away
Viewmount House
Viewmount House
#1 of 2 in Longford
227 reviews
3.8 mi away
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
11.7 mi away
Percy French Hotel
Percy French Hotel
#1 of 1 in Strokestown
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roscommon
683 reviews
11.6 mi away
Cooneys Hotel
Cooneys Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballymahon
146 reviews
17.5 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augherea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augherea Guest House

Address: Aghareagh, Longford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Longford > Longford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Longford
Price Range: £104 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide quality Bed and Breakfast Guest House accommodation in our period residence 1km from Longford Town. Our Guest House Bed and Breakfast is ideally situated on the main N5 Westport bypass.The Main House is of a classical Georgian style, retaining many of its original features, furnishings and décor.The Coach House to the rear of the main house provides a wonderful open plan contemporary setting with original stone walls inside. Longford has many interesting and relaxing leisure activities including Fishing and Boating on the River Shannon and the numerous inland waterways. Strokestown House now offers day trippers guided tours of its wonderful House, Famine Museum and Gardens situated only a short distance from our Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Augherea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing