We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldnt stay more than one night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Longford Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Longford
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I had booked into this hotel for a week for work purposes. I managed to stay one night and that was at a push. It is dreadful.
Staff are not helpful (give or take one or two. The blond receptionist and lovely man in the bar).
The place is filthy!! Stains on all the furniture, rotting food on the chairs, stale smelly rooms, bad quality bedding.
Breakfast is horrible. Couldnt eat it at all.
I could go on....

So much has to be done to bring this hotel up to scratch.

Room Tip: Just don't stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Eili22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Stopped in this hotel recently for food and found the staff to be the rudest and non-helpful I have ever seen. We asked for coffee after food and then asked for a biscuit to go with coffee. Were told we could not have any as they did not come with the meal! Never mind the fact we were quite willing to pay. The waitress had no social skills whatsoever and incapable of social interaction of any kind. Would not go here expecting service with a smile

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The Hotel is situated on the Main Street, County Longford, around One & a Half Hours drive from the Dublin Airport. The Reception Area is quite large & gives a very pleasant appearance.
Though scope for a bit of renovation/upgradation, still the Rooms are spacious & well maintained. The Bar & Restaurant closes a bit early in the Night, so you might have to rush for your Dinner, if planning to have it inside the Hotel. The Irish -cum British Breakfast is good.
The Service is Okay. I won't mind staying in this Hotel again.

Room Tip: Nothing typical about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank suhas24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

There are so many problems with this hotel my review could be endless. They need to improve greatly on - amenities, facilities, staff, cleanliness, food, noise levels and just about everything else. I did try to meet a manager to discuss this before leaving review but was informed no manager works on a Sunday, only a receptionist that had popped out for an hour and the lady that was `handling the fort` couldn't help me. That was three days ago and still no contact so I assume they don't care.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lorna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This place at one time was very nice and has the potential for better times if someone would just fix it up and maintain it.
The telephone in the room didn't work, the curtains were coming off the hooks, the moldings were coming off and needed paint. The carpet was worn.
In other words, it looked like nothing was done to maintain the property.
Find a nice b & b in the area and forget this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1ajf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

We booked in here for one night to break up a long journey! First impressions were good then we got into room 202!! I have worked in hospitality for quite a while now and this is the worst I've ever seen dust everywhere, curtains falling off the rail, burn marks on the wall from the radiator, badly needs repainting the bathroom was filthy! I took the extra pillows out of the wardrobe and tags from someone's clothes who had stayed here previously fell out with them. The walls are paper thin I heard everything the people next door were saying! The tele only went to a certain volume so you have to be silent if you want to hear it! Beds very uncomfortable and linen was really stiff. There was still water in the kettle which also hadn't been cleaned in a very long time, I emailed management since my stay and I have still had no reply four weeks later that is why I have decided to put up my review. €70 for one room that was a disaster NEVER AGAIN!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Samambob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

In spite of some of the extremely negative views about this hotel I went ahead and booked it anyway, mainly due to there being no other hotel competitor in Longford Town. I did get what I expected. The hotel is quite dated and in need of modernising. In some cases, repair work is necessary. However, on the positive side, the showers are decent and warm, the room was spacious, warm, comfortable. The use of the leisure centre / gym / sauna is great. Breakfast is excellent and ample however Monday and Tuesday's breakfast lady was very unpleasant and clearly detests her job. Thankfully this morning's was smiling and chirpier and greeted us with "good morning". Reception staff seemed very indifferent. I would definitely avoid the bar and grab - a pint in Valentine's across the road and food in the Market Bar or The Black Olive, the latter being particularly gourmet but very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Choose a room where window isn't broke
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank foxymm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longford
1.4 mi away
Viewmount House
Viewmount House
#1 of 2 in Longford
235 reviews
4.9 mi away
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
19.6 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
19.0 mi away
Carrick Plaza Suites
Carrick Plaza Suites
#4 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
162 reviews
11.6 mi away
Cooneys Hotel
Cooneys Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballymahon
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longford Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longford Arms Hotel

Address: Main Street, Longford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Longford > Longford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Longford
Price Range: £79 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Longford Arms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Longford Arms Hotel and Leisure Centre is a three star hotel in Longford Town offering excellent facilities at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Longford Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing