We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food no atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Baytree

The Baytree
Ranked #2 of 27 Restaurants in Carlingford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$32
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a beautiful little personal restaurant right in the center of a Medieval Village called Carlingford. Co. Louth. We provide a wonderful array of beautiful meals... Carlingfords only Michelin rated restaurant. We also have 7 beautiful B & B rooms located on our premises. We serve not only the freshest of produce, fish, meats and everything else on our premises. Our poly tunnel supplies us a lot of the year with fresh herbs, salad leaves from our garden which is also on site. We serve freshly ground coffee and lovely cups of tea in the morning and it is a delight to walk through our little garden on a summers evening. We have 2 private function rooms which can hold up to 40. Christenings, Communions, Birthdays, all occasions, specializing in our service for pre-wedding meals.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely food no atmosphere”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Visited here a few times the food is lovely services good the only thing is there is no atmosphere it's as if your in your own living room at home it's a pity but the food is really lovely

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Missssixty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    47
    11
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Possibly the best restaurant in Co Louth”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Four of us tried it out for evening dinner last weekend and we were so impressed we went again for lunch this Sunday. Food and service were excellent. Their home made bread is to die for and the mussels were wonderful. Good wine list all well priced. I understand they have accommodation available also. We will be certainly be returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect Surprise!”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We ran into (accidentally) the owner of The Bay Tree outside the pub across the street. We asked him about the local weather and he took the time to stand outside and visit with us for quite a while. He asked us where we were staying and told him where and that we had planned on going back for dinner after a drink at the pub. He very modestly recommended his restaurant and told us about the awards he's won. We cancelled our other dinner plans and were so glad we did. This place is a real gem and absolutely the best meal we had in Ireland. The staff was very friendly and the place is a clean and quaint little surprise!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TXRedRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Great food, friendly service and areally nice, relaxed and comfy B&B. They have their own little garden for fresh produce. Very high quality cooking.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“The best meal we have had in a long time.”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My partner and I went to the bay tree and we could not fault any part of our evening,food was fantastic, service was second to none and we like to eat in very nice establishments and my partner put it up there with one of the best meals she has ever had. Thank you again Conor.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank darrenmc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Baytree also viewed

Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
 
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula
 

Been to The Baytree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing