We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Modern Holiday Home”
other travellers have booked this property
Balcony and large deck with stunning views of Carlingford Lough, and The Mourne and Cooley Mountains
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Balcony and large deck with stunning views of Carlingford Lough, and The Mourne and Cooley Mountains
Fully equipt modern kitchen and dining area Carlingford Cottage - luxury holiday home with views over Carlingford Lough and The Mourne Mountains
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Balcony and large deck with stunning views of Carlingford Lough, and The Mourne and Cooley Mountains
Fully equipt modern kitchen and dining area
Carlingford Cottage - luxury holiday home with views over Carlingford Lough and The Mourne Mountains
Living room with open fire and satellite tv
The Perfect base for a relaxing winter or Christmas break
Triple bedroom with patio doors opening onto decking
Master bedroom with ensuite and patio doors onto deck area
Large deck area with stunning views of Carlingford Lough and The Mournes
Kids playing in the large garden
New 6.2km walkway/cycle path from Omeath - Carlingford
A stunning location for a picnic or BBQ
The famous PJ O'Hares in Carlingford
Stunning view of Carlingford Lough
Decking area with large picnic table BBQ and chimenea
With large private garden huge deck and stone built BBQ
A great area to explore for kids and adults
Stone built BBQ for long summer evenings
The Picturesque Carlingford Marina
Large gardens and lawns for the kids to explore and play in
Carlingford Village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula, County Louth

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Malachy Q
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Modern Holiday Home”
Reviewed 24 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We had a great time at this house over the Halloween Period. It is a very Modern house finished to a very high standard with great views of Carlingford Lough within a short distance of all local amenities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern Holiday House
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2015
Thank you for your recent review of Carlingford Cottage. We are delighted you had an enjoyable stay and would be happy to welcome you back in the near future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Family break”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I recently stayed at this cottage with seven members of my family for a weekend. The cottage was clean, tidy and well presented. Room were spacious and beds were comfortable. We had everything we needed for a self catering short break. The cottage has fantastic views and a generous sized garden with a bbq and patio. The cottage is roughly five miles from Carlingford town and taxis are easy to book. The town is hen party central so if your looking for a quiet night out, this is not the place. Booking this property was quite simple and I found the owner was easy to deal with and didn't hesitate to answer any questions I had about directions, check-in times or key collection. Would definitely recommend this rental to my friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view was beautiful.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2015
Thank you for your recent review of Carlingford Cottage. We are glad you enjoyed both your stay at our property and what the local area has to offer. We would be delighted to welcome you back in the future. Many thanks!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jiggy08
belfast
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great house and great location”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed in this house last weekend with my family- 8 of us altogether and plenty of space for us all. The amenities in the house were great- lots of cooking equiment etc we were able to make a fry for all 8 of us in the morning without any hassle and again lots of spafce to enjoy it. My only suggestion would be looking into getting some cheap wifi for the property- i was able to use my phone but since it is quite rural streaming music whilst having drinks was not possible and those not on the same network were paying £3 a day for internet so might be something to keep tourists happy. A part from that it was a great property and i would recommended to anyone and would definitely visit again. For anyone that does stay - 8 seater taxi to Carlingford was 32euro and 32euro back -PJ O'Hares great food but gets packed very quick on a Saturday night!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2015
Thank you for your recent review and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at our holiday home. Hopefully fibre broadband is coming to the area in 2016 and we will consider Wi-Fi for the house then. We would be delighted to welcome you back again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colette L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Miss ”
Reviewed 2 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Absolutely loved Carlingford Cottage. I booked for a hen party and 8 of us girls stayed the weekend. We had an absolute ball. The house is gorgeous with plenty of space and beautiful bedrooms and bathrooms. We couldn't have been any better looked after by Sheila we had everything we needed extra towels, blankets, open fire and the taxi man she provided us with was one in a million. Will defo be back without a doubt would love to see it in the summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2015
Thanks for your review and I'm delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at 'Carlingford Cottage' - We'd love to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ctmcb
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Modern, warm with stunning views!”
Reviewed 19 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband, 2 children and I rented this house over the Christmas period. We live overseas but our families reside in Ireland. Each time we come home we travel from house to house as our families are scattered so this time we decided to rent a house halfway between both families. Christmas Day we hosted both our families for dinner. Plenty of room for all to sit and relax. We were so happy with Carlingford Cottage, a tastefully decorated house with the best views. We adored the open fire, made the house so cosy. I had asked Sheila the owner if we could put up a Christmas tree but she did that for us and it was there when we arrived. The house is in a great location, peaceful, tranquil but still close to all amenities. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2015
Delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable Christmas break at 'Carlingford Cottage'- we'd love to be welcome you back on your next visit to Ireland.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John and...
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing views from the very spacious accommodation with good quality furniture,”
Reviewed 11 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The house is very spacious and airy on a very quiet lane with spectacular views from the house and garden. Omeath was a 10 minute walk from the house down the lane with a few shops, a hotel and a pub. The pub at the end of the lane is traditional with a welcoming open fire and friendly staff; the hotel has views over Carlingford Lough and served food which looked delicious though we did not actually eat there. Carlingford town, a ten minute drive away, is a delightful town with many places to eat and drink with Ruby Ellen's vintage cafe being an absolute MUST!! We traveled to Newry, a pleasant ten minute drive away, to food shop as there is a fantastic shopping centre there called the Quays which had a Sainbury's and a very good variety of shops, eateries and a cinema all in the same complex with a car park. The area is beautiful and is literally surrounded by the Cooley Mountains and Mourne Moutains with many walks to enjoy from the cottage door or along the many pebbled beaches. A visit to The Giant's Causeway is a must if you don't mind the long round trip-it took us approx 5 hours. The owner's were amenable and I understand that they plan to give the house some T.l. C. soon including carpet cleaning which will make the stay in the house even more enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the spacious house.
Liked least: The carpets were very dirty and the bathrooms needed a thorough cleaning too.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pameladel...
Hot Springs, South Dakota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I couldn't wish for a better place to stay-perfect!”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 for a stay in October 2012

This was all I imagined it to be---The perfect area to stay in Ireland! The area was so beautiful and relaxing with the rolling hills, woods and water. It was just a short ride to town where there are great places to eat and wonderful people! I liked that it was secluded and well taken care of. The owner thought of everything to make it a very pleasant stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful view
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing