We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“All the comforts of home in a unique, beautiful...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
The cottage
Irish Tourist Board approved
Bedroom 2
The sailor room
Old Essmore Cottage -
View from Old Essmore cottage - Carlingford lough
View from Old Essmore Cottage - Ryeland river
The Greenway path , entrance outside cottage gate
Slieve Foy & Cooley mountains
Looking over to the Mourne Mountains
Carlingford village
Carlingford Oysters
Old Essmore Cottage - Carlingford lough
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula, County Louth

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mary Elle...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All the comforts of home in a unique, beautiful setting.”
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Old Essmore cottage is the perfect vacation rental. Its location is convenient to many attractions and the view across the street never gets old. The owner, Gerald, made us feel like old friends. He was on site when we arrived after a very long journey from the USA and greeted us with a table set with a beautiful breakfast and many necessary food items to get us started. We thoroughly enjoyed the extensive music selection as well as the very well equipped modern kitchen. Having wifi was a bonus! We have family in the area so when we return to Ireland, we hope to be able to stay in this wonderful cottage again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2017
Thank you for your kind words and I look forward to seeing you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Reviewed 25 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Caoimhe D
Belfast
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old Essmore Cottage”
Reviewed 31 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Stayed in Gerard & Maureens holiday home in Omeath from 27th-29th January 17, what an amazing home and brilliant location, 5 minute drive from Carlingford with so much to do.

The house was spotless clean and so cozy just like a home from home.

We can't wait for the summer to spend a week in this lovely house.

Thanks again to Gerard and Maureen for letting us stay in your home!!

Uploaded is a photo of the view from the house!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selina D
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful modern cottage with wonderful scenery”
Reviewed 2 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Just back from a lovely long weekend stay in Old Essmore Cottage and I had to write a review as a thank you to Gerard and Maureen for allowing me to experience their stunning holiday home.
First of all, the cottage is in the perfect location. As it is just a short trip to both Newry and Carlingford, we were able to travel conveniently to shop for essentials using sterling and enjoy the great nightlife and beautiful restaurants that Carlingford has to offer. This, combined with the tranquil setting of the cottage, was perfect to be able to sightsee and relax. (The view of the river and lough in front of the Mourne mountains directly in front of the house is breathtaking!)
The facilities in the house were all modern and clean. The cooker was huge which was so useful to cook different foods at the same time. There was also a washing machine, tumble drier and iron etc, everything that we needed. The rooms were beautifully decorated and had an authentic Irish cottage feel.
We hope to come back to Old Essmore Cottage very soon, next time definitely for longer!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kia d
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“MEMORABLE PLACE”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Perfect in every way. Great welcoming host, excellent location, must go back. Carlingford is a beautiful place with a number of very nice restaurants and pubs. The cottage is well equipped with some beautiful ornaments dotted around the place. Felt like we had been let into someone's private home. The music collection available and the recently installed broadband were just the icing on the cake.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: homeliness of the property.
Liked least: One of the double beds is creaky.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S
Killyleagh, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Wee Gem”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Loved this cottage, home from home; what more would you want? Great location with shops nearby, the weather was good throughout our stay which was a bonus Upon arrival we were met by both Gerard & Maureen who couldn't have made us feel more welcome & had essential items available for us, tea, milk, butter etc music for all tastes was on hand with a vast selection on the server, which was great to listen too while sitting in the garden having a drink & wifi available too Could not fault in any way & hope it will be available for us to return to next year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiggins
South Wales - United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 10 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed at Old Essmore Cottage for a week over Easter to attend a wedding in nearby Dundalk.
After a horrendous journey from South Wales we arrived at the cottage really late, but Gerard was still there to settle us in with a tour and some very welcome cheese, wine and cakes. We were really impressed with the communication we received from Gerard both with booking the cottage, queries with travel cots and milk and then being there to welcome us. Excellent Irish hospitality.
The cottage itself was beautifully and comfortably decorated and provided everything we needed as a family of 6 for a weeks stay. Facilities such as a washing machine, dryer and dishwasher were excellent as we were staying with two young children.
We stayed with my in-laws but the cottage was large enough with two separate bathrooms and a living room and conservatory we didn't feel too cramped.
The location of the cottage was lovely, over looking the loch. There is a walk into Carlingford along the loch, or by car it was 5 minutes to the marina.
We didn't realise until we got there that the cottage is 2 miles from the Northern Irish border so we were able to pick up British phone signal and we drove to Newry to do our food shopping as there wasnt a supermarket in Omeath or Carlingford, only local corner shops.
We really enjoyed our stay in Old Essmore Cottage and would highly recommend it to other families looking for a holiday rental in Ireland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the property, the deep bath and facilities like a washing machine and dryer
Liked least: no wifi, no blinds or curtains in the childrens bedroom
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing