We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary”
Review of Ghan House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ghan House
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Anniversary”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Very old hotel but clean. great breakfast and very friendly staff. Only a 2 min walk into the village, lots of old Irish pubs, with good food. Lovely views close by and about 20 min drive into some great shops in Newry.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms are available for anyone with a disability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, Manager at Ghan House, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Yes - Built in 1727 – 287 years old – one of the oldest houses of its’ type in Ireland – with wi-fi, 32” digital TV’s, stereo in every bedroom, decent central heating, plenty hot water – original fixtures, cornices, corbelled ceilings, original fireplaces – the mix of modern requirements in a house back to it’s original splendour is something we’re very proud of – thank you for noticing and appreciating.
And yes, the centre of Carlingford is just 50 metres from outside our walled grounds. And our proximity not jist to Newry and Dundalk (20 minutes, you’re correct!) with all their shops – but also Dublin and Belfast is less than an hour away, making us and Medieval Carlingford a great location to explore the area. Incidently Newgrange and Hill of Tara are just 35 minutes and 55 minutes away. The Giant’a Causeway is less than a 2 hour drive and the Titanic Museum is 55 minutes from our front door!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    68
    29
    32
    22
See reviews for
51
161
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Ghan house is the perfect location for a group stay or an upmarket hen party. The welcoming staff, gorgeous location and outstanding food we recieved on our recent stay was beyond reproach. I couldnt recommend the place more. It is excellent value and true to the saying, 'You get what you pay for'. It may be a little more than other locations for a hen party but if you like a little bit of luxury in a venue with top class food, I challenge you to find a better spot. There were 26 of us and we were verywell looked after. The highlights are the roaring fire in the reception lobby, (what a warm welcome!), the quirky lay-out, the friendly and attentive staff, the amazing food (beautiful presentation, wonderful menu)
I couldnt recommend it more.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sinawill77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, Manager at Ghan House, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
I couldn’t write better, thank you for appreciating everything that we do;
– the finer details as well as the bigger picture such as offering groups such as yourselves a private dining room
- our chefs Stephane and Allan in the kitchen producing 2 AA Rosette standard food
- our log fire
Thank you for seeing what we do and appreciating it. We love what we offer, even more so when guests such as you and indeed most our guests can see the result of all our efforts ~ before you arrive and once you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The 3 out of a possible 5 is based on the price paid, not necessarily on the quality received.

As part of our ongoing trips to 'restaurants with rooms' we went along to Ghan House full of high expectations. Ghan met those high expectations in many ways, but let itself down on some other issues.

The negatives first, we perhaps had a poor experience as we were there at the same time as a large private party, the house would make an excellent venue for a large private party and the guests were having a wonderful time, however the layout does not suit hosting a large party and quiet refined dining at the same time. The staff were obviously aware of this as we did receive frequent and repeated apologies from our very friendly and efficient waiter. Our other issue related to the breakfast 'experience', not the actual food which was magnificent, but the inefficient and stilted way it was served. It took ages and while we were there there was a total of 7 other customers eating at the same time. In that time however we all had to ask several times for simple things which should have been available as a matter of course. No orange juice, no milk, no toast, no menus available, no glasses, missing sugar bowls, missing cups and cutlery. All of these were provided eventually but everything seemed to take ages. As far as rooms and sleep quality, our bed was very comfortable but there is a bit of a noise problem in the garden annex with door closing and banging travelling through the building.

Then the good stuff, The welcome was fantastic and really friendly from Paul. Our room, No12 was also perfect, large, airy and very comfortable. Quiet classical music playing on arrival is a simple and lovely touch. Our food at dinner was excellent, some courses better than others, but we are dealing in degrees of excellence rather than good or bad. Presentation was fab and service was perfect, we asked for a delay between starter and mains, this was accommodated perfectly. The wine selection was wonderful and priced very well, the wines which we chose did not disappoint, they were fantastic.

We will be back to give the team at Ghan House another try because I think the location, the great rooms and the fantastic food could make it a really special night out, we just didn't choose the right night.

Room Tip: We were in the garden annex, and we had a look at a couple of rooms in the main house as well. Not m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polychrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, Owner at Ghan House, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thankyou for all your positive stuff – ‘large, airy, comfortable bedroom’, ‘great rooms’, ‘classical music on the stereo in the bedroom’, ‘excellent dinner’, ‘fab presentation’, ‘wonderful wine selection’ ‘very well priced’ and ‘did not disappoint’ and most importantly ‘we will be back’!

In addition our apologies – the private family party eating in the 1st floor drawing room, promised us to have left us by 8pm – before our scheduled service in the restaurant in the ground floor dining room. They left us between 8.30 and 9pm, just as service - you and other guests - were arriving for dinner. A crossover of time that unfortunately marred your experience. I’m glad however you enjoyed your dinner and you certainly appreciated our winelist – many years of trying different wines and unlike most other establishments, not marking up the quality wines by what I feel are unfair margins.

Your breakfast experience I sincerely apologise for – I have talked to the waitress concerned – she has been with us for nearly 10 years now and is one of our most experienced employees – whatever happened that morning is certainly is not what we are known for. Suffice to say she was just back that week from an eye operation and obviously not back to full speed – in sight or movement! She has now fully recovered and back to her usual self you will be pleased to learn.

Thank you for taking the time to put up an honest appraisal and look forward to meeting you when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed and had dinner last week. This is an excellent hotel. I thought the attention to detail was excellent. We were met at the front door and greeted by name before being shown directly to our room. The room was fantastic with a high ceiling and interesting and very appropriate furnishings and décor. It was the very antithesis of a chain hotel and all the better for it. Dinner was excellent in food and service. Breakfast the next morning was very good and the service feeling almost like you are a guest in someone's home. I'd happily recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davygg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, Owner at Ghan House, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for noticing all our attention to detail and personal things that we strive to do – we do everything as we would like to receive when we go away.

You obviously appreciate the difference between us and standard procedure elsewhere. Thank you for letting us know and enjoying the difference!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Was really looking forward to this stay to celebrate my wifes birthday and recoup from a bout of flu. We chose Ghan house as I often stay in hotels for business and was looking for something special/different as the website and review would suggest.
There were a litany of niggling issues:
Cold night but not one fire was lit in the dining room, bar or reception area
Dinner was well presented and tasty but we had to send both dinners back as they were lukewarm
There was a Norah Jones CD on continuous loop throughout dinner and when it was finally changed the next CD skipped continuously, the ever popular Norah Jones was again playing the next morning throughout breakfast.
Breakfast was average with poached and fried eggs overdone, had to ask for more toast after getting one half slice each barely toasted
Disappointed to have to pay €5 extra for tea/coffee after dinner with no indication until we received the bill at check-out
Service was efficient but lacked friendliness, the exception was the lady at checkin
No printed receipts available for a €300 bill, "we dont believe in them" was what we were told, so we settled for the receipt on the back of a postcard
Room was adequate size but cannot understand why 1/4 of the room was taken up with a single bed, when we were looking for a room for a couple, normally the 'spare' bed is only added to the room if requested.

All this stuff might be acceptable for a 3+ hotel or standard B&B but not for €130 ppn.

We shared our experiences with another couple who had stayed on three occasions thinking we just had an off night but they confirmed some of our experiences and said they would not be going back again back on their last visit.

In my mind the place is resting on its laurels and the quality of the food but when you are paying high prices you expect excellent service.

Over priced, under delivered

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, Owner at Ghan House, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Many thanks for your observations & am mighty glad you made the comments you have.

As explained to you on check out, we used to include tea/coffee in the dinner price, until guests who didn’t have tea/coffee wanted to have the tea/coffee price taken off. So now we do not include tea/coffee in the dinner price & only charge for those who want it - probably a sign of the times and on reflection probably the best way to do it.

I have checked the cameras for the night you stayed and indeed the fire was lit in the entrance hall that evening. You are correct in that the bar & dining room fireplaces were not lit – for the very reason that it gets too hot & uncomfortable for those sitting close to them. We have very good central heating.

Our handwritten bill is not on a postcard, it is on a pre-printed itemised bill, with an attached postcard that you can keep or send. I make no apology for this and have been told hundreds of times what a pleasant way it is to receive a bill, rather than an impersonal computerised till receipt.
I apologise for the same CD – we have a selection and it obviously was not changed that night or for the morning. Thankyou.

I’m sorry your stay was affected by a single bed in your room. The bedroom you stayed in also had a Queen size antique French bed, a 2 seater settee, 2 large windows and a big bathroom with full size bath and power shower. Quiet often when couples stay with us they wish to stay in the same room but in different beds. This arrangement facilitates this and does not impinge on enjoyment of this large bedroom.

We firmly believe in, offering a friendly, professional service that has been recognised by customers staying with us every day, every week, week in week out for the last 18 years, and the AA food critic giving us 2 AA Rosettes (one of only less than 3 dozen restaurants in the whole of Ireland to achieve this standard) – gained in the last 3 years and John & Sally McKenna keeping us in ‘The Best 100 Places to Stay in Ireland’ continuously since 1999. Far from ‘resting on our laurels’ we are getting more recognition in recent years, culminating in making January & February hit our best occupancy levels, ever.

However, as we are acutely aware, everyone is watching us, every minute of every day and now are able to tell the whole world of their one-off stay. Our reputation is gained by over 80% of our guests returning and recommending others to stay with us. Also guide books and food critics visit us and rate us ever year – far more than a once off visit. As you stated, the guests you talked to had been to us numerous times before. If on your night that you stayed with us, Friday 21st February, you noticed things that were not to your liking and not to our usual high standards we set our own selves, then I’m sorry you had to bring them to our attention but am extremely grateful you have done so. It will help us maintain our present high standards, attention to detail, sense of fun, enjoyment and professionalism.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed in ghan house last Friday night for my husbands birthday the food was absolutely beautiful , the staff were very friendly and welcoming and there was a lovely atmosphere it's not your typical overnight stay in a shiny modern hotel it's different experience entirely I found the room to be a bit chilly that was my only negative but the homemade bread and jam in the morning made up for anything and my hubby loved his fry :-) if your looking for something a little different and you appreciate great food this place is well worth a visit .

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flawlessly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, Owner at Ghan House, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
We love what we do and are glad you were able to share this your husband and enjoy what we offer all our guests….a lovely relaxed environment, log fires & candlelight with attention to detail and a restaurant that enjoys its’ 2 AA Rosette status! Thank you for taking the time to let everyone else know too! And, apologies… I’ll warm you up a bit more when you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meath, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

my husband and I stayed here recently for one night. the room we had was small but perfectly formed- i could ramble on but the roll top bath was what ultimately won me over!!! music was playing in the room when we arrived and it was warm and welcoming (took a bit of fiddling to get the music off though!!) we rolled in late from a ball next door in the four seasons, we had keys to let ourselves in. the whole place has a lovely feel and great character. the breakfast the next morn was perfect, staff were helpful and pleasant
will be back again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shenn09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, Owner at Ghan House, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you so much for appreciating what we do – from the ipod player playing music prior to your arrival, our excellent central heating, the 32” digital TV, the roll top bath & separate walk-in power shower…all the antiques and Georgian ambience, the ticking of the grandfather clock……and us and our staff.
An interesting juxtaposition and contra to where your ball was held. You obviously have class in choosing to stay with us! Thankyou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlingford
0.1 mi away
Oystercatcher Lodge
Oystercatcher Lodge
#2 of 2 in Carlingford
72 reviews
6.9 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
8.3 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
1.6 mi away
MourneView Bed & Breakfast
MourneView Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 13 in Carlingford
109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grove House B&B
Grove House B&B
#7 of 13 in Carlingford
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghan House

Property: Ghan House
Address: 2 Ghan Road, Carlingford, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Cooley Peninsula > Carlingford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Carlingford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghan House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ghan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ghan House Hotel Carlingford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing