We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't book an event when it's busy - they can't cope” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Four Seasons Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carlingford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't book an event when it's busy - they can't cope”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

I booked a one night conference for 30 people. Never again. Food and rooms were great and staff friendly. However no one gets things done. I had met with the conference staff in advance to go over every detail- nothing I discussed happened. Two examples first we had tea and coffee booked- 30 minutes later after begging numerous times it arrived leaving our guest speaker sitting waiting. Lunch- I asked for 15 mins early couldn't do it and it arrived 20 mins late- tea and coffee arrived 20 mins later again! More begging and promises from staff- really awful service although staff are friendly. Who manages this place? We were told they were busy - no excuse. Same thing about dinner 40 mins after our slot we sat down to dinner. Could do much better - won't be back and won't recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    166
    134
    78
    49
See reviews for
159
258
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Drogheda
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Having specifically asked for a Delux room at booking time and being advised that we were Now booked into a delux room, upon arrival we given a plain basic room and reception advised us that all delux rooms were booked out. I advised about my conversation upon booking, but reception didnt seem to care much. The room was clean, but furnishing were minimal, bed was tiny and also bathroom small. The heating was poor. In the restaurant, the menu was limited and food quality and taste were very poor. Staff were friendly. Breakfast was ok but nothing to rave about. We booked this night away for a birthday treat and we were both looking forward to staying in a posh room and posh bathroom. Sadly our evening and overall stay was ruined. We wont be back and we wont be advising any friends to stay here.

Room Tip: Best advise, book into a b+b or guedt house in Carlingford. This hotel is poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carlingford hotels

Newry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We were invited to a wedding in the Beautiful Four Seasons Carlingford on the 20th December, the food was to die for, the staff were fabulous nothing was to much trouble.
We all have a great day with the help of the staff and management of the hotel. I would gladly recommend the Four Seasons to any couple holding their wedding there or any guest going to a wedding.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claire209938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majella-Toner, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear claire209938,

Thank you for your review on Trip Adviser.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at The Four Seasons Hotel Carlingford. Thank you for your lovely feedback, I have passed on your comments to our staff and management.

We hope to welcome you back to us in the very near future.

Best Wishes,
Majella
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Just to say our daughters wedding was held here on December 20th...everything about the hotel was 1st class. Staff were so efficient , having everything prepared before we had to ask. They did all without any hint of fuss and we're very grateful.All 150 guests said the same , exxellent food, facilities, entertainment, drink, rooms and hygiene was perfesct.
Thank You

Room Tip: Suites are fantastic , def worth spending a wee bit extra but they are often part of the Hotel Weddi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majella-Toner, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Evelyn C,

Thank you for you review on Trip Adviser.

We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at your daughter's wedding. Our staff and management aim to please, and to make every guest feel welcome and have an enjoyable stay. I have passed on your lovely comments to everyone. Thank you again for the feedback, and we hope to welcome you back for another stay with us in the near future.

Best Wishes,

Majella,
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We recently visited the Four Seasons for a wedding and were impressed with the quality of food and service. The location is ideal for a stay in the quaint town of Carlingford.
The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant, with attention to detail being paid.
We would recommend this venue for a wedding and a short break

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VesperLynd007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majella-Toner, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear VesperLynd007,

Thank you for your review on Trip Adviser.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us here at The Four Seasons Hotel Carlingford. Carlingford is a beautiful village, we are very proud to be situated in such a stunning location. Thank you again for your lovely comments, and we hope to welcome you back for another stay with us in the future,

Best Wishes,

Majella,
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Just back from an overnight stay in Four Seasons Hotel, Carlingford. I did not know what to expect as I had read some recent reviews which were quite negative, but I felt I had to share our experience which was absolutely great. We had gone for my mothers birthday and from beginning to end had a great time. Rooms great, food lovely and staff from receptionist to waiting staff super, very friendly and most helpful. Thanks for a great night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 99Aine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killyleagh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

I've stayed in Fours Seasons worldwide and have always been treated like royalty, until I went to Four Seasons Carlingford! Staff are just ignorant and have no interest in looking after their guests. My car was damaged in their car park but I only noticed the damage when I arrived home. I telephoned 5 times to ask them to review their CCTV and each time I was promised a call back which never came. I have now given up trying!!! As for the hotel itself. Rooms were basic and only have a shower and no bath. Call reception twice for the wifi code and was given the wrong code twice. Again, I just gave up trying. Lastly, I asked for breakfast to be served in the room and ticked the box for it to be served between 10am and 10:30am. At 10:45 I had to call reception to make sure they had got my order and find out where our breakfast was. Was told they were busy and would get it to us when they could. Carlingford is lovely but I would rather take a tent than stay at the Four Seasons again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DPM_Dowser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlingford
0.2 mi away
Oystercatcher Lodge
Oystercatcher Lodge
#2 of 2 in Carlingford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
8.4 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#2 of 8 in Dundalk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
7.0 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
9.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
11.4 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel

Property: Four Seasons Hotel
Address: Carlingford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Cooley Peninsula > Carlingford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carlingford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Seasons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel Carlingford
Four Seasons Carlingford
Carlingford Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing