We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Four Seasons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carlingford
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This hotel is located in a beautiful surroundings, in the lovely village of Carlingford, on the shore of the Lough, lovely for a walk along the lough shore especially on a beautiful sunny day. However, we were disappointed with the hotel, the bed room facility was very basic, my husband & I stayed for 4 nights, we were disappointed to find there was no closed door wardrobe, only an open wardrobe with hangers for hanging our clothes, no big drawers either, so we could not unpack our cases properly. We think the open wardrobe is fine if one only stays overnight or for a couple of days. The television was very small & old, the carpet could do with a good shampoo or replacement, the bed was not comfortable, the mattress was too soft. We were very disappointed with it. However, the staff were very friendly & efficient especially in the restaurant. The food was good but the main course was a little bit spoilt by too much of the same taste gravy accompanying it every dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jentze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majella-Toner, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Jentze,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor.

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some aspects of our hotel throughout your stay with us. However, we appreciate your feedback as it helps us to improve our hotel and our service to our guests. We will most certainly take these comments on board, and ensure that our House Keeping and Maintenance Departments rectify them. We hope these issues will not stop you from returning to us in the near future for another stay,

Best Wishes,

Majella Toner,
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (711)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 711 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

I attended a wedding at this venue a few weeks ago, although the couple in question had obviously went for a cheap deal, I wasn't expecting something outstanding. However it was shocking, when we arrived at the venue I could have sworn we were in an industrial estate, the decore was dated and again screamed cheap, our bedroom upon check in resembled a hostel. The food was average, wine like vinegar.Staff were rude and even the bride commented on how unhelpful they had been. I felt so sorry for the bride and groom who had clearly just wanted to invite as many guests as the could for as little money as they could afford but you definately get what you pay for. Terrible terrible embarassing venue!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majella-Toner, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Rachel W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we wish to address some of the points you have made. You mentioned you were unhappy with the wine, the hotel allows brides and grooms on occasion to provide their own wine at a fee, the wine was to their taste and choice.

We were recently Awarded Wedding Venue of the Year Leinster 2014 by WeddingsOnline.ie and Best Wedding Venue in Leinster by Weddingdates.ie, based on a stunning location and excellent food and service. We have went through the feedback from each wedding over the last 6 months and not one bride or groom commented negatively on the service at their wedding in fact every wedding stated that they would highly recommend the hotel.

You also marked 1 out of 5 stars for location. Our hotel is located overlooking Carlingford Lough and mountains within a 4 minute walk of a stunning village with medieval features including King John's Castle and Carlingford Abbey and beside Carlingford Lough so we are very surprised that you were also unhappy with the location.

If you wish to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Majella
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My wife and i stayed here for a wedding this weekend and from the start the staff couldn't have made us more welcome and comfortable.

After an early morning ferry ride over we arrived at the hotel around half 7, we were greater by Jo in the restaurant and after hearing of our long journey and general tiredness she showed us to the toast, cereals and a quiet corner!

Not 90 minutes later we were found a room to book into (early) and got our well deserved rest.

The room was a little old fashioned but was exactly what we needed and wanted for no more then we received.

This hotel's staff are clearly its heart and soul and because of them our stay was absolutely perfect.

Thank You to your hotel and wonderful town.

Room Tip: Oriel room has a joint balcony which is handy if a friend is starting next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donkeykong55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majella-Toner, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear donkeykong55,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Four Seasons Hotel Carlingford. Our management and staff aim to please, and make every guest feel welcome and relaxed for the duration of their stay at our hotel. Therefore, we are thrilled to hear that you received this treatment from the very start of your stay. Thank you for your lovely comments, and we hope to welcome you back for another stay with us in the near future,

Best Wishes,

Majella Toner,
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

we stayed 1night (may 31) and have no complaints other than guests letting doors slam as soon as they get up! why do people do this?? EVERY hotel in EVERY country, it's the bl...y same! there should be a law against this! we stayed in the Tholsel suite (thanks to Maireade) it was beautiful. breakfast yummy! Had quick bite to eat in Bar an thanks to young barman (dark hair) got me half portion as i wasnt hungry, it was gorge! Well done everyone including kitchen staff, because we don't see them, they're forgotten about! We will def go back, so please people, close the doors gently, I need my beauty sleep!!! THANKS!!

Room Tip: would recommend Tholsol suite but might be bit pricey
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tbrennan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here a while back where the food was absolutely spectacular the accommodation was rather a let down. We didn't get to sleep all night as there was a noise of water the whole night, The pillow cases had dried blood stains on them. When I spoke to receptionist she basically stated that she would say it to laundry not impressed at all. Could have at least let me speak with a manager, it was a voucher we had received for Christmas and personally was definitely not worth the value as stated

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosemarie225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majella-Toner, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear rosemarie225,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food in our restaurant, I have passed your comments on to the chef. However, I am very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with some aspects of your stay in our hotel. I have notified House Keeping of this, to ensure it does not happen again. Please do not hesitate to contact us on 0353 (0) 42 9373530 to speak with a manager within the hotel about these issues,

Kind Regards,

Majella Toner
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

What a dissapointemnt !! Firstly on check in we waited at an empty reception for more than 10 minutes before anyone attended to us. . Eventually a receptionist came and checked us in. Never saw that before.
The room was dated and looked more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel room. It was souless.The carpet was puckered, bed tired looking, televieion so old it was hard to get stations on it. To be fair the bathroom was modern and clean.
Soundproofing appears to be an issue. The walls are so thin I heard the man next door snoring loudly.
Breakfast was ok. The staff mostly appeared to be very young and untrained. We stayed at this hotel for a family occasion. The choice of accomadation in Carlingfotd is very limited and for a tourist and beautiful area I find it hard to understand. We paid way over the top for 2 nights b and b. Would I stay here again? Maybe if I paid half the amount it might reflect value for money.
Otherwise NEVER!!




-+

Room Tip: Don't waste your money. Way overpriced
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank noeleen-47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majella-Toner, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear noeleen-47,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. We are disappointed to hear that you were not happy with your stay in our hotel. Here at the Four Seasons Hotel Carlingford, we make sure that staff are available at all times to cater for our guests, therefore I have passed this message on to all staff to ensure that it will not happen again in future. We appreciate your feedback on our rooms, and we have taken it on board to continue to improve our hotel.
If you would like to discuss any of these issues further, please do not hesitate to contact us on (+353) 42 9373530, and speak to a manager within the hotel,

Kind regards,

Majella Toner, Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We attended a wedding nearby so i cannot comment on the facilties of the Four Seasons however what i did experience was just okay. We checked in and as there was a wedding on there was a great buzz in the air, there was a minutes wait, average time for a check in and it was evident that the reception team was well staffed for a busy check in. Considering this day was a happy occasion you would expect the staff to share this enthuasiam but they came across disinterested, looked as though they where severly underpressure (even though 4 staff members where on hand), and we didnt recieve the warm welcome you expect on arrival. The only exchange of conversation was to ask "how we where paying" and where the room was. There was no smile, no conversation and as for been informative ..well this fell through the cracks. There was no member of breakfast times or location, an arm was pointed where we where to go for our rooms and considering the lack of enthusiam, the least a person can ask for is an "enjoy your stay". From my experience of hotels , it takes 2 minutes approx to check someone in, there is enough information, no matter how irrelvant as it makes a guest feel so much more welcome and privaleged to be in the hotel. The rooms are lovely, everything that you need and although basic, its evident housekeeping take pride in their rooms as it was spotless, even though it was an interconnecting room, there was no noise at all. Breakfast the follwing morning was nice, the food was hot so no complaints there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlingford
7 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
9.3 mi away
Oystercatcher Lodge
Oystercatcher Lodge
#2 of 2 in Carlingford
77 reviews
8.4 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#2 of 8 in Dundalk
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
9.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
393 reviews
11.4 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel

Address: Carlingford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Cooley Peninsula > Carlingford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carlingford
Price Range: £113 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Seasons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Four Seasons Hotel, Spa & Leisure Club Carlingford lies nestled at the foot of the Cooley Mountains overlooking Carlingford Lough offering spectacular views, excellent accommodation, and fine cuisine. Accommodation in Carlingford doesn't get any better than this. With a range of activities and things to do you will be sure to have an enjoyable relaxing stay with us. We offer 58 well-appointed, newly refurbished and luxurious bedrooms. The Four Seasons Hotel Carlingford specialise in providing premium quality modern Irish cuisine with an emphasis on fresh, seasonal and local produce. With one of the finest Restaurants in Carlingford the newly renovated “Lough Lounge”. Discover the true meaning of a spa break in the peace and tranquillity of our Luxe Spa. Our spa treatments and array of packages have been designed to encourage total comfort and well-being. Choose from Voya Hot Stone Facials, Full body massage and more to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel Carlingford
Four Seasons Carlingford
Carlingford Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing