We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (757)
Filter reviews
757 results
Traveller rating
249
207
150
91
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
249
207
150
91
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure centrelovely hoteljacuzzi bathfamily weddingbar menufunction roomthe ground floorwedding receptionan upgradestaff were so friendlyrelaxing breakfamily roomcooley mountainsshort breaktop classwell worth a visitpubs and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
444 - 449 of 757 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel, fantastic staff and a beautiful location!
We had our wedding in June 2014 in the gardens of the hotel and it was the most amazing day ever!
I cannot say enough about the staff, atmosphere and ease of the day. Our guests could not stop commenting on the location, service and the overall enjoyment of staying in the hotel.
Caroline and Mairead are a pleasure to deal with! Thank you so much

Stayed: June 2014
4  Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majella-Toner, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hi Stephen,

Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are absolutely delighted that you were so happy with your wedding day. I have passed your kind comments to Mairead and Caroline and also to the staff. It was such a pleasure looking after you both and your family and guests on your wedding day.

Hopefully you will visit again very soon.

Best wishes,

Majella

Sales and Marketing Manager
Four Seasons Hotel Carlingford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Didn't stay here but went in for lunch. The Reception area and bar are very nice . The staff bar one lady in a white shirt were just not on the ball. We sat outside had to go looking for menus. Then when we placed our order we again had to go looking for the waitress. The seafood chowder was awful pretty sure the cream was gone off. The duck spring rolls again terrible not as much as one piece of duck in them just beansprouts and hoi sin sauce. We didn't finish either. When I went to pay the bill I wasn't asked once was everything ok. The plus point on this hotel is again a nice bar and a lovely garden but some of the outside chairs could do with an upgrade. Their was a cat that im sure belongs to the hotel jumping up on tables and drinking from the milk jugs!! Disgusting !!!some poor unsuspecting guest might get more than milk in their coffee!! My wife told the waitress and in fairness she was horrified. Also the limescale in the main gents loo was disgusting can't understand this when a limescale remover spray costs nothing. The staff just seemed very unhappy.We went in with a view to staying this weekend as we dont live to far away, glad we did, certainly wont be staying now!!.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dublin6011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This hotel is located in a beautiful surroundings, in the lovely village of Carlingford, on the shore of the Lough, lovely for a walk along the lough shore especially on a beautiful sunny day. However, we were disappointed with the hotel, the bed room facility was very basic, my husband & I stayed for 4 nights, we were disappointed to find there was no closed door wardrobe, only an open wardrobe with hangers for hanging our clothes, no big drawers either, so we could not unpack our cases properly. We think the open wardrobe is fine if one only stays overnight or for a couple of days. The television was very small & old, the carpet could do with a good shampoo or replacement, the bed was not comfortable, the mattress was too soft. We were very disappointed with it. However, the staff were very friendly & efficient especially in the restaurant. The food was good but the main course was a little bit spoilt by too much of the same taste gravy accompanying it every dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jentze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majella-Toner, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Jentze,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor.

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some aspects of our hotel throughout your stay with us. However, we appreciate your feedback as it helps us to improve our hotel and our service to our guests. We will most certainly take these comments on board, and ensure that our House Keeping and Maintenance Departments rectify them. We hope these issues will not stop you from returning to us in the near future for another stay,

Best Wishes,

Majella Toner,
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I attended a wedding at this venue a few weeks ago, although the couple in question had obviously went for a cheap deal, I wasn't expecting something outstanding. However it was shocking, when we arrived at the venue I could have sworn we were in an industrial estate, the decore was dated and again screamed cheap, our bedroom upon check in resembled a hostel. The food was average, wine like vinegar.Staff were rude and even the bride commented on how unhelpful they had been. I felt so sorry for the bride and groom who had clearly just wanted to invite as many guests as the could for as little money as they could afford but you definately get what you pay for. Terrible terrible embarassing venue!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majella-Toner, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Rachel W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we wish to address some of the points you have made. You mentioned you were unhappy with the wine, the hotel allows brides and grooms on occasion to provide their own wine at a fee, the wine was to their taste and choice.

We were recently Awarded Wedding Venue of the Year Leinster 2014 by WeddingsOnline.ie and Best Wedding Venue in Leinster by Weddingdates.ie, based on a stunning location and excellent food and service. We have went through the feedback from each wedding over the last 6 months and not one bride or groom commented negatively on the service at their wedding in fact every wedding stated that they would highly recommend the hotel.

You also marked 1 out of 5 stars for location. Our hotel is located overlooking Carlingford Lough and mountains within a 4 minute walk of a stunning village with medieval features including King John's Castle and Carlingford Abbey and beside Carlingford Lough so we are very surprised that you were also unhappy with the location.

If you wish to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Majella
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My wife and i stayed here for a wedding this weekend and from the start the staff couldn't have made us more welcome and comfortable.

After an early morning ferry ride over we arrived at the hotel around half 7, we were greater by Jo in the restaurant and after hearing of our long journey and general tiredness she showed us to the toast, cereals and a quiet corner!

Not 90 minutes later we were found a room to book into (early) and got our well deserved rest.

The room was a little old fashioned but was exactly what we needed and wanted for no more then we received.

This hotel's staff are clearly its heart and soul and because of them our stay was absolutely perfect.

Thank You to your hotel and wonderful town.

Room Tip: Oriel room has a joint balcony which is handy if a friend is starting next door.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donkeykong55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majella-Toner, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear donkeykong55,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Four Seasons Hotel Carlingford. Our management and staff aim to please, and make every guest feel welcome and relaxed for the duration of their stay at our hotel. Therefore, we are thrilled to hear that you received this treatment from the very start of your stay. Thank you for your lovely comments, and we hope to welcome you back for another stay with us in the near future,

Best Wishes,

Majella Toner,
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews