We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”
Review of Beaufort House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlingford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beaufort House
Ranked #1 of 13 Carlingford B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed here for three nights in October and loved it. A beautifully located house right on the sea front with views across the bay. The house itself was lovely, very homely & very welcoming. The owners, Michael & Glynis were very warm, friendly people and I honestly felt like I'd known them for years. The breakfast was something you ended up looking forward to each morning, freshly cooked and plenty of variety. Would definitely stay here again when we return to Carlingford as the location was ideal, a short 5 or 6 minute walk to the town.

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs in room 4, nice & spacious with beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drimbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    12
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
122
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakbrook Terrace, Illinois
Level Contributor
144 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed at Beaufort House after our first night on the road. It is nicely located right on the bay, about three blocks from the town center. Our room was nicely sized and very nicely appointed. I especially liked all of the wood and the furniture. Shower was good but slightly cramped by the curtain. Breakfast was good and the dining room was attractively appointed. Our innkeepers Glynnis and Michael were quite nice. In fact, Glynnis suggested an antique shop where my wife found a ring that she really liked and was her size. I would wholeheartedly recommend Beaufort House and will stay there again if we ever return to Carlingford.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicestershire
Level Contributor
407 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We had a spacious room overlooking the lough and were very well hosted by Michael and Glynnis. Freshly prepared breakfast, with strains of popular classics from the kitchen, could not have been bettered. The mid week deal put it very high for value too. Carlingford is a popular place with a good few B&Bs but you're not likely to do better than this one.

Room Tip: Go for the Lough view rooms at the front of the property. There is a road in front but it is a dead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stella317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Recently stayed for one night at Beaufort House. Out of all the bed and breakfasts we stayed at in Ireland and Northern Ireland, which were all highly recommended by Tripadvisor, this was by far the best one. Totally professional hosts who could not do enough for you and yet were in no way intrusive. Great freshly cooked breakfast. Beaufort House is in a great position in Carlingford. Carlingford itself, is interesting and has an abundance of good pubs and restaurants.Highly recommended.
Peter and Trish.

Room Tip: Room facing the lough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterTrish178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed at Beaufort House for 3 days, enjoyed fantastic breakfasts, superb views and hospitality second to none. Both Michael and Glynnis excellent hosts and cheery at all times!

Our room overlooked the Lough and was perfect. We attended a family wedding at Ghan House and were pleased that we had chosen to stay at Beaufort House. We will return!!

Room Tip: Our rooms overlooking the Lough were perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamiruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cousins Island, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Michael and Gliness Caine are without a doubt the best host's in the business! The Beaufort House in Carlingford, Ireland is just lovely. The medieval village has much to offer and the setting of this B&B is relaxing as well as beautiful! The breakfasts were delicious and Gliness greeted us with cheer every morning! Michael is a wonderful cook and they both aim to please their guests....i intend to return for a visit and, this time, will bring my husband!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed at the Beaufort Inn in Carlingford two nights in late September and thought it was fabulous. The room was very nice and comfortable and the breakfast was wonderful! They served poached salmon with an orange-citrus sauce that was to-die-for. The proprietors, Glynnis and Michael, were very helpful in suggesting sites to see and restaurants to choose for dinner. The Inn is a close walk to the village and just across the road from the bay. The rate for the room was very competitive with what we paid elsewhere. We would definitely go again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marymargaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlingford
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
659 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oystercatcher Lodge
Oystercatcher Lodge
#2 of 2 in Carlingford
66 reviews
8.5 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
MourneView Bed & Breakfast
MourneView Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 13 in Carlingford
104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belvedere House
Belvedere House
#4 of 13 in Carlingford
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ghan House
Ghan House
#1 of 4 in Carlingford
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaufort House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort House

Property: Beaufort House
Address: Beaufort House Ghan Road, Carlingford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Cooley Peninsula > Carlingford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Carlingford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Beaufort House Hotel Carlingford
Beaufort Hotel Carlingford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing