We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, food and fishing”
Review of Newport House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Newport House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Just back from 4 days salmon fishing and eating like a king. Stayed in the hotel for 3rd year in a row and cannot recommend the experience highly enough. All the staff are fantastic and John the chef is one of the best I've encountered, out performing many of the top end restaurants that I use in London.
If you want a unique and thoroughly enjoyable dinner, break or fishing escape head straight for Newport House.

Room Tip: Any room on the front has excellent views over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

Four of us had dinner at Newport House and could not have been more impressed with the food and the service. It was one of the highlights of our trip to Ireland. The food was wonderful and imaginatively prepared and served. Catherine who I believe is the manager was one of the most delightful people I have ever met. It was a perfect meal in such beautiful surroundings. Thank you Newport House!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank MhaighEo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Went for dinner and didnt stay (so cant comment on the rooms) but the restaurant is first class with a huge wine list (take your Bordeaux wine guide with you to navigate it). Ok its quite expensive but you get what you pay for. The welcome and service makes you feel like a valued regular.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank JMHGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Had evening dinner here recently and it was a lot more than just dinner, it was and experience of a life time. I never experienced anything like it before. The food was out of this world, the service was like something you would see in the movies. I could go on and on but one has to experience it to see what I am talking about.

Room Tip: I did not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We have been to Newport House a number of times over the years & recently celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary there with our fussy and vegetarian inclined children. As always the food and service were excellent. The house has a real old world feel to it and the dining room is particularly nice. Adjustments were easily made to the menu to accomodate the children. The wine list is very good ranging from nice budget wines in the Euro 30 price range to fine wines in the Euro 100++ range. The athmosphere is lovely and the tea/coffee in the drawing room at the end of a lenghty and relaxed dining experience is a nice touch.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I have been visiting Newport House on and off since 1983, usually dining there two or three times a year. I have never stayed there, as we live locally.

The extremely high standard of the cuisine and the hospitality have never varied, and in our most recent visit, it was, as always, superb.
One is welcomed into a lovely sitting room, or the cosy back bar, for one of the best pints of Guinness around, and a lovely fire.

The set menu has a full seven courses, and one is offered plenty of lovely choices. The presentation and service is impeccable, and one is made to feel very comfortable, yet all the formalities are observed.

The quality of the meal is always superb, and the wine list must be one of the best in the country.

I note a comment that the decor is dated. Newport House was restored by Kieran Thompson when he bought the establishment, and it was so superbly done then that it has not needed any real change since that time. I would not use the term "dated", but describe it as in character, and of it's time. I think it would be a great mistake to modernise a gem such as this.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Crevlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Myself and a girlfriend stayed in Newport for three nights recently, and it was a wonderful experience. From the moment we arrived, our every need was catered for by the best staff I have ever come across. They were friendly, obliging and you felt they were grateful for our custom. We ate there every night (the first night we were too tired for a full dinner, so we were served a light supper by the fire in the drawing room). The food every night was sublime, as were the breakfasts. Although the décor of the house is a little outdated, the service and attention more than compensated for this one shortfall! In fact, after 5 minutes in Newport House, it wasn't even noticeable. I would highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loveresearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.1 mi away
Hotel Newport
Hotel Newport
#1 of 2 in Newport
211 reviews
5.9 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
990 reviews
9.7 mi away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mulranny
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
927 reviews
6.0 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
1,451 reviews
5.9 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport House

Address: Clew Bay, Newport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newport
Price Range: £112 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Newport House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing