We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”
Review of Newport House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Newport House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My husband and I dined at Newport House in late July 2013. From start to finish it was a really lovely experience. The House exudes an old world charm. The staff were extremely professional and Catherine (Manager) was a charming host. The food was excellent. Everything was perfectly executed. From the starters to soup, sorbet, salad, main course (monkfish with asparagus was perfectly cooked), cheeseboard (all irish) and dessert, it was faultless. We would highly recommend Newport House!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennyC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

First time to Mayo should have gone 35 years ago. NH is a gem stuck in time thankfully. Food service and wine excellent not to mention the charming staff. Some rooms better than others.. No TV etc which was great. Went for 4 days stayed for eight. Going back in September

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mattsy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

If you are staying in the Westport region be sure to treat yourself to dinner in Newport house, it is far better than any of the food offerings in Westport town so worth the ten minute taxi trip to Newport. The menu was mouthwatering, every dish carefully planned with the best of local ingredients. Every dish we ate was faultless with amazing flavours, the chef here really knows what they are doing. The dining room maybe old fashioned for some but I found it very charming and a nice change from more commercialised trendy restaurants. The service was excellent too.

We also stayed a night in the hotel, the room was very large and bed very comfortable, our room had beautiful old sash windows. Some of the furniture is a little dated but again I found it thoroughly charming and everything was spotlessly clean. The hotel is very quiet and relaxing, excellent if you want to escape from busy city life and experience old world quaintness. The breakfast was one of the best I have ever had in a hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room in the old part of the house which was very large and had beautiful old windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy1279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We originally stayed here in 1989 then 1994 then again in 2013. We were we were astonished and delighted that it was as good as we remembered and that they had the same staff and owner. This place has exemplary food and service. We have dined in many restaurants but agree with other reviews that the chef's food is memorable, quintessentially Irish and of a very high quality - better that many top hotels. Do not expect WiFi and other modern gadgetry, instead let go and just enjoy this hotel; there are few like this left.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tottytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We recently stayed for one night at Newport House. If you are expecting a modern hotel this is not for you. If you want to feel that you are staying in a stately old manor than you've picked the perfect spot. Facing the river and a few minutes walk down the drive to the village it is in a perfect location. Although we didn't fish we would definitely do so on a future visit as the house is famous for it's salmon fishing rights to the river.
The staff at the house couldn't be more pleasant yet professional. The dinner offered many selections and the service, food and wine choices were great. After dinner tea/coffee in the drawing room with the lovely fire capped off a wonderful culinary experience. Breakfast was of the same high caliber and we would return here just to dine. Newport House has an old world charm that isn't easy to replicate. Kudos to all the staff who create a very warm and inviting environment!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank straller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Just returned from a Salmon fishing trip with three friends. Its our 4th trip ! Its not about the Salmon fishing anymore...well it is...but it isnt..its just the whole experience. Newport House is olde worlde as it should be and the staff, the food, the fishing, Newport House itself just ooouze class. Do expect flat screen TVs and stuff like that..expect high ceilings...salmon and pike in cages, fabulous artwork, deep carpets and all you would expect from a stately home.
The food was exceptional and between Catherine and Cahill and the rest of the house you just have to try it !

Room Tip: Call them up and ask !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rainbow r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Just back from 4 days salmon fishing and eating like a king. Stayed in the hotel for 3rd year in a row and cannot recommend the experience highly enough. All the staff are fantastic and John the chef is one of the best I've encountered, out performing many of the top end restaurants that I use in London.
If you want a unique and thoroughly enjoyable dinner, break or fishing escape head straight for Newport House.

Room Tip: Any room on the front has excellent views over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0 mi away
Hotel Newport
Hotel Newport
#1 of 2 in Newport
216 reviews
0 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 13 in Westport
1,012 reviews
0 mi away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mulranny
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 13 in Westport
966 reviews
0 mi away
Walsh's Bridge Inn
Walsh's Bridge Inn
#5 of 7 in Newport
29 reviews
0 mi away
Anchor House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport House

Address: Clew Bay, Newport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newport
Price Range: £110 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Newport House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing