We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Personal than a Castle”
Review of Newport House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Newport House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newport
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“More Personal than a Castle”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

A highlight of our trip to Ireland. It will not be for everyone as it is very quiet, typically "comfortable" in that country house way, and the average age is about 70. The 6-course meal is fantastic and not to be missed -- the chef accommodated my husband's dietary requirements by eliminating butter. Service is exemplary and the sommelier, with years of experience and a terrific wine cellar, guided us to an excellent bottle of wine that enhanced our meal, but did not break the bank. We chose staying in a manor house over a castle and believe we had a more personal experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IOWENI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    17
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
43
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Our second visit for three nights. This place is special. Quite apart from excellent fishing and outstanding breakfasts and dinners, the standard of service, the courteous informality of staff and the feeling that nothing is too much trouble are reminiscent of a bygone age.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We dined at Newport House recently and i can only agree with other contributors who described the experience as old world charm. Everything was perfect - food, wine and service. There was a good choice on the dinner menu , four starters, soup/sorbet, 5 main courses including three fish dishes, cheese board and a mouth watering dessert menu and tea/coffee served in the lounge in front of a real fire!! Staff very friendly and efficient. It is probably for a special occasion but we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feemar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Westmeath, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My husband and I dined at Newport House in late July 2013. From start to finish it was a really lovely experience. The House exudes an old world charm. The staff were extremely professional and Catherine (Manager) was a charming host. The food was excellent. Everything was perfectly executed. From the starters to soup, sorbet, salad, main course (monkfish with asparagus was perfectly cooked), cheeseboard (all irish) and dessert, it was faultless. We would highly recommend Newport House!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbados
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

First time to Mayo should have gone 35 years ago. NH is a gem stuck in time thankfully. Food service and wine excellent not to mention the charming staff. Some rooms better than others.. No TV etc which was great. Went for 4 days stayed for eight. Going back in September

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mattsy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

If you are staying in the Westport region be sure to treat yourself to dinner in Newport house, it is far better than any of the food offerings in Westport town so worth the ten minute taxi trip to Newport. The menu was mouthwatering, every dish carefully planned with the best of local ingredients. Every dish we ate was faultless with amazing flavours, the chef here really knows what they are doing. The dining room maybe old fashioned for some but I found it very charming and a nice change from more commercialised trendy restaurants. The service was excellent too.

We also stayed a night in the hotel, the room was very large and bed very comfortable, our room had beautiful old sash windows. Some of the furniture is a little dated but again I found it thoroughly charming and everything was spotlessly clean. The hotel is very quiet and relaxing, excellent if you want to escape from busy city life and experience old world quaintness. The breakfast was one of the best I have ever had in a hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room in the old part of the house which was very large and had beautiful old windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy1279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We originally stayed here in 1989 then 1994 then again in 2013. We were we were astonished and delighted that it was as good as we remembered and that they had the same staff and owner. This place has exemplary food and service. We have dined in many restaurants but agree with other reviews that the chef's food is memorable, quintessentially Irish and of a very high quality - better that many top hotels. Do not expect WiFi and other modern gadgetry, instead let go and just enjoy this hotel; there are few like this left.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tottytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.1 mi away
Hotel Newport
Hotel Newport
#1 of 2 in Newport
191 reviews
9.7 mi away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mulranny
957 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
920 reviews
6.0 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
1,364 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ardmore Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport House

Property: Newport House
Address: Clew Bay, Newport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Newport House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing