We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, welcoming, and great grub....”
Review of The Grainne Uaile

The Grainne Uaile
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, Pub, Soups, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friendly, welcoming, and great grub....”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Popped in Saturday midday for a bite after a local celebration the night before, what a lovely location in a beautiful village. We sat outside and it was really warm. The hospitality we received was outstanding and the food was great, decent wings, crab claws to die for and great chicken fillet burgers..
The guys got great burgers with fried eggs(special request). Very reasonable as well for 5 of us, it rightly set us up for our 4hour trip back home.. Will so be returning to this part of Mayo and can't understand why I have missed it until now..

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank RoboCoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    55
    17
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ardee, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“lovely meal on a lovely day”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Passing through Newport and stopped here for a bite to eat. We had a prawn salad and the homemade burger. Absolutely lovely food which was much better than what you would expect for pub grub. Reasonably priced. Sat outside on a sunny may day and enjoyed our time here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luke s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wangaratta, victoria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous meals and atmosphere”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed in Newport at the Anchor House and went to the Grainne Uaile the first night. Went again the second because the meal was so good. Great value and a lovely atmosphere for a pub. Highly recommend

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mmgreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
166 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Not just Pub Grub”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stopped in for lunch expecting usual pub grub but was totally thrilled with the variety of food offered. Had a wrap with Brie cheese that was better than any wrap I have had anywhere. Obviously a chef with imagination and talent. Staff friendly and the pub itself is all that one would expect from a true Irish pub. Great location across from the water and parking available. What more could one ask for a great lunch in Ireland. Only sorry we were just passing through as I would like to have been able to try the dinner menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Micki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious homemade tasty top quality food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I ate on two separate occasions at this restaurant by recommendation and I was not disappointed. I thoroughly enjoyed 3 courses on both nights. The food was cooked from stratch, from fresh local ingredients and was just so tasty and delicious, it was just divine. From the starters to the desserts I could not find one fault, truly lip smacking yumminess. It was possibly the best food I have eaten in the West of Ireland and in Ireland for a long time. Fantastic. The atmosphere was just wonderful, cosy, friendly (strangers chatting to each other about the wonderful food they were tasting), and the bar/ restaurant was filled with happy locals and tourists. The service was prompt and the waitress was happy, helpful and polite as were the bar staff. A little pricey some may say but worth every penny. This is top class Irish food at its best. Would highly recommend this restaurant above any other eating establishment in Newport. A must visit for all. I hope to return again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 38Mac38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grainne Uaile also viewed

Newport, County Mayo
 

Been to The Grainne Uaile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing