We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Yellow House is lovely!!!!”

The Yellow House B&B
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Yellow House B&B
Ranked #7 of 18 Navan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The Yellow House is lovely!!!!”
Reviewed 28 March 2011

We spent the last night of our holiday at the Yellow House and it was just like home. Great Irish Breakfast to start the day! The house is beautiful inside and out, nice quiet area but still close to town. Hilda was so helpful to make sure we saw everything on our list of sites. I will make sure to spend the first few nights of my next holiday in Ireland at the Yellow House to pick up where i left off!!! Thank you Hilda see you soon!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    7
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
11
24
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We have stayed at many B&Bs in the ten years we have been visiting Ireland and this is right up there in the top 3. The rooms are lovely, very comfortable and cozy. Had a very good night's sleep ! Convenient to the village, walk there in 10-15 minutes. Hilda Vance is an excellent host and the food is excellent too. MOst of all, when we left in the morning to drive to Dublin airport during rush hour, Hilda gave us superb directions on back roads, avoiding the carriageway and we go to the airport in less than an hour ! HIghly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerrygirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

The hostess was very welcoming. This BnB is a home away from home, a BnB with all the luxuries of a hotel. The rates are very competitive. Breakfast was delicious. Rooms are very comfortable. Late check out time and flexibility. Excellent location - on the Dublin side of Navan, next to the Dublin Road(though very quiet). Highly recommendable. 4 star BnB

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_Galway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We were on vacation in Ireland at our friends wedding here in august.

I guess i didn't have high expectations about the B&B, cause the rooms didn't cost more, but it was a very nice surprice to experience the great atmosphere.

The host, Hilda, is very helpful and nice, and makes you feel like you are visiting friends, without disturbing your privacy.

The rooms vere perfect and charming and the beds were great to sleep in. We were in Ireland for 5 days staying at different hotels, and then that one night in this B&B, and i must admit that everything was much better here, than it was in the other hotels.

Just the fact that Hilda asked us how we would like your breakfast and that she actually makes it perfectly just like i like it. We were 6 people staying there and we all liked different things.

Everything seemed clean and nice and we will definitely go there again if we go to Ireland.

I don't have anything bad to say about this place and we were all very sad that we hadn't booked all the nights at this place instead of in the hotels.

We really loved it...

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magnus1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston, tx
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Based on the glowing reviews, I expected to enjoy my stay at The Yellow House B&B. Hilda, the proprietor, is very nice and truly tries to be helpful, so I appreciated her efforts. Although, she did send us into town for what she said was a 10 min walk to a particular pub for dinner - took 25 minutes to get there. Maybe she's a fast walker (?), and really, another 15 min of walking never hurt anyone, but still.... The room just wasn't as clean as we expected. The lamp shades had stains and were very dusty, with plenty of cobwebs around the room and lamps, and spiders near by (I killed one right by my mattress). The room had a strong food odor which wasn't pleasant. Figured out the next morning why this was. The greasy smoke from breakfast rose in the house (the bedroom was on the second level) and I think it just permeated everything. About breakfast - it was decent, but not great. It is a nice spread, to be fair to Hilda. She leaves nothing out. Finally, the towels we had looked like they had the life beat out of the fibers. They were functional, but on the opposite side of plush. Like nothing I've ever seen.

Ugh, I hate giving bad reviews, especially when I like the proprietors, and I know they try. The location is great for getting to Newgrange and other sights in the area, so that is a plus.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suz_work2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2010

My Bro-in law and I stayed here on while in town for a concert. Great B&B with large bright home that's easy to find and a short walk into Navan Centre. Comfortable beds in a large room (#1) and had a great sleep. Hilda was warm and ensured we had any local info needed. The breakfast was great - the full Irish spread along with fruit, muesli etc. Something to note: the entire breakfast was nice and hot - how often do you get a cooked breaky and all or part of it is lukewarm. Maybe a small detail - but one appreciated by me... thanks Hilda.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperKurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Superb location, quiet and comfy place, excellent friendly proprietor (thanks again, Hilda) and to top it off, your stay comes with a rich and hearty breakfast. Ideal for stopover or a longer visit to Navan. We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sztibor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Navan
0.8 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
632 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
854 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ardboyne Hotel
Ardboyne Hotel
#3 of 4 in Navan
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
0.4 mi away
Ma Dwyer's Guest House
0.8 mi away
Athlumney Manor B&B
Athlumney Manor B&B
#1 of 18 in Navan
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yellow House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yellow House B&B

Property: The Yellow House B&B
Address: 1 Springfield Glen | Dublin Road, Navan 0, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Navan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Navan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yellow House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in its own grounds with antiques throughout. This quiet location with plenty of off road parking, is only 2 minutes walk from the bus that takes you to the Arrival / Departure building at Dublin Airport, or Dublin City every 15 minutes. Within a short walk to town centre or an easy commute to all the Heritage Sites in the Boyne Valley area. Great choice for breakfast with home cooking a specialty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Yellow House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yellow House Bed And Breakfast
The Yellow House Hotel Navan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing