We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in the Boyne Valley”
Review of Balrath Courtyard

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Navan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Balrath Courtyard
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We attended Slane with a group of 18 people. Upon our arrival Friday evening The Cottages were just stunning, Freshly baked scones on arrival with homemade jam. Brown Bread, Eggs, Fresh Orange Juice, Milk and Cereal for the morning. Frances also was kind enough to light our stove upon arrival. Each of the living ares, bedrooms and bathrooms are tastefully decorated and give you a real homely feeling.

I would highly recommend Balrath for groups because it is secure and you each can sit out in the garden and enjoy easy access to your neighboring cottage.

Frances is a very friendly and kind host, she has vast knowledge about the local area and is more than happy to share the story of balrath and all its history and heritage. She takes extra care and pride it every task.

The accommodation was also extremely reasonable for the comfort/kindness and service we received. You would not get it in some of the highest rated hotels in Ireland.

I think it is an excellent location just 30 minutes from Dublin for International guests and to escape city life in the true historic countryside of Ireland.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ItaG1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2011

I had the Pleasure of staying in Balrath Courtyard for a Hen weekend for a good friend. When booking it i was a little bit worried that some of our guests would be upset that they did not have a Hotel Room with all the trimmings of a cooked breakfast the following morning. Everyone was in Awe at the facilities and decor of the cottages. We had 3 cottages for the weekend and it was made even better when Frances the owner told us there was no rush out the Sunday morning. A hotel you must vacate your room by 10.30 in some cases. Everyone was in agreement that this was much better than a hotel and several of the ladies spoke about coming back for a romantic weekend with their partners again.

We had an activity morning the the Causey farm, and then back to get ready to go to town. Frances the Balrath Courtyard owner arranged, Food, transport and night club passes for us. She left nothing out.

The Cottages were just fab, Freshly baked scones on arrival with homemade jam. Brown Bread, Eggs, Fresh Orange Juice, Milk and Cereal for the morning. Nothing was forgotten.

Each cottage linked into a wonderful garden at the rear where all you could hear was the sounds of birds and the smell of flowers.

The kitchens and living areas were finished to a very high standard, better than my own home!! Granite worktops, belfast sinks, the usual cooker, microwave, fridge freezer, and a Dishwasher which made it very handy. Leather sofas, and TV and DVD player in the lounge area made relaxation in the evening really easy, with a fully functional fire which was set if we required it. Some of the cottages had solid fuel stoves. The bedrooms all boasted the finest of bed linen, throws and fine decor. The beds were all very comfortable and everyone said they slept and rested well.

I do feel that the photos on the website do not do enough justice to this property, it is amazing, and to die for.
Its a little hidden jem off of N2, just 40 mins from Dublin.

The weekend was brilliant, I do think that if we had just stayed in a hotel it would have been just average, but the Balrath Courtyard really made the weekend, it was a nice way for everyone to catch up and relax.

ONE LAST IMPORTANT POINT... IT WAS GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY, NOT AS EXPENSIVE AS YOU MIGHT THINK!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank golemma79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Our stay at Balrath Courtyard was the high point of our time in Ireland. Everything about the cottage was first-class from the moment we arrived. From the fresh-out-of-the-oven scones with homemade jam set out to welcome us, to the stunning gardens adjoining the cottage, the luxurious bedding, the immaculate condition of the interior, the smell of the turf fire - it was everything we had hoped for and more.
We have been to Ireland several times, and stayed in everything from high-end hotels to a variety of self-catering situations. Balrath Courtyard was, without a doubt, the loveliest, most well-equipped and most reasonably-priced accommodation we have ever found. The owners were kind and wonderfully thoughtful, and bent over backwards to anticipate our every possible desire. We can't wait to return.
I cannot recommend Balrath Courtyard highly enough!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DanceFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Just returned from my third visit here with my girlfriend. We seem to be working our way around each property. Each of these properties contains everything you'll need for a self-catering holiday, dishwasher, cooker, TV, DVD player, and an enclosed back garden.

The property itself is about a 15 minutes drive from Drogheda and Ashbourne and only 35 minutes from Dublin City Centre. The Boyne Valley is on your doorstep with Slane, the Battle of the Boyne Site, Hill of Tara and Newgrange only a short distance away. There are many good restaurants and shops close by.

Perfect location for a getaway with family, friends of loved one.

Can't wait for my next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank harry180702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Second time staying here and afraid to say we will never return. We spent a week here in the summer with family, in fact there was almost 7 adults for the full week. The cooker was always on, as was the heating and the dishwasher. The price for the electricity was €25. This was a reasonable price.

However, when we returned in October it was just the two of us for the week. We rarely had the heating on as we used the wood fire. We made dinner twice and spent very little time in the property. We nearly died when we were charged €40 for the week. Although we had a great holiday this took the shine off it and we felt a little bit cheated.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank harry180702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Navan hotels
3.3 mi away
Decoy Country Cottages
7.6 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
675 reviews
6.4 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Ardboyne Hotel
Ardboyne Hotel
#3 of 4 in Navan
382 reviews
7.1 mi away
Ma Dwyer's Guest House
12.6 mi away
Teltown House B&B
Teltown House B&B
#5 of 19 in Navan
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balrath Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balrath Courtyard

Address: Balrath House | Balrath, Navan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Navan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Navan
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing