We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil country experience at a great price!”
Review of Balrath Courtyard

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Navan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Balrath Courtyard
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tranquil country experience at a great price!”
Reviewed 28 June 2011

My family and I came to Ireland from Boston. My fiance has family in County Meath, but this was my first trip. We spent 4 nights at Balrath and were extremely pleased! Balrath Courtyard is an old, historic property with modern renovations. The rooms have all been created out of the existing structures, and done so in a tasteful and artitstic way. "Self catering" is not a typical American classification, but now I understand. .We stayed in the Coach house, a converted barn, basically. It was beautiful! 3 bedrooms, two baths, full kitchen, microwave, w/d, coffee maker with all the supplies, the whole nine yards. It was like renting an apartment, which is much more than we expected. We had privacy, it was quiet, extremely peaceful, and we were incredibly relaxed during our entire visit. The owners, the O'Brien family, were lovely, caring, friendly people who catered to our needs, yet didn't intrude on our space. I am a big fan of Lonely Planet and I felt that Balrath Courtyard is exactly the kind of place Lonely Planet would highlight, and I intend to write to them to say exactly that.

So if you need a place to stay while seeing all the sights around Dublin in County Meath (Slane Castle, Battle of the Boyne, Bru na Boinne, Trim Castle, Tara Hill, etc), this is your place. As an American, I was quite surprised at all this location had to offer at a price that was much better than the other hotels at which we stayed during our trip. Definitely check it out!

Room Tip: Check out the Coach House, esp if in a group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boston-travelguru42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    5
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
15
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We attended Slane with a group of 18 people. Upon our arrival Friday evening The Cottages were just stunning, Freshly baked scones on arrival with homemade jam. Brown Bread, Eggs, Fresh Orange Juice, Milk and Cereal for the morning. Frances also was kind enough to light our stove upon arrival. Each of the living ares, bedrooms and bathrooms are tastefully decorated and give you a real homely feeling.

I would highly recommend Balrath for groups because it is secure and you each can sit out in the garden and enjoy easy access to your neighboring cottage.

Frances is a very friendly and kind host, she has vast knowledge about the local area and is more than happy to share the story of balrath and all its history and heritage. She takes extra care and pride it every task.

The accommodation was also extremely reasonable for the comfort/kindness and service we received. You would not get it in some of the highest rated hotels in Ireland.

I think it is an excellent location just 30 minutes from Dublin for International guests and to escape city life in the true historic countryside of Ireland.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ItaG1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickmacross, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

I had the Pleasure of staying in Balrath Courtyard for a Hen weekend for a good friend. When booking it i was a little bit worried that some of our guests would be upset that they did not have a Hotel Room with all the trimmings of a cooked breakfast the following morning. Everyone was in Awe at the facilities and decor of the cottages. We had 3 cottages for the weekend and it was made even better when Frances the owner told us there was no rush out the Sunday morning. A hotel you must vacate your room by 10.30 in some cases. Everyone was in agreement that this was much better than a hotel and several of the ladies spoke about coming back for a romantic weekend with their partners again.

We had an activity morning the the Causey farm, and then back to get ready to go to town. Frances the Balrath Courtyard owner arranged, Food, transport and night club passes for us. She left nothing out.

The Cottages were just fab, Freshly baked scones on arrival with homemade jam. Brown Bread, Eggs, Fresh Orange Juice, Milk and Cereal for the morning. Nothing was forgotten.

Each cottage linked into a wonderful garden at the rear where all you could hear was the sounds of birds and the smell of flowers.

The kitchens and living areas were finished to a very high standard, better than my own home!! Granite worktops, belfast sinks, the usual cooker, microwave, fridge freezer, and a Dishwasher which made it very handy. Leather sofas, and TV and DVD player in the lounge area made relaxation in the evening really easy, with a fully functional fire which was set if we required it. Some of the cottages had solid fuel stoves. The bedrooms all boasted the finest of bed linen, throws and fine decor. The beds were all very comfortable and everyone said they slept and rested well.

I do feel that the photos on the website do not do enough justice to this property, it is amazing, and to die for.
Its a little hidden jem off of N2, just 40 mins from Dublin.

The weekend was brilliant, I do think that if we had just stayed in a hotel it would have been just average, but the Balrath Courtyard really made the weekend, it was a nice way for everyone to catch up and relax.

ONE LAST IMPORTANT POINT... IT WAS GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY, NOT AS EXPENSIVE AS YOU MIGHT THINK!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank golemma79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Our stay at Balrath Courtyard was the high point of our time in Ireland. Everything about the cottage was first-class from the moment we arrived. From the fresh-out-of-the-oven scones with homemade jam set out to welcome us, to the stunning gardens adjoining the cottage, the luxurious bedding, the immaculate condition of the interior, the smell of the turf fire - it was everything we had hoped for and more.
We have been to Ireland several times, and stayed in everything from high-end hotels to a variety of self-catering situations. Balrath Courtyard was, without a doubt, the loveliest, most well-equipped and most reasonably-priced accommodation we have ever found. The owners were kind and wonderfully thoughtful, and bent over backwards to anticipate our every possible desire. We can't wait to return.
I cannot recommend Balrath Courtyard highly enough!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanceFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Just returned from my third visit here with my girlfriend. We seem to be working our way around each property. Each of these properties contains everything you'll need for a self-catering holiday, dishwasher, cooker, TV, DVD player, and an enclosed back garden.

The property itself is about a 15 minutes drive from Drogheda and Ashbourne and only 35 minutes from Dublin City Centre. The Boyne Valley is on your doorstep with Slane, the Battle of the Boyne Site, Hill of Tara and Newgrange only a short distance away. There are many good restaurants and shops close by.

Perfect location for a getaway with family, friends of loved one.

Can't wait for my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harry180702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Second time staying here and afraid to say we will never return. We spent a week here in the summer with family, in fact there was almost 7 adults for the full week. The cooker was always on, as was the heating and the dishwasher. The price for the electricity was €25. This was a reasonable price.

However, when we returned in October it was just the two of us for the week. We rarely had the heating on as we used the wood fire. We made dinner twice and spent very little time in the property. We nearly died when we were charged €40 for the week. Although we had a great holiday this took the shine off it and we felt a little bit cheated.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harry180702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Navan
8.9 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,434 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ardboyne Hotel
Ardboyne Hotel
#3 of 4 in Navan
351 reviews
6.7 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Conyngham Arms Hotel
6.4 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
846 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ma Dwyer's Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balrath Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balrath Courtyard

Property: Balrath Courtyard
Address: Balrath House | Balrath, Navan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Navan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Navan
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing