We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cottages and a warm welcome”
Review of Balrath Courtyard

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Navan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Balrath Courtyard
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed in Balrath the night of a wedding nearby and were very pleasantly surprised by the accommodation. The cottage we were in was cozy and sizeable and the shower was excellent. The array of breakfast items was great too.

Frances and her husband were very welcoming. It was only a shame we were there for such a short time. We will definitely return if we are ever in the area again!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Balrath Courtyard
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

I recently stayed in Balrath Courtyard in August with my family the night before my wedding. We booked two cottages for my family and some close friends so that we could stay close to the wedding ceremony venue. I can honestly say that we had a lovely stay! Our hostess, Frances was very friendly and welcoming. We were provided with milk, juice, cereal and some homemade scones on arrival in each cottage. This was a lovely touch and much appreciated by us.

The cottages were adorable, clean and cosy. Plenty of space for all our belongings. The gardens were absolutely beautiful and perfect for some photos on the morning of the wedding.

I would highly recommend Balrath Courtyard...cosy cottages in beautiful surroundings. Perfect!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Hedwig84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

A mistake was made in our booking by Balrath & Co.(we have evidence to support this), we had booked ground floor accommodation but instead were allocated upstairs bedrooms (person could not negociate stairs). After a delay we were given an apartment with 1 bedroom downstairs, 1 upstairs and a loft area, which worked fine. After arriving back home we were texted to say we needed to pay for the privilidge of an extra bed! We did not agree to this but a few days later the money was deducted from our credit card without our agreement. Intrestingly when we were in Balrath we wanted to pay Balrath & Co. using a credit card - this was not accepted - only cash would do. Same applied to the occupants of two other apartments, they had to pay in cash aswell!

There is also a lot of unannouced visits to the apartment - you will feel under siege. All in all a visit to Balrath Courtyard leaves a sour taste. Be warned.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank MaureenS583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We were attending a wedding in Ballymagarvey Village and stayed in Balrath courtyard. There were 2 couples staying. The owner insisted that we pay up front for the accommodation. 'Breakfast' contents were left for us which consisted of 6 small eggs, small packet of sliced brown bread, half used carton of milk, jam which was smeared down the side of the small container, small amount of cereal and a few scones. I had to rinse out the kettle about 15 times as it was covered in lime particles. The accommodation was very expensive and attention to detail was lacking. Both couples were very disappointed and felt we were totally ripped off. we were sorry we hadn't staying in the Pillo hotel. You live and learn!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Fitzgerald60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday staying in Balrath Courtyard in Co.Meath. The accommodation was beautiful and was everything we could have asked for. We were a family of four with 2 boys of 10 and 7 and both boys loved "our cottage" and are keen to go back again. We were visiting family in the nearby village of Duleek so this was perfectly situated for us. The owners, Frances and Ray were wonderfully welcoming and have done a magnificent job of lovingly restoring these buildings. The gardens were just breathtaking! We will hopefully be booking again for next year!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

My husband and I both spent a night here as we were attending a wedding in Ballymcgarvey. It is a very charming lttle spot with friendly personable hosts. The cottages themselves were spotless and decorated in an old fashioned charming and tasteful manner. Stunning grounds too maintained by the Landscaper owner. The highlight was the breakfast pack which is outlined on the website. This was ideal for us as we had a late night at the wedding and could get up at our own leisure the next morning and consume and leave at our own pace. The homemade scones were gorgeous and we were brought extra by France on expressing our appreciation. Tip: bring some whipped cream,this would have been the icing on the cake. They are situated in a rural area, not a standout tourist destination, but only a half hour from Dublin none the less. A lot to reccommend. There were cheaper options in the area but this ticked all the boxes and it felt good to be supporting a small local labour of love!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DublinTansey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We went to a wedding here.The village itself is beautiful and the accommodation (the cottages are spotless clean and offer all amenities Coffee tea etc. The only criticism I would have is the breakfast is not very well organized and we were waiting a Long time.Also there was quite a lot of noise during the night from on of the outhouses but when we highlighted this to the manager he gave us a discount straight away which was nice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank audskennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Navan
8.9 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,538 reviews
6.4 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
897 reviews
6.7 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Conyngham Arms Hotel
8.0 mi away
Tankardstown
Tankardstown
#1 of 3 in Slane
318 reviews
3.5 mi away
Decoy Country Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balrath Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balrath Courtyard

Address: Balrath House | Balrath, Navan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Navan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Navan
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing