We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful country location”

Bothar Alainn House B&B
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bothar Alainn House B&B
Ranked #10 of 19 Navan B&B and Inns
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Beautiful country location”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This was a lovely country home with comfortable, spacious rooms. Within walking distance of a pub that serves adequate if not outstanding dinner. The location provides quick easy access to the Dublin airport. The innkeeper was charming and had a witty sense of humor. Fresh brewed coffee was a nice addition to her well prepared breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sbow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have stayed with Josephine each of our four trips to Ireland. I don't know what I can add to my previous reviews other than to say it gets better every year. Always a very warm welcome and a pleasure to stay here and see Josephine again.
I should point out the excellent location of this B&B. We use it as our 'first and last' stay in Ireland as it is within a very easy drive of Dublin airport. Those crazy airline times get us into Dublin about 5:30AM. "Our room" is always available early to crash after a long flight. And it is our choice for our last night as well as it is an easy drive of about 45 minutes to catch our departing flight.
It is also centrally located to so many sites--Newgrange, Trim, Lough Crewe, etc.
You can't go wrong staying here!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kilted2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2013

One of the highlights of my first trip to Ireland was my stay at Bothar Alainn. Even Kathleen, my companion on this trip, a dear friend and a veteran traveler to Ireland, said we hit it out of the ballpark selecting our first B&B. The property is beautiful, less than an hour from Dublin City, and convenient to all sites on the Irish Heritage Trail in County Meath. The real treasure here, though, is the hostess, Josephine McKeigue and her wonderful family. Josie took great care of us, listened and laughed with us about our travel adventures, and breathed true meaning into "Caed Mille Failte." We ended up spending four of our seven nights here, and were sad to leave. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GailMarie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

I only wish we could have stayed longer. This was our last stop (and convenient for the morning trip to the airport) which affirmed all the best of Ireland. Warm, funny and friendly hosts, helpful with directions and the most yummy breakfast despite the fact that we left early in the morning for our flight! I got to be a real local wearing a bright green vest for our last night out. Thanks for a perfect last night in Ireland!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntley, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Very clean accommodations and wonderful service. Josephine was a very gracious hostess and assisted us in planning our visits to the local attractions. We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed each night followed by a generous breakfast served in the dining room. We felt as if we were "one of the family" while staying in this very beautiful home.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPWui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We have been there in August 2013.
The place was clean and tidy. For us, it was in a strategic location since it allowed us to visit both Dublin, to the south, and the neolithic monuments (Newgrange etc.), to the north.

The owner gave us useful suggestions regarding which places to visit and when.

Not exactly the atmosphere we were looking for, since we prefer more secluded places, but still a good option for tourists (it is a 30-60 min. drive from all the major attractions of Co. Meath and Dublin).

Overall: fair.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Josephine is a wonderful hostess and we had a comfortable stay here. We ended up arriving past 7 pm due to road closures and getting lost taking detours and trying to find the road to Trim. She was totally understanding (we did call her several times to keep her posted on our expected arrival time). When we told her our detour stories, she laughed with us. Staying here was like staying at the house of a close friend or family member, it was that comfortable and inviting. Because of my difficulties in finding my way driving through Navan, Josephine drew me a map to get to our next destination (Newgrange)...was great! I didn't get lost and even successfully used the map again when we decided to return to the area a couple days later to visit Trim Castle.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SadgeTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Navan
1.3 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
596 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ardboyne Hotel
Ardboyne Hotel
#3 of 4 in Navan
341 reviews
6.6 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ma Dwyer's Guest House
1.5 mi away
Athlumney Manor B&B
Athlumney Manor B&B
#1 of 19 in Navan
351 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ash Cottage
Ash Cottage
#6 of 19 in Navan
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bothar Alainn House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bothar Alainn House B&B

Property: Bothar Alainn House B&B
Address: Balreask New, Trim Road, Navan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Navan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Navan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bothar Alainn House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing