We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”

The Central Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 69 Restaurants in Navan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Gastro Pub & Restaurants with a strong emphasis on good food, craft beers and live entertainment seven nights a week. Open for breakfast, brunch, lunch and dinner, with unique private party areas that are available to hire for any function. Winner of the Overall National Bar of the Year Award 2014 and Best Modern Irish Cooking in a Bar Award 2014 at the Bar of the Year Awards in October 2014. Winner of the Restaurants Association of Ireland (RAI) Best Gastro Pub in Meath Award both in 2013 and 2014.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were passing through Navan in July and this restaurant was recommended by Tripadvisor - what a great place! We're a family with young kids and I have to say that the staff went over and above to make them feel welcome. The food was delicious and reasonably priced and the kids ate everything up. If we lived in or near Navan then this would be a regular haunt for us.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
20 Thank AH0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    571
    198
    87
    36
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best gastro pub in Ireland !!!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Visited as part of a party of 15 people,had a great meal,fantastic service and great wine ,salsa band playing on the terrace excellent,would definitely recommend ,can't wait to come back !!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
20 Thank Marcoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, excellent service”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Really friendly welcoming staff, ordered steak sandwich with mushroom sauce which was just perfect, other ordered Thai coconut curry which she devoured, the flavours were out of this World! Chips are very nicely presented in tin cans! Chips are also very tasty. Excellent portion size. Only cons would be it's a tad pricey and dessert menu needs a revamp. The chocolate brownie was tiny and over heated. Bigger and more varied dessert menus please. Atmosphere is brilliant with funky decor. Caesar Salad on second visit was very nice, again, great portion size! Will be back. Looking forward to trying out the craft beer list!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
18 Thank Travelleroftheworld7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mixed reviewa”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Broke my tooth on the pork belly here on one visit. I had a bad filling but ruined my meal. My wife has been more than I have and despite the lovely setting of the restaurant has been underwhelmed 3/4 times. The bars are a different story. Any time I have visited for drinks I have had a good evening, some lovely bars spotted all over the place offering different atmospheres.

Helpful?
5 Thank Emmetd85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bit disappointed”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Food was expensive and Slow service in bar area. Don't think I would go back for bar food. Nice decor

Helpful?
5 Thank Séamus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Central Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Navan, County Meath
Navan, County Meath
 
Navan, County Meath
 
Kells, County Meath
 

Been to The Central Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing