We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did a job but that's about it”
Review of Newgrange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Newgrange Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Navan
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,263 reviews
293 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 660 helpful votes
“Did a job but that's about it”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Bang in the centre of Navan I was a repeat visitor after an 8 year absence.

Could not see any changes since last there and, as a consequence, it is a little tatty around the edges.

Bed was not too comfortable and one of the 2 windows in room would not close properly meaning a little noise from the street below. Thin small towels in bathroom and a tap that only offered up hot water which was not great for brushing teeth.

Staff were OK but not the friendliest ever encountered in Ireland.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleep007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaVIreland, Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear sleep007,

In response to your recent review the exterior of the hotel has been painted 3 times, the lobby was refurbished last year and all of the banqueting rooms have been recently refurbished. Our reception staff are available at all times to address any issues our customers may have. If you required more towels our housekeeping staff would have been happy to supply additional ones. Also if you had contacted reception, our maintenance department would have been more than happy to resolve your issue with the windows. Our staff are noted far and wide for their friendliness.

Regards,

Emma Vaughan
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    152
    69
    32
    32
See reviews for
140
171
24
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
165 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed overnight at the hotel. It has a traditional frontage set in the centre of Navan, but behind is a very large hotel tastefully appointed and maintained in old style design. Rooms are large, spacious and inviting. Bed and pillows were great. Pressure of water in shower was sensational. Staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive. We attended a wedding here and it was managed to a very high standard. The food was first class. Beware: the car park is very challenging - really narrow and tight spaces.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaVIreland, Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear IrishAustralian,

It was a pleasure to read your review and such positive comments regarding our hotel. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to the relevant departments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Newgrange Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Emma Vaughan
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navan, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed last weekend for a wedding.cant praise the hotel enough for the standard of service that we received.food,function room and rooms were all superb and I would highly recommend the Newgrange for weddings.I will definitely be back

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colum46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaVIreland, Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Colum46,

It is our pleasure to hear your wonderful comments regarding your stay in our hotel. Recommendations are a testament of satisfied customers so we really appreciate your valued feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Emma Vaughan
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had a group of 30 people from Norway in for lunch in Rowley's Pub and should say, the meal and the service were spot-on. The group was very well looked after, the food was lovely, excellent service and professional staff. Everybody in the group enjoyed it.
Would definitely bring more groups and would suggest Rowley's to others.

Laila
Aspects of Ireland

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaVIreland, Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thanks Laila for taking the time out to post your review. We are delighted to hear that your group was so well looked after by the team in Rowley's Bar. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Emma Vaughan
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

we, have just returned from a three night stay at the Newgrange and found everything to be satisfactory, all the staff were very polite and courteous .
I had emailed and asked for a quiet room and that is exactly what we received and was equipped with everything we needed and was clean with a nice comfortable bed.
As our stay was midweek the bars in the town were quiet but the bar in the hotel was generally busy afternoon and night.
The breakfast was very good with a wide range of cereals and fruit to serve yourself and the cooked breakfast was also good and did not take long to be served once ordered.
Overall we had a very enjoyable stay in Navan and will certainly not choose anywhere else but the Newgrange on our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keitho66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaVIreland, Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thanks Keitho66 for taking time out to post your review. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,


Emma Vaughan
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meath
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I visit this hotel regularly usually for business but with family also and always get a warm welcome.
I use it as a meeting venue where I meet with coleagues some of whom would be staying for a night or two. I also recommend this hotel to overseas visitors who need accommodation while on business here as I can be confident they will be treated well .
I always get positive feedback in relation to the accomodation,meals,friendly and obliging staff.
This is a consistent and well run hotel and I will continue to recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick797_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaVIreland, Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Patrick797_13,

Thank you very much for your valued feedback. We are delighted to hear that our hotel is held in such high esteem and that you regularly utilise the hotel and it's facilities. We look forward to returning to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Emma Vaughan
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navan, Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My husband booked a room for a business friend on Tues 22 April for 1 night .He was coming from London and did not book in until 9.30 pm .He asked to get something to eat ,but was abruptly told kitchen closed at 9.00 pm .my husband complained but was informed what did he expect it was only a 3 star hotel .they couldn't even make him a sandwich .very poor customer service . My husband will not be bringing any other business to this hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaVIreland, Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Barbara M,

I was disappointed to receive your recent review. I have spoken to the staff members on duty on the night in question and they have assured me that they advised of alternative restaurants in the town to accommodate your guests late arrival. Had your guest requested a sandwich we would have happily provided some. We have on many occasions in the past provided them to our customers after our restaurant has closed.

Kind regards,


Business Development Manager
Emma Vaughan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Navan
0.9 mi away
Ardboyne Hotel
Ardboyne Hotel
#3 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
7.9 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
3.8 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Castle Arch Hotel
Castle Arch Hotel
#3 of 3 in Trim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
8.1 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
14.0 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newgrange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newgrange Hotel

Property: Newgrange Hotel
Address: Bridge St., Navan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Navan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Navan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Newgrange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newgrange Hotel is a luxurious and enchanting destination in the heart of Navan. Set in one of the most historical and beautiful spots in the country, guests from around the globe are invited to experience the old world charm of luxury hotel accommodation in Ireland. Fused with modern amenities, our award winning 3 star hotel offers a lavish retreat just 30 minutes outside the cosmopolitan city of Dublin. Our three star deluxe hotel offers 62 en suite bedrooms all spaciously decorated and designed with guest comfort and tranquility in mind. Newgrange, part of a set of family run hotels in Meath, is not only ideal as a holiday retreat but is also widely used as a meeting and event location due to its reputation as a sophisticated and well run establishment. We hold wedding receptions and civil ceremonies and our one wedding per day policy ensures the bridal party is never left wanting by our skilled and attentive team. With facilities for meetings, banquets and celebrations, we've got everything needed to throw the party of the year. Corporate companies looking for hotels near Dublin that boast a tranquil and elegant country atmosphere are able to enjoy business meetings and conferences at Newgrange too.Indulge in Irish hospitality and scrumptious fare at the in-house Bridge Brassiere Restaurant, enjoy something light and delectable at Ruxtons Cafe or grab a drink and unwind at Rowley's Pub. When the mood strikes in colder months, relax in our library lounge by a warm open fire and browse our selection of classics. When staying at this popular spot you'll never be short on entertainment, leisure or historical tales, as there is much to see and do in and around the area. Named after the ancient monument at Newgrange just 15 minutes away, Newgrange hotel boasts the ideal mix of stylish allure and modern magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Newgrange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newgrange Hotel Navan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing