We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Happy Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Newgrange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newgrange Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Navan
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
285 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“A Happy Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

I am biased and although I have seen changes of staff and surroundings over the years I have stopped here ,it's lovely and clean and a really great breakfast room the ladies are cheery and hard working , there was a bus in and the passengers were like a cloud of locusts cereals ,fruit ,pastries just about everything went but soon replaced with a smile
Good hot breakfast too all served with a smile
Had dinner in the Restaurant too with friends again good service with such lovely staff and all three of us had really good food the potato cakes should really be called fish cakes top class
Management are gradually brightening the place up and the front of the Hotel really does look classy
Rooms always have good fresh linen and lovely fluffy towels
This Hotel is a great place at really good prices
I rarely use the bar but when I do it's always a great welcome and lots of good music
I cannot personally comment of the Beer but friends tell me the Guinness is good my Club Orange is always ok too
Thanks Newgrange Staff for my home from home

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank sherbert852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaVIreland, Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear sherbert852,

We really appreciate the feedback from such an experienced contributor. As you mentioned we have recently renovated the exterior of the hotel which is receiving huge compliments. I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to all of the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards,


Emma Vaughan
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    149
    68
    32
    30
See reviews for
136
166
24
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We booked a room 5 months in advance of a family wedding. The week before the wedding I confirmed the booking was still in place. On arrival on the day of the wedding we were told the room had been given away. Apparently management made the decision to cancel our one night stay and reallocate the room to a family who were going to stay several nights and therefore pay more.

The staff member at reception apologized and tried in vain to find a find us a room elsewhere. We were then asked to allow guests to check in. I am disgusted by this greedy behaviour and would recommend you book elsewhere to avoid the risk of this happening to you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GHowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaVIreland, Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear GHowa,

Please could you contact me directly at the hotel as I am finding it difficult to locate your booking details due to the lapse in time since you stayed at our hotel.

Regards,

Emma Vaughan
Business Development Mananger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

A comfortable hotel, good situation and very good team!
We spend one week for fly fishing trip in the area/ nice rivers for brown trouts, pikes and salmons.

Flexibility of organization is offered.
Able to return later in the evening and dinner (good for fishing!).

Room Tip: Rooms at the first stage
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David5300069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaVIreland, Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear David53006069,

Thank you for taking time out to post your review. We are delighted you had such a pleasant stay in our hotel and we hope to welcome you back again for next years fishing trip.

Kind regards,

Emma Vaughan
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Picking a title for my review was easy, travelling all day... I needed somewhere to stop off, park up & have a coffee. A friend had said to me a while back "if your ever in Navan call in to the Newgrange Hotel, it's a very friendly homely hotel" So that I did, I drove by the hotel & seen that the front of the hotel was getting very tastefully painted, great to see in these times, the car park is somewhat tight but a bonus for a town hotel rather than pay for street parking. I had a Latte & a fruit scone which was better than delicious... I'd say it was only out of the oven & with a dollop of jam & cream (optional)what more could you want. The hotel was busy enough for that time of the evening with a group of ladies relaxing & chatting having afternoon tea. I left with the thought I definitely will be back there, the recommendation was true to it's word, Well done to the Newgrange hotel, what a pleasant visit!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTEH13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaVIreland, Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thanks CTEH13 for choosing the Newgrange Hotel for your short visit to Navan. I am delighted to hear you had such a pleasant stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Emma Vaughan
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We recently visited the Newgrange for a last minute night away. We chose the hotel due to it's central location which stood up to exactly that, everything was within close proximity to hotel. From the pleasant check in to the check out the staff in this hotel are exceptional. I have to mention the receptionist Michelle who checked us in and out. It is so warming to arrive at a hotel and have such a pleasant person to be our first point of call. It set the tone for the visit. Nothing was too much trouble for Michelle, from booking dinner to getting a newspaper she really could not do enough. Hopefully her exceptional customer service is recognised. Food lovely at this hotel as are the scones !

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nineteeneightyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaVIreland, Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Nineteeneightyone,

It was a pleasure to hear your wonderful comments regarding our staff which I will be sure to pass on to all of the team. Thank you also for the glowing comments about Michelle who is a very valued long standing member of our team. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Emma Vaughan
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arroyo de la Miel, Spain
Level Contributor
191 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We returned back to the Newgrange and were checked into the second floor, as requested.

The staff really do work very hard at the Hotel and are always pleasant and courteous.

We were glad to see a new lift was going to be installed on the day of our departure, as the old one was rather bumpy!

The Hotel is centrally located, plenty of parking and the rooms look as though they are going through being refurbished.

We had a fresh breakfast on the morning of departure. There is always plenty to choose from, whether you want just a continental or full fry.

Will be back later in the year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaVIreland, Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thanks CCrystal for choosing our hotel for your recent business trip. It's a pleasure to hear your feedback and comments regarding our staff and breakfast options. As you have noted we are continually improving the standards of our hotel and have recently completed the painting of the exterior of the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel later in the year.

Kind regards,

Emma Vaughan
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

My new husband and I had our wedding in the Newgrange Hotel on June 21st 2014, and all I can say is that the whole day was just wonderful from start to finish! From the food, to the staff, to the overall service - this hotel went above and beyond to make sure that our wedding day was a day to remember. The lovely Karine was our wedding planner, and she ensured that everything was perfect down to the smallest detail. Many of our guests stayed in the hotel that night, and every one of them enjoyed their stay immensely. Well done and a huge thank you to Karine and all the staff!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaVIreland, Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Mary M,

It was our pleasure to host your wedding day, I will be sure to pass on your wonderful comments to all of the team. Wishing you a lifetime of health & happiness and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Emma Vaughan
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Navan
0.9 mi away
Ardboyne Hotel
Ardboyne Hotel
#3 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
7.9 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
3.8 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Castle Arch Hotel
Castle Arch Hotel
#3 of 3 in Trim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
8.1 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
14.0 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newgrange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newgrange Hotel

Property: Newgrange Hotel
Address: Bridge St., Navan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Navan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Navan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Newgrange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newgrange Hotel is a luxurious and enchanting destination in the heart of Navan. Set in one of the most historical and beautiful spots in the country, guests from around the globe are invited to experience the old world charm of luxury hotel accommodation in Ireland. Fused with modern amenities, our award winning 3 star hotel offers a lavish retreat just 30 minutes outside the cosmopolitan city of Dublin. Our three star deluxe hotel offers 62 en suite bedrooms all spaciously decorated and designed with guest comfort and tranquility in mind. Newgrange, part of a set of family run hotels in Meath, is not only ideal as a holiday retreat but is also widely used as a meeting and event location due to its reputation as a sophisticated and well run establishment. We hold wedding receptions and civil ceremonies and our one wedding per day policy ensures the bridal party is never left wanting by our skilled and attentive team. With facilities for meetings, banquets and celebrations, we've got everything needed to throw the party of the year. Corporate companies looking for hotels near Dublin that boast a tranquil and elegant country atmosphere are able to enjoy business meetings and conferences at Newgrange too.Indulge in Irish hospitality and scrumptious fare at the in-house Bridge Brassiere Restaurant, enjoy something light and delectable at Ruxtons Cafe or grab a drink and unwind at Rowley's Pub. When the mood strikes in colder months, relax in our library lounge by a warm open fire and browse our selection of classics. When staying at this popular spot you'll never be short on entertainment, leisure or historical tales, as there is much to see and do in and around the area. Named after the ancient monument at Newgrange just 15 minutes away, Newgrange hotel boasts the ideal mix of stylish allure and modern magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Superbreak UK and Evoline ltd so you can book your Newgrange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newgrange Hotel Navan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing