We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overdone” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Killyon Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Killyon Guest House
Ranked #14 of 19 Navan B&B and Inns
Ocean View, Delaware
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Overdone”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

Although the food was very good and the hosts plesant, I found our one night at Killyon Guest House to be very uncomfortable. The room was very damp and cool. We could not get any heat on and in the morning, while showering, the dampness fogged the room mirror and windows. The decor is eclectic to say the least with every inch of the house covered. This was my least favorite B&B of the dozen or so we stayed in during this trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JayCeeDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killyon, Owner at Killyon Guest House, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for the feedback from your stay with us. Obviously we are disappointed with some of your comments and we fully intend to examine the areas where you felt we should have done better.

kind regards,
Michael & Sheila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    27
    6
    6
    13
See reviews for
28
30
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

Good value. Great breakfast. Congenial host. Garden was a delight. On main Dublin road.

Stayed May 2011
Helpful?
Thank HalleyMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

Arriving at this B&B was like coming home warmly welcomed by hosts Michael and Sheila and pet Bentley. Everywhere you look around has been touched by artistic and loving hands, from our elegant, comfortable room to breakfast of smoked salmon and eggs, freshly baked bread, assorted fruits and cheese. And the best coffee, and that's compared to Paris and London, which we just visited. Half a block away is the very convenient bus stop to Dublin or the airport. My 80-year old dad, teenage daughter and I -- three generations from California USA forever enriched by our memories of Killyon.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suu_42011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

I stayed here for three weeks and it was an impeccable place to stay! The owners really make you feel at home they are great people! Definately would recommend it to anyone! Best b&b I have ever come across worldwide! The breakfast is so amazing that you go to sleep dreaming of the next morning! It's a must stay!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dallwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

The Killyon Guesthouse was wonderful. We were in Navan for a wedding over the holidays. Staying there really made our experience special. The breakfast was to die for, and the owners made us feel like family.......

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank turf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

I recently had a 3 week stay in Killyon Guest House in November 2010 and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. In fact the lovely couple and their dog Bentley was the best part of my stay in Navan. Every evening when I came in, it was so lovely to be greeted and offered a cup of tea. A couple who is willing to interact with their guests and get to know them is exactly why I enjoy staying at B&B's. This couple does exactly that. Furthermore, breakfasts were lavish, with a large variety of foods in the dining room and many hot foods offered. In the evening there is a lovely, cozy fire offered in the living room. Overall, I would highly recommend this B&B to visitors to the Navan area. I am highly pleased to have fallen upon this lovely Irish home!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunshineKerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

I recently spent a number of nights at Killyon Guest House and I cannot recommend it highly enough!
We arrived tired from a long journey & were greeted by the friendliest of couples, in wonderful homely surroundings!
We were allowed to settle into our rooms hassle free (no long lecture on house rules).
The rooms were all individually designed, had wonderful antique features & very clean. Beds were extremely comfortable.
Breakfast was a delight with all usual offerings plus home made breads, cakes, yoghurt, freshly squeezed orange juice...
The breakfast room prvided a magnificent view of the ancient river Boyne, which looked spectacular in the frosty mornings of November
Teas & coffees were always available from the kitchen which was open to guests.
Will definitely stay there again :)

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s2008Tipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Navan hotels
0.9 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ardboyne Hotel
Ardboyne Hotel
#3 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ma Dwyer's Guest House
0.3 mi away
The Yellow House B&B
The Yellow House B&B
#8 of 19 in Navan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.7 mi away
Athlumney Manor B&B
Athlumney Manor B&B
#1 of 19 in Navan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killyon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killyon Guest House

Property: Killyon Guest House
Address: Killyon Guesthouse Dublin Road, Navan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Navan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Navan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killyon is a beautifully appointed 6 bedroom Guesthouse, located on the banks of the Boyne, in the town of Navan, County Meath, Ireland. Run by Michael and Sheila Fogarty, Killyon Guesthouse accommodation is rated to 4-diamond standard by the AA and is also recommended by the Michelin Guide and Georgina Campbells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Killyon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing