We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience all around”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Killyon Guest House
Ranked #14 of 19 Navan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 June 2011

My husband and I spent the night with our two daughters; they had a twin room in the basement, and we had a room on the second floor with a balcony overlooking the river. Both rooms were clean, quiet, comfortable, and nicely decorated with antiques--but go for the room with the view if you can; it was lovely to be wakened by birdsong and brilliant sunshine through the balcony windows. Delicious cooked-to-order breakfast with lots of choices, welcoming hosts, beautiful flowers everywhere. We enjoyed playing with a lovely collie named Bentley, but he's an outdoor dog--no trace of him inside. Good in-room wi-fi compared to other places we've been. Location convenient to Newgrange and Knowth.

Room Tip: request balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia_C11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2011

My wife, daughter, son-in-law and I stayed with Michael and Sheila Fogarty on the first night of our trip around Ireland this past June 2011. Killyon House has a wonderful eclectic de'cor! You would need more than an overnight stay to take it all in. Michael sets an over-abundant breakfast table and provides great conversation while cooking your full Irish Breakfast to order. His suggestion for a dinner spot the night before was welcomed and right on, priced and the high side of our budget but very good and welcoming atmosphere.

Room Tip: Book a room on the 2nd floor overlooking river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dugan103153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Although the food was very good and the hosts plesant, I found our one night at Killyon Guest House to be very uncomfortable. The room was very damp and cool. We could not get any heat on and in the morning, while showering, the dampness fogged the room mirror and windows. The decor is eclectic to say the least with every inch of the house covered. This was my least favorite B&B of the dozen or so we stayed in during this trip.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayCeeDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killyon, Owner at Killyon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for the feedback from your stay with us. Obviously we are disappointed with some of your comments and we fully intend to examine the areas where you felt we should have done better.

kind regards,
Michael & Sheila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Good value. Great breakfast. Congenial host. Garden was a delight. On main Dublin road.

Stayed: May 2011
Thank HalleyMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Arriving at this B&B was like coming home warmly welcomed by hosts Michael and Sheila and pet Bentley. Everywhere you look around has been touched by artistic and loving hands, from our elegant, comfortable room to breakfast of smoked salmon and eggs, freshly baked bread, assorted fruits and cheese. And the best coffee, and that's compared to Paris and London, which we just visited. Half a block away is the very convenient bus stop to Dublin or the airport. My 80-year old dad, teenage daughter and I -- three generations from California USA forever enriched by our memories of Killyon.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suu_42011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

I stayed here for three weeks and it was an impeccable place to stay! The owners really make you feel at home they are great people! Definately would recommend it to anyone! Best b&b I have ever come across worldwide! The breakfast is so amazing that you go to sleep dreaming of the next morning! It's a must stay!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dallwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

The Killyon Guesthouse was wonderful. We were in Navan for a wedding over the holidays. Staying there really made our experience special. The breakfast was to die for, and the owners made us feel like family.......

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Navan hotels
0.1 mi away
Ardboyne Hotel
Ardboyne Hotel
#3 of 4 in Navan
379 reviews
0.9 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
664 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Yellow House B&B
The Yellow House B&B
#8 of 19 in Navan
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Teltown House B&B
Teltown House B&B
#5 of 19 in Navan
67 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bective Mill House B&B
0.4 mi away
Ma Dwyer's Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killyon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killyon Guest House

Address: Killyon Guesthouse Dublin Road, Navan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Navan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Navan
Price Range: £60 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killyon is a beautifully appointed 6 bedroom Guesthouse, located on the banks of the Boyne, in the town of Navan, County Meath, Ireland. Run by Michael and Sheila Fogarty, Killyon Guesthouse accommodation is rated to 4-diamond standard by the AA and is also recommended by the Michelin Guide and Georgina Campbells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Killyon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing