We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A happy experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Killyon Guest House
Ranked #15 of 19 Navan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 July 2014

A group of friends had the happy experience of staying in the Killyon Guest House. Michael our host made us very welcome, the bedrooms are very old worldly full of beautiful furnishings no space is left without some nick knack. But the high light of our stay was the breakfast, on offer was full Irish, smoked salmon with scrambled eggs, waffles, omelettes all accompanied by home make breads and marmalade not forgetting fresh fruits and muesli. At 30euro pp its highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank TrishaOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

A great place to stay. Friendly hosts. Very convenient for a nearby wedding and a lot cheaper than staying at a hotel. Plenty of vegetarian options made to order. Excellent breakfast with lots of fresh fruit, homemade bread and cereals.Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Probably quieter at the back of the building. All rooms have lovely period aspects to them, very tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gebf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Killyon guesthouse in Navan was not what we first expected. We pulled into the driveway and met our host and his lovely sheepdog, Bentley. From the outside it looks like a tiny little place, but once you walk in that front door size impresses itself on your mind. The house is huge, and sits beside the Boyne river. The place is beautiful, and you can get a room with a balcony. The house is located literally about ten minutes from every site you could want to see. When we came down to breakfast the spread was astounding! There were 3 or 4 types of fresh made jams, about the same number of cheeses, chutneys, various fruits, 3 kinds of bread and whatever you wanted for breakfast made to order. Our host whipped everything up in no time at all, and regaled us with tales about Navan. He was fascinating to listen to, and not overpowering with his knowledge or suggestions. In fact, it was impressive. The whole experience there was delightful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

As a student doctor I travel around lots of the hospitals in Ireland and stay in many b&bs but Michael and Sheila's is without a doubt the best.
The entire house is beautiful and breakfast is worth staying for alone.
Michael and Sheila couldn't have been more hospitable towards us, we felt like part of the family and would very much like to stay here against.
Absolutely amazing and would recommend anyone to stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherinelf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

A friend and I stayed here for one night during our travels. We didn't have a reservation as we weren't sure where we would be for that particular night. We stopped here in the evening and were lucky enough that Michael had room for us. We couldn't have been more pleased. Room was very nice, breakfast was wonderful and Michael, our host was so very accomodating and pleasant. Would most definitely return if in this area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyheart1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed two nights here it is a great place to stay Michael the owner was so friendly and cooked a great breakfast every thing was fresh plus home made brown bread and carrot cake to die for will definitely go back hopefully in summer time

Room Tip: Room to the right at the top of the stairs has a lovely view of the Boyne
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I have been staying here regularly during the week with work and have stayed in many hotels and B&Bs all over the world. The breakfast here is the best and is the main reason I keep coming back. Great choice of fresh fruit, quality cereals, home baked bread, cheese, freshly pressed orange juice and whatever you fancy from the kitchen. I normally go for scrambled eggs or omelette which Michael cooks to perfection. Makes getting up in the morning that bit easier! When I come in from work in the evening I get offered tea which is usually served with fresh scones or home baked cake - this is a real treat. Michael and Sheila are lovely hosts and go the extra mile to add that personal touch. I would highly recommend this B&B especially if you like your food!

Room Tip: ask for number 1, which is a beautiful big room with balcony overlooking the boyne
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killyon, Owner at Killyon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for those kind comments and your recommendation. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.

kind regards,
Michael & Sheila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Navan hotels
0.9 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ardboyne Hotel
Ardboyne Hotel
#3 of 4 in Navan
382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ma Dwyer's Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Yellow House B&B
The Yellow House B&B
#8 of 19 in Navan
90 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bective Mill House B&B
0.7 mi away
Athlumney Manor B&B
Athlumney Manor B&B
#2 of 19 in Navan
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killyon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killyon Guest House

Address: Killyon Guesthouse Dublin Road, Navan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Navan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Navan
Price Range: £58 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killyon is a beautifully appointed 6 bedroom Guesthouse, located on the banks of the Boyne, in the town of Navan, County Meath, Ireland. Run by Michael and Sheila Fogarty, Killyon Guesthouse accommodation is rated to 4-diamond standard by the AA and is also recommended by the Michelin Guide and Georgina Campbells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Killyon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing