We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house and surroundings”
Review of Bellinter House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bellinter House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Navan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Myself and my friend booked in to Bellinter house (spa) for a back massage followed by a light lunch in the drawing room. The house is absolutely beautiful and is situated in a tranquil and picturesque setting. You feel like you have gone back in time. The spa experience was lovely, and staff very friendly. Lunch was very nice, the chunky chips are so tasty. Unfortunately what really let it down for us was the cleanliness of the spa and drawing room. It seems such a shame to have such a beautiful home, great treatments, friendly staff and great food to let it lack in such trivial areas.

The small serving cups we were given as part of our starter were filthy and needed a good bleach.
The spa beds in the relaxation room were supposed to be cream but were yellow and brown with stains.
The window in the relaxation room which you sit and peacefully gaze out of to appreciate the views was very dirty.

The drawing room is a magnificent room, with beautiful large windows, which boast fantastic views onto the river.

Unfortunately again, tables were dirty, seats were stained with dried in food. We chose to eat in the bar area as they had 'proper' tables with stools (only 2 tables though). Otherwise we would have been crouched over our food as all of the other tables and chairs are coffee tables and couches/ chairs. I don't know how people are supposed to eat in that position!

Such a shame to let such a wonderful place slip in areas which could otherwise make all the difference.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (898)
There are newer reviews for Bellinter House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 897 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

I recently returned from a mid week break in beautiful Bellinter. We choose the 'Girlie Getaway' package which was fantastic value. The staff of Bellinter are so friendly and helpful, dinner in Eden was wonderful and our rooms in the Stables were large and very warm. Whilst the hotel does need some work done, this historic property is full of the character you would expect from a 18th century house and at night is stunning with all the candles and lovely log fires - it really is a wonderful place to stay. The staff go out of their way to make sure that your every need is looked after. We availed of treatments in the Bathhouse Spa which we all enjoyed. We all agreed we would happily return to Bellinter House.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 3 bedroomed Stable, that was modern and bright, very warm and quiet, spotlessly clean...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MollieEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

A great place to escape from it all, as the mobile phone coverage isn't great in the area! Stayed one night for my wife's birthday in the old house and had a lovely big room overlooking the river. We had a delicious meal in the restaurant followed by a hearty breakfast the next morning. All staff were very helpful with any request. Could do with more car parking spaces.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Just returned home from an amazing time from start to finish in Bellinter House. We booked a one night stay to celebrate our anniversary with friends. From the time we checked in the staff were wonderful. Very helpful and professional. We had a beautiful Georgian room in the main house, stunning views overlooking the Boyne river. Our meal in the Eden restaurant was excellent, very high standard and presentation was superb. The fillet steak was to die for and the Guinea fowl was cooked to perfection. We had amazing experience from start to finish and can't wait for our return visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeanK28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

I was concerned by some of the comments that other reviewers had left prior to my stay at Bellinter. However, I found that they were largely unfounded.

My boyfriend and I stayed in the main house for one night midweek. We loved the room, which was quirky and unique.

The staff were friendly, attentive and the service unfaultable.

We had lunch, dinner and breakfast at Bellinter and were very impressed.

I took the opportunity to have a spa treatment and again was very impressed.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGGCWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed here a few weeks ago and was very impressed. We were in the Est wing had a nice big room with double bath and Shower. Nice and airy, one of the other room doors was open so i popped my head in and was very small and cluttered looking, it had quite a low ceiling!!

Staff very friendly and the food in the restaurant was extremely good!

only complaint is that the sauna didnt seem to work at all! and there was no one around to ask unless you wanted to outside!

would deffo be back though

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandy24Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Myself and the other half decided to try this manor house hotel when an offer came up on groupon. The pictures looked fantastic and the facilities were just what we were looking for and so we booked for1 night over the February midterm. From the minute we arrived we were bitterly disappointed. First off our room was not ready despite arriving at 4 pm in the afternoon so we headed into the dusty, grubby drawing room to wait where we had plenty of time to review the cracks in the ceilings and cobwebs in the corners. When our room was ready we were escorted to a pokey hole in 'The Ruin' with a tiny bathroom and messy bedroom with dirty under wear on the floor. Needless to say we requested another room. The receptionist (with a sour face) went to check if she had another room available and so we moved to a slightly bigger but dirtier, grubbier and ill maintained room. The light switches didn't work, the ironing board and door handles were broken (someone walked into our room the next morning while I was getting dressed) and the bath plug didnt fit!! We grudging accepted this room hoping that as the evening wore on the character and charm of the premises would appear. Needless to say that did not happen. We went to dinner in the Eden restaurant that night. Having precariously manouvered down the rickety slippy spiral staircase we were greeted by sour faced waitresses who escorted us to our table. The menu looked fab and I thought yes finally they have gotten something right. I spoke too soon the food had no flavour (basic seasoning is a must) and our starters were bigger than the main. We left the restaurant hungry and sneezing from the dust all over the room. Heading back to our room we were greeted by a terrible noise coming from the radiators which continued throughout the night and kept us both awake. Weary and bleary eyed we awoke the next morning and headed to breakfast. Cooked to order the menu said well we've both had better buffet breakfasts with much higher quality food than the anaemic sausages, rock hard tomatoes and barely scared by the frying pan eggs. We left hungry. Following breakfast I had booked an hour spa treatment in the Bathhouse Spa (it was like pulling teeth trying to get them to fit me in the week before). I was reluctant to go as I did not want to spend any more money in this terrible excuse for a hotel. However I was pleasantly surprised by the Spa. Although the lady on the desk (I assume to be the manager or something) was quite rude and unhelpful the lady who completed by treatments was lovely and did an amazing job!! After the spa we decided to check out early (they had offered us late checkout but Id rather drive five miles down the road and sleep in the car than spend any longer there). Upon leaving we told the lovely woman at reception about our grievances and she was more than apologetic giving us a discount on our bill. However this did not make up for a disappointing night away and I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Melissa88_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Navan
5.4 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
3.8 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
651 reviews
6.1 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
11.3 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,538 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Johnstown Estate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellinter House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellinter House

Address: Bellinter Bridge, Navan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Navan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Navan
Price Range: £108 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bellinter House 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bellinter House selected in the top new Hotels in the world by the Conde Nast Traveller Hot List 2007. Quote from Conde Nast Traveller Hot List 2007 review: "Huge original fireplaces and antique mirrors ... mesh with original designer furniture and quirky lighting in the atmospheric Drawing Room. The grandeur of great wooden staircases and beautifully embellished plasterwork is softened by personal touches such as lightbox wardrobes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bellinter House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellinter House Hotel Navan
Bellinter Hotel Navan
Bellinter House Navan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing