We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Athlumney Manor B&B
Nearby Hotels
Ardboyne Hotel(Navan)(Great Value!)
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newgrange Hotel(Navan)(Great Value!)
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Johnstown Estate Hotel & Spa(Enfield)(Great Value!)
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle Arch Hotel(Trim)(Great Value!)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveller rating
303
44
16
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
303
44
16
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspauline boylanperfect hostsbreakfast was excellentnavan townbreakfast roomrooms were very cleantrim castleplenty of parkingstayed two nightsa wonderful staynext morningtea and coffeefull irishcooked breakfastguest housepatireland
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 370 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Pauline and Pat were very friendly and excellent hosts. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast room looked like it was from an elegant restaurant, and the breakfast service offered several options. Pat and Pauline offered restaurant suggestions and driving tips. It was our last night in Ireland and an easy drive to the Dublin airport.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandyR01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

A few weeks ago we spent a wonderful week at Athlumney Manor. It was all you could ever expect from a higher class b&b, and the welcome we received was glorious. The accommodation in which we stayed was lovely (and so very clean), and the gardens beautifuli. The location was fabulous, so close to all the breathtaking attractions situated in our Royal county, and we would not hesitate to visit Pat and Pauline again when we next travel to Ireland. They were so helpful, and gave us maps and details of all the local places of interest in nearby Navan and Trim, and with their critical advice on pubs and restaurants in the vicinity, we could not go wrong. Please make this your Number 1 stop on your next holiday or business trip to Ireland, and then you could not go wrong too!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imaisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was our first night in Ireland. I would recommend this town and B&B to anyone as a first or last night(s) stay. Arriving after a long flight from Canada and never having stayed in an Irish B&B we were nervous about what it would be like. It was great to pick up a car at the airport then head out of Dublin, a good way to start a vacation. There was a lot to see around Navan, and the host, Pat was incredibly gracious, he told us of so much stuff to see in the county we inquired if there were any rooms for another night. Luckily for us there was. The breakfasts were great. The room was tidy, neat, well kept, clean, yes the bathroom is small, it's Europe, that's how they are. It is a short walk to the downtown area of Navan where there are lots of restaurants and shops. Again Pat offered suggestions on restaurants. A perfect host. The dining room was welcoming, lots of guide books. We were offered a map of the town which helped a lot. Definitely recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gearman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This lovely inn run by Pat and Pauline Boylan is the perfect base from which to explore the Boyne Valley. Pauline warmly greeted us upon check-in and, pulling out a map of the area, marked the best local restaurants and pubs and also the most interesting historical sites. The property itself is equisitely maintained, the dining room is cozy and homey, and the rooms are immaculately clean (darn, I wish my house were half so tidy). Although the house is on a well-trafficed street, the windows are insulated so the rooms are quiet and we slept very peacefully (okay, except for my poor husband who had to put up with my snoring).

In the morning, Pat welcomed us for breakfast, and made us feel at home with his good-humored teasing and entertaining tales of local folks and lore, but he also gave us our time to sip our tea and plan our day. How often do you make the acquaintance of someone for 2 days and feel sad to say goodbye? BTW DO order the excellent porridge - it is creamy, with nourishing bits of nuts and seeds, and be sure to top with the fine Boyne valley honey.

Navan is not perhaps highlighted in the guide books, but we found it more pleasant than many of the more heavily touristed towns in the area, and it is perfectly situated for day trips to Newgrange and Knowth, Trim, Kells, and even Drogheda.

Pat keeps the key to the ruins of nearby Athlumney castle, which was set afire by its owners in the 17th century rather than let it fall into the hands of Crowmell and later Billy of Orange. One feels rather special letting oneself in and wandering through the deserted rooms open to the sky. The family must have been warm in winter because there are many fireplaces still evident.

One final point, Athlumney Manor is an excellent value - prices very reasonable given the hiospitality and attractive property.

We would *definitely* stay at Athlumney Manor again and we recommend without reservation to others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerkeleySaraJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Just come back from Athlumney Manor B&B and had a lovely time. Pat and Pauline so helpful and very welcoming. Very clean and the breakfast was very good. Perfect location for the centre if town. The garden is kept immaculate and the bright colours of flowers in the garden looked beautiful. Definitely recommend this place!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews