We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for families. Close to major attrctions, Dublin Zoo and Tayto Park.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Decoy Country Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 May 2011

These properties ar set in eautiful countryside to inspire a peaceful and relaxed holiday. As cars do not come into the courtyard area except for loading and unloading purposes it felt safe to give the children a bit of independance and freedom to exploret the playground. Brilliant den for wet days or if you are staying around the cottages for the evening. Barbeque area perfect if weather permits. Excellent Gym, Get accurate directions from the owners prior to your arrival as it can be a little hard to find.

Room Tip: Choose a house which gets the sun most of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian-LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2011

Booked Decoy to totally chill out after a really hectic work conference, and I was not disappointed. Perfect location for me just coming from Dublin (20 minutes on the motorway). Peace and tranquility in a beautiful, spotless, modern yet olde world cottage. We really enjoyed the couple of days and actually did touristy things - Newgrange and Battle of the Boyne site - haven't been at either since I was in school! Didn't get to use the spa, but only myself to blame for that. Have been singing praises of Decoy Country Cottages since I came back and will continue to do so. Hope to get back sometime soon.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ElaineCDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

These cottages are ideal for families. Gated entrance, park and 'den' for kiddies to explore. We have 5 small children in the party for a special Easter break. The kids and adults can't wait to return!!!. The location has something for everyone and the cottages were spotless.

Room Tip: The Hen House gets great sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barravore4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Overall had a fantastic stay at Decoy. Beautiful location, fab finish to the houses. Stayed in the barn (sleeps 8) and had loads of room. Sitting room and kitchen huge, great comfort for a group. All mod cons, dishwasher etc. Fab power showers - but here's the issue. Went to Causey Farm on Sat (fantastic by the way!) Got back to cottage only for the shower to run cold on 2nd use - 6 of us left to go!! In fairness Paula was apologetic and allowed us into her house to use her son's shower, but it wasn't ideal. She also explained on check-out that she'd been away later than she'd planned, and there was another hen back from causey an hour before us. Outside of this, had a perfect and really enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: would be a fantastic place to bring kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RozMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

We visited Decoy cottages for a weekend for a hen party. I couldn't say enough for the experience. The houses were beautiful and extremely well equipped. The location is fabulous, it is in the beautiful countryside of Meath but very close to Navan and a two minute drive from the bus stop from Dublin / Dublin airport. The beds were very comfortable and the houses were immaculate. There was a strong emphasis on protecting the environment with eco friendly recycling, handwash, dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid etc.

Paula the owner couldn't have been more helpful, she came to greet us personally and we were advised to contact her if we needed anything. There had been a lot of changing of numbers for the weekend and despite this Paula was gracious and most accommodating.

She had organised the whole weekend for us to include a trip to Causey farm, we were delivered and collected by bus. We then went for a meal on Saturday night recommended by Paula, the meal was superb and we were again brought and collected by bus to the restaurant, we were then delivered to Navan town for a night on the town and we were collected by Frank the bus driver afterwards and brought home.

The kitchen was very well equipped for cooking with everything you could imagine. Paula very kindly had a welcome basket in each of the two houses with milk, bread, eggs and jams for us.

We were advised that there was no need to rush leaving on Sunday morning that we could take our time. It was so lovely and relaxing.

I would highly recommend this as a group holiday, family holiday or even a weekend away.

Thanks Paula for a great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clionaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaIrwin, Owner at Decoy Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2011

Hi Cliona

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted you had a great weekend and look forward to welcoming you again.

Paula Irwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

A beautiful country haven, we used it as a base for exploring the Boyne valley and countryside, the children had their own ensuites and the court yard, grounds and playground kept them well entertained. It is just a 5 min. drive to Johnstown for groceries etc. or access to the m1, just 20 min. into Dublin. Great value!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bldonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

From the moment I booked this for a hen party, Paula was more than accommodatiing. The cottages were exceptionally clean and we found everything we needed there. Very spacious and the stables was excellent for a group or party as the cottage allows enough space for everyone. The views were magnificent and I am looking forward to returning to the lovely town of Navan with these stunning cottages.

Room Tip: If self catering kitchens perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blondie1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Navan
8.8 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,556 reviews
5.2 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
657 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ardboyne Hotel
Ardboyne Hotel
#3 of 4 in Navan
371 reviews
8.3 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
4.7 mi away
Ma Dwyer's Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decoy Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decoy Country Cottages

Address: Decoy House | Garlow Cross, Navan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Navan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Navan
Price Range: £77 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Decoy Country Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious self-catering accommodation in the heart of historic County Meath. A haven of peace away from the pressures of today's hectic lifestyle. Houses range from 1 - 4 bedrooms. Ideal location for families and groups. Beautiful courtyard gardens. All marble or solid oak floors. Underfloor heating throughout. Playground, BBQ area, Boules alley, private parking, all mod cons. Great range of golf courses nearby. Horse riding and fishing locally. Beauty treatments available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Decoy Country Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing