We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Decoy Country Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newport
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
Reviewed 4 April 2008

My family and I visted Decoy Country Cottages to celebrate my grandparents golden wedding anniversary. 20 of us went staying in 3 of the cottages.

The experience was excellent and for a self catering cottage they had thought of everything, even on arrival They left tea and coffee, bread and eggs so you could have a light lunch when you arrive.

The facilities were good, The Den catered for the family and the gym was very tempting.

You do need a car to get around but with Dublin only 10 miles away i am sure public transport is fine!

Would recommend this place to anyone and would go back myself!

  • Liked — The Modern Cottages
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireNewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    25
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
138
39
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
superslimmer60
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2008

We have just returned from a lovely short break in Decoy Country Cottages. We had a wonderfully relaxing & completely stress free break. We were met by the owner Paula ,on arrival, who completely puts us at our ease & made us extremely welcome. She supplied us with a superb "welcome basket" of all the essentials & I have to say that I shall never forget that delicious bread! The cottages themselves are suberbly well fitted out to an extremely high standard,with underfloor heating,oak doors, woodwork & a super kitchen with granite worktops. The gym & playroom also terrific , if you've got the energy in that laid back atmosphere! This is an excellent base to stay for racing -we went to the Fairyhouse course for the Irish Grand National -& there are other racecourses locally. We did not have much time to visit the surrounding area- we will have to leave that for another visit- but we did manage to fit in a few visits to local pubs for meals & drinks,where again we were made extremely welcome. I wholeheartedly recommend these cottages for a visit.

  • Liked — friendly welcome, high standard of all fittings & furniture & general cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing negative at all!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank superslimmer60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2008

I was with an opera company doing our production week in the Solstice Arts Centre in Navan, and was looking for somewhere for the crew to stay for the week, where everyone could have a comfortable bed, good kitchen facilities so we didn't have to eat out all the time, and a place to chill out and relax after 12 hours of work every day. We found all of those things and more at Decoy.

The cottages are superbly kitted out and, unlike many self-catering properties I have been to before, the kitchens in particular are well-equipped with plenty of crockery, cutlery and tons of cooking utensils. (Almost better-equipped than my own kitchen!) We all commented on how well we were sleeping in the VERY comfortable beds, and I loved the showers with heads the size of dinner plates! The wood-burning stoves were lovely and cozy, and we sat around the fire late into the night, with plenty of glasses of wine. The pool table was another great hit, as was the DVD library.

I am particularly impressed with the geothermal underfloor heating!

Paula is a lovely hostess, and has done a truly incredible job with these cottages. Everything has been thought of here. I'll definitely be back.

  • Liked — It was immaculate.
  • Disliked — No internet access.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OperaAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, on
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2007

I selected Decoy Country Cottages for a family reunion and was very pleased. The setting is perfect for a group which included adults ranging in ages from 18 to 50 , a baby and 2 children.

The 6 'cottages' are newly refurbished with Ikea kitchens and furnishings, so everything works and is very comfortable. The rooms are spacious - especially the kitchens which are well equipped and include a washer, dryer, dishwasher, 4 burner stove top, oven and fridge/freezer. We requested an extra table to place in the largest of the three rental units so all 18 of us could dine together and we had room to spare. Each unit had a flat screen tv, dvd player and stereo system.

The bedrooms and bathrooms were great. The beds are exceptionally comfortable with lots of pillows and the bathrooms had either shower stalls or bath/shower combos, and all had good water pressure and lots of hot water. Bathrooms were either ensuite or 'cheater' ensuites with access directly from two bedrooms. Each unit had a bathroom on the main floor (usually a powder room).

The units are more like what we in North America call townhouses, set up in two U shaped sets facing each other. The walls were thick and contained noise well. A highlight of the property for the kids was the animals, two friendly cats wander the property and cows are pastured immediately behind it. There is an excellent playground and a 'Den' unit which has a seperate living room with tv and DVD players, books and DVDs and upstairs an air hockey game and pool table. There is also a workout area. Our group made extensive use of the games and the play area.

The location of the Decoy cotttages is half an hour outside of Dublin, within 15 minutes of several historic sites. I would strongly recommend this location to anyone looking to explore the Meath region. It provided good value and was extremely comfortable.

  • Liked — Brand new and very comfortable
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AM50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Navan
3.2 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
846 reviews
8.8 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,434 reviews
5.2 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ardboyne Hotel
Ardboyne Hotel
#3 of 4 in Navan
351 reviews
8.3 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
4.4 mi away
The Station House Hotel
The Station House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilmessan
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decoy Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decoy Country Cottages

Property: Decoy Country Cottages
Address: Decoy House | Garlow Cross, Navan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Navan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Navan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Decoy Country Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious self-catering accommodation in the heart of historic County Meath. A haven of peace away from the pressures of today's hectic lifestyle. Houses range from 1 - 4 bedrooms. Ideal location for families and groups. Beautiful courtyard gardens. All marble or solid oak floors. Underfloor heating throughout. Playground, BBQ area, Boules alley, private parking, all mod cons. Great range of golf courses nearby. Horse riding and fishing locally. Beauty treatments available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Decoy Country Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing