We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Decoy Country Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville, Georgia, United States
1 review
“Great place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We spent 5 days at the Cottages. The cottages are beautifully decorated and up to date and the staff was so helpful. Very centrally located. Enjoyed our stay!!! The brochures and tips provided were very helpful. Loved the free wi-fi!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    22
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
128
37
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Dimas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We are a family of 5 traveling with a 13, 20 and 21 year old and we stayed in "The Loft" which was just as the website described. It was roomy and had all the modern conveniences of home. The welcome basket was much appreciated. There was plenty of recommendations of what to see and do in the area found in the cottage which was very helpful. We all had a great time and the weather could not have been better. I would highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Stairs may be trouble for elderly
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed at Decoy Cottages in May 2013 as we were hosting a workshop for 16 people there. From the start, owner Paula was super-helpful with accepting deliveries on our behalf and suggesting possible caterers, transport options, outings etc. She even went to the lengths of asking a local farmers' market if they would open especially for our group, and they did!

All accommodation was of an extremely high standard. Cottages were in an old stone set of buildings around a courtyard, with access to tranquil green gardens. There were beautiful spotless rooms and stylish bathrooms, plus each cottage had a massive and very well equipped kitchen. There were generous welcome packs in each cottage with all the essentials you need for breakfast, plus plenty of cleaning materials (including dish washer tablets).

The location is great - quiet enough to relax, but close enough to Dublin that the airport is only about a 30 minute drive away. The nearby town has plenty of supermarkets so no need to worry about shopping. Sage & Stone market in nearby Duleek is well worth a visit!

The only downside (and that was only because we were working rather than holidaymaking) was that there is no or very poor mobile phone reception, and the wi-fi connection seemed to go down when too many people accessed it at once. But other than that, no complaints at all and would definitely recommend Decoy Country Cottages to anybody!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cooksister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaIrwin, Owner at Decoy Country Cottages, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Hi Jeanne

Thank you for your wonderful review and I am delighted your course went so well. I am so sorry that the mobile phone connection and internet were not up to standard - it is something we are very much aware of. In fact, in the next few weeks we hope to fit new equipment which will solve both problems.

Hope to see you again in the future

Paula Irwin
Manager Decoy Country Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banagher, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We had a lovely stay. The house was very comfortable. The den was a great bonus. Hopefully we will return one day. The owner/manager organised a bus to the concert for all at the cottages, it was really handy. Thank you for that Paula.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmmooc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Everything we could ask for was readily available in the cottage. the rooms being very spacious were very convenient for us. The kichen was very well orgnized and made it easy preparing meals.our bedroom had awesome views of the farm. the kids loved the den and the play area. All in all the whole place was very relaxing and couldn't ask for more. we will definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbunjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

What a gem! These cottages are an absolute find. Myself and my family (husband and sons, 10 and 7) stayed in the Hen House. It was really spacious and very well equipped. My kids loved the den and the Jacuzzi bath. The welcome pack of goodies was lovely. The beds were comfy. I would highly recommend, and will definitely return myself.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
armagh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Great cottages, great facilities, the den is an added bonus. However I was disappointed with the cleanliness of the cottage, within 5mins of running around barefoot my daughters feet were BLACK! The floors are presumably swept but not cleaned adequately enough, lots of cobwebs about and dead flies/spiders in lights. They just need a good clean! Also if you're bringing kids and they need fairly dark rooms, go in winter! The bedrooms are lovely but very bright. We have portable blackout blinds but we couldnt even use them.
On saying all this it wouldnt put me off going back. Also they're in a great location for dublin / zoo and tayto park.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ren1Armagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Navan
8.8 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
5.2 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
4.4 mi away
Ardboyne Hotel
Ardboyne Hotel
#3 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
9.2 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decoy Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decoy Country Cottages

Property: Decoy Country Cottages
Address: Decoy House | Garlow Cross, Navan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Navan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Navan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Decoy Country Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious self-catering accommodation in the heart of historic County Meath. A haven of peace away from the pressures of today's hectic lifestyle. Houses range from 1 - 4 bedrooms. Ideal location for families and groups. Beautiful courtyard gardens. All marble or solid oak floors. Underfloor heating throughout. Playground, BBQ area, Boules alley, private parking, all mod cons. Great range of golf courses nearby. Horse riding and fishing locally. Beauty treatments available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Decoy Country Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing