We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Decoy Country Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant again”
Reviewed 19 January 2011

This is the second time I've stayed at the cottages. First time as part of a hen weekend, second, a New Year break with my boyfriend. The cottages are excellent. So homely, down to the very garlic crusher - I was impressed! The great thing about the cottages is that they provide whatever you're looking for - if just a base for a more 'lively' weekend in Navan, or a more romantic stay, open fire etc included. Navan itself has lots to offer, we had a great NY's Eve in the Russell. I would highly recommend the cottages and hope to return soon. Thanks Paula.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    25
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
137
39
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We stayed at the cottages for 11 days and found the accommadation second to none, fantastic area and the owners made you feel very welcome, great hidden gem.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank campbell253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2011

My wife and I stayed at Decoy along with our toddler for six days across the 2010/2011 New Year period and had an excellent holiday in the Parlour cottage. The Decoy website doesn't really do the size of the rooms justice; they are big. Our daughter really enjoyed half walking, half running around the different rooms and dancing in the kitchen. Sometimes on holiday, you want to get out and about early, but here we were quite happy to take our time with breakfast and getting ready.

The bathrooms and kitchen were all clean and well-equipped, with good water pressure for the shower. Everything was ready to use straight away, although the oven was a bit complicated and we needed the supplied manual to get it going.

With our daughter being a bit little for the play room, we didn't use it but it looks like it would suit older children very well. We did make a bit of use of the outdoor play area, which was a nice thing to have right there. Our cottage backed onto it, which was good for us with our little one, but might have been distracting had we been staying as a couple at a warmer time of year.

The only hitch was a problem with the underfloor heating in the middle of our stay, but this was more than made up for with extra fuel for the fire (lit for us prior to our return that day, so the lounge had plenty of time to warm up again) and an electric heater for upstairs. I should also mention the welcome basket, including a lovely loaf of soda bread, and the provision of stair gates, highchair and travel cot - not having to bring our own was a big help when packing the car.

Access to Dublin is very straightforward along the M3, which was very quiet bit the times we were on it and took us about 45 minutes. We went there on three days and did more local attractions such as Newgrange on the other three. There isn't a huge amount of parking space at Decoy, but we were able to get a space every night.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob_mooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Decoy provided us with exactly what we were looking for for our short break over the New Year (2011).
We booked the break in County Meath as I visit friends in nearby Kells. It was also my partners 40th birthday in January, so I wanted to surprise him by arranging some well earned time out from our hectic lives.
We have two sons aged 11 and 5, they loved the outside play area and the den, which are safely enclosed .
We all loved the animals at Decoy, a horse, 2 dogs, chickens and ducks, but especially the very friendly cat.
My only regret is that I didn't manage to fit in a treatment at the spa...this time!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leilapope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

We took this holiday as time to chill out & was brilliant for doing so. Lovely walks, even in the cold winter weather. Decoy couldn't have been more helpful and accomodating.

We will definately be booking again in Jan!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josiebangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2010

My partner and I searched for ages for somewhere not too far away from home that we could bring our 3 dogs to and have places nearby to walk, eat nice food and drink nice wine and also experience a bit of culture and see some historic sites. Decoy Cottages was definately the right place, Paula and Connor were extremely welcoming and there was a lovely welcome basket waiting for us when we got there. When we arrived it was snowing heavily and it didn't stop for our whole 3 day trip. The roads in the area were quite bad with snow and all the touristy sites seemed to be closed so we spent most of our time in the cottages. The dogs had a lovely secure courtyard to run about in and there was a lovely big field opposite the cottages entrance for them to run in - due to the snow the road had no traffic. The cottage was warm, relaxing, had plenty of books and DVDs and had a gym on site so it was a fantastic place to just shut out the rest of the world!!!! The snow was the heaviest the day we were due to leave and Paula and Connor went out of their way to assure us we could stay longer and even offered to feed us if we ran out of supplies. We decided to try the trip to Belfast but unfortunately our car got stuck in the snow at the cottage, Paula immediately phoned for someone with a Jeep to tow us out and they arrived within 5 mins and got us on the road - that was definately going the extra mile for your guests!!!!
As we weren't able to do any of the historical sites and walks in the many forests I think we'll definatgely consider another visit.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer1Belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaIrwin, Manager at Decoy Country Cottages, responded to this review, 6 December 2010
Hi Ruth

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much - unfortunately we could not sort the weather out!!

Regards

Paula Irwin
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2010

A four night short break in the Tack Room - all too short to really appreciate this outstanding accommodation. Very high quality with some great features. Some interesting places to visit nearby and less than an hour from Dublin. We were off the ferry and in the cottage within the hour. Delighted to be met by the fire already lit which is a mark of the quality of service and attention to detail shown by our hosts. Overall a real gem of a find.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IMW62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Navan
3.2 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
844 reviews
8.8 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,426 reviews
5.2 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ardboyne Hotel
Ardboyne Hotel
#3 of 4 in Navan
350 reviews
8.3 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
4.4 mi away
The Station House Hotel
The Station House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilmessan
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decoy Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decoy Country Cottages

Property: Decoy Country Cottages
Address: Decoy House | Garlow Cross, Navan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Navan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Navan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Decoy Country Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious self-catering accommodation in the heart of historic County Meath. A haven of peace away from the pressures of today's hectic lifestyle. Houses range from 1 - 4 bedrooms. Ideal location for families and groups. Beautiful courtyard gardens. All marble or solid oak floors. Underfloor heating throughout. Playground, BBQ area, Boules alley, private parking, all mod cons. Great range of golf courses nearby. Horse riding and fishing locally. Beauty treatments available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Decoy Country Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing