We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXACTLY what we were looking for in Ireland!”
Review of Rossnaree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rossnaree
Ranked #2 of 7 Slane B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 July 2011

My daughter and I stayed at Rossnaree back in March. I don't write reviews very often, but after seeing the previous review, I feel I must comment on our stay at Rossnaree. It was the first time I had driven in Ireland, and when we left the airport in our rental car, I became so frazzled that I just wanted to get where we were going! As a consequence, we arrived at Rossnaree way before we were expected. Aisling Law could not have been more gracious or accommodating. She fussed over us and served us tea and breakfast while we waited for our room to be ready. The house is old, beautiful and full of charm and character. Our room was lovely and clean with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in (we were in the twin room). Breathtaking views of the Boyne and Newgrange. Ms. Law did have to leave for the night- her mother is elderly and ailing, I believe. She left us in very capable hands with her friend Tara and Tara's darling baby girl. Tara recommended a wonderful place in Slane for dinner. In the morning, Aisling was back early to make us a delicious breakfast. I felt at home during my stay at Rossnaree. An Irish bed and breakfast stay is about so much more than a few cobwebs. It's an experience, an adventure. I can't wait to go back to Rossnaree, and will stay longer next time.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chguest56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 53 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2011

this was to be a highlight destination for us, at the end of our trip. unfortunately, the owner had a personal emergency and could not be there until late in the second day of our stay. her daughter subbed in as did a women staying on the property but the "manor" house was not clean, the bathroom was not prepped, and we were essentially all alone in this big, cobwebbed, dead fly place where the dishes sat all day long. eventually we haggled and she reduced the price to 50%. we did enjoy the pets and the donkey and horse.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank savvyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

What a special place! Especially if history, mainly Irish history, is at all interesting to you. The house is grand, if a bit faded, but the history within and surrounding the house provide a very special experience. Aisling Law is a wonderful hostess, herself an integral part of that history. The B&B accommodations do not match the elegance of the house, but that matters little if one appreciates the unique nature of this special place.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2SU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Rossnaree is an absolute gem. We would stay there again in a heartbeat. This place personifies artistic and literary sensibilities.

Situated right on the Boyne--at one of the river's most historic points---the house looks out over the Neolithic mounds of Knowth and Newgrange. Imagine waking up to look out at a 7,000-year-old ceremonial site, its quartz facing gleaming above the morning mists in the valley even before the sun sets the quartz ablaze. And imagine walking the grounds to meet Rossnaree's great Irish wolfhound, or the little family of geese that patrol the lawn, or the donkey that grazes quietly near the driveway.

Inside, Rossnaree delights, with airy rooms adorned with the family's heirloom paintings mixed with artwork from their travels in India and Africa and with artwork crafted by their own hands. Bedrooms are aglow with William Morris wallpaper and the family's much-loved antique furniture.

Breakfast is a treat - healthy and delectable food, cordially served, with real fires on damp days.

Rossnaree is comfortable, embracing and exceptionally interesting inside and out. And hostess and owner Aisling Law is a treasure - with her rich family legacy, a fund of great stories, an ardent, warm and enthusiastic conversationalist. Go! Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HenryJohnKerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Slane hotels
3.1 mi away
Conyngham Arms Hotel
6.1 mi away
College Hill House B&B
6.5 mi away
Tankardstown
Tankardstown
#1 of 3 in Slane
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Rock Farm Slane
Rock Farm Slane
#1 of 3 in Slane
285 reviews
4.6 mi away
Slane Farm Hostel
Slane Farm Hostel
#2 of 3 in Slane
189 reviews
0 mi away
Grangegeeth Inn
Grangegeeth Inn
#6 of 7 in Slane
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rossnaree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rossnaree

Address: Newgrange | Bru na Boinne, Slane, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Slane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Slane
Price Range: £71 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rossnaree (or ’headland of the Kings’) is a privately owned historic country estate in Slane, County Meath, located only 40 minutes from Dublin and less than an hour from Belfast. Rossnaree is is 2K from Newgrange and 3K from Slane Village.An impressive driveway sweeps to the front of Rossnaree house, standing on top of a hill with unrivalled views across the River Boyne to Ireland’s famous prehistoric monuments,Knowth,Dowth and Newgrange.Rossnaree has been transformed into a boutique bed and breakfast, offering four luxury rooms for guests and also an original venue for special events and artistic workshops. The luxury bespoke bedrooms are individually designed with genuine antique family furniture. Hospitality is old fashioned and friendly, full Irish Breakfast is served in the elegant dining room with an open fire and includes our hen’s eggs, freshly baked bread, organic bacon and sausages from local producers in Slane, and seasonal vegetables foraged from our Victorian Walled Garden.We also offer the ‘Rossnaree Stack’: A delicious Portobello Mushroom topped with John’s finest bacon and a slice of roasted tomato served with French toast quarters.This is a dramatic location in the heart of the Boyne Valley and for guests, Rossnaree evokes the romance of the past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rossnaree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing