We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (353)
Filter reviews
353 results
Traveller rating
195
91
32
20
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
195
91
32
20
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster bed quaint hotel afternoon tea scones main course apple crumble visited this hotel last sunday lovely food next morning function room salmon would definitely stay here again fantastic wedding small village nespresso machine stayed here for one night
Filter
Updating list...
301 - 306 of 353 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My wife & I stayed here for 2 nights whilst attending a wedding at a nearby venue. The rooms are really nicely appointed , the staff extremely friendly & the breakfast of a very high quality.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed in the Conyngham Arms over a weekend as a base for a nearby wedding. The hotel is an 18th century coachhouse in period stonework, and sits convenient to local amenities. It has a very welcoming feel to it, a softly subtle décor, and tea lights and candles throughout the walkways provide a real ambience to the hotel. We stayed in room 1, facing the main road, beautifully decorated and good sized proportions which included a small alcove housing a single bed, which we used to store our clothes and luggage, rather than clutter up the main sleeping area. Good quality toiletries are stocked in the bathroom and shower, but there is no bath, for those guests who may prefer a proper soak. Breakfasts were really tasty, with a wide selection of food ranging from healthy fruits, joghurts and home made bread to the more traditional and wholesome “full Irish”! We found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful, despite having a full house of wedding party revellers. Our only gripe was the external road noise overnight, which has quite a lot of traffic, including lorries who use the route to avoid paying road tolls. This was a common observation from other guests we spoke to, who were disappointed at not getting an uninterrupted nights sleep. Notwithstanding, and away from the main road, this would be a lovely place to stay and enjoy the hospitality that Ireland, but more specifically the Conyngham Arms has to offer.

Room Tip: Light sleepers should avoid rooms looking over the main road
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LyeCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

On my return to this hotel for the second time once again I was not impressed. I have no complaints about the lunch or the service we received. Being a lovely sunny day my friend and I asked if we could have our coffee in the garden. We were told NO by the waitress. We asked another member of staff and were told once again NO. The reason being that there was a private party taking place and the garden was reserved for them and them only. No other guests could use the garden. While checking the situation out we found that the private party were just beginning to dine in the function room and there was not one person in the very large garden at this point in time. We were told that we could take our coffee outside to the small table on the footpath of the main street. NO THANK YOU....we left and will not be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vivienneplatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tconroy, Owner at Conyngham Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Vivienne Patten. Many thanks for your review on Tripadvisor and for your lovely compliments regarding the food and service. We have been working tirelessly on the gardens at The Conyngham Arms so that our guests can enjoy outdoor dining and in fact we just turned on the new fountain for the first time early last week to add to the surroundings. On the afternoon you were with us we had a private party in the Lavender Suite who had booked exclusive use of the gardens for their use. The hotel had previously agreed this with the function guests. So I am afraid that you were unfortunate that particular afternoon, our staff were not trying to be awkward. Though you may have been horrified by the suggestion of sitting on the side of the street, many of our diners actually enjoy sitting outdoors where they can watch the world go by, so no offence was meant by this suggestion. As the saying goes, third time lucky, we hope that you will afford us a 3rd visit, so that you may leave impressed!! Kind regards Patricia Conroy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed at the Conyngham Arms for three nights for wedding celebrations. The Hotel was very clean, excellent breakfasts and very friendly and efficient staff. Really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend if visiting Slane

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We had a great family reunion at the Conyngham Arms. Slane and the Boyne Valley is a great destination as there is plenty to do in the area, it's close enough to Dublin with the new road, and yet feels like a well tucked away part of the country.

The Hotel staff were welcoming - they dealt well with my bemusement at the vanishing of the olde worlde bar that was there when I was a local, oh, about 25 years ago. The cafe setting that replaces it is a little lacking in character by comparison. The lack of a "proper bar" is the main downside of the impressive renovation - but in Slane you don't have to go far to make up for this.

Otherwise, the makeover is impeccable and gives the place a new lease of life.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the back if you don't want to be disturbed by weekend pub life.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony_and_Aisling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews