We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding location, relaxing, great for children and adults alike.”
Review of Slane Farm Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Slane Farm Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding location, relaxing, great for children and adults alike.”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We have just spent 6 days staying in the cottage with the "orange door". Everything you need is provided within the cottage down to Teabags and sugar! My 3 children played on their bikes, visited the donkey and the hens, attempted tree house making in the woods! We went for walks into Slane village for a drink in the beer garden at Boyle's! Walked up Slane hill and the kids played hide 'n seek in the ruins at the top of the hill. For some down time they went into the hostel for their wifi fix to keep them in the cyber world on their Instagram and snapchat! If you are looking for family time in a fantastic location this is the place for you. The staff Joanne and Gemma were very helpful with ideas of things to do in the local area. We'll be back. The Inglis Family.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dodger00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slanecottages, Manager at Slane Farm Hostel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thanks for much for taking the time to write us such a great review.
It was pleasure having your family stay with us!
Have a happy Easter!
Gemma, Michael, James and family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    22
    14
    7
    9
See reviews for
43
46
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hays, Kansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The room was fine for the price, the kitchen had everything to make a meal (although no dishsoap to wash dishes with for two days), and the location was great for exploring Meath and Louth Counties, but they were having serious staffing problems during the days we were there. When we arrived, we were greeted after about ten minutes by a very harried owner who passed us a key, pointed to our room door, and then left without any overview of the facilities or policies. We saw no one for the two and a half days we stayed. There was no one to answer questions. Other guests would ask us if we had seen anyone about as they too had issues and questions. One young, German couple who had made reservations and arrangements to arrive late with a baby found reception empty, took a key from behind the desk, and let themselves in to an empty room. All of us then spent 30 minutes the next morning looking for someone, anyone, to pay so we could leave. Hostel doorbell? Nope. House doorbell? Nope. House backdoor clanging bell? Nope. Walk around facility? No one. Farm office? No one. At one point, I just began to shout, "Hallo, is there anyone alive around here?" As we met back at reception, the same harried woman walks out the house's backdoor. What?

We had to laugh as we left the parking lot because after seeing no one for days we saw from our car
- the owner
- the women in charge of the hostel reservation bookings who came driving up
- two farm workers of a small tractor pulling into the lot after us
- and that poor German couple who had to stick around because they had let themselves into a room.

Hopefully, whatever crisis gripped the farm has now passed and things are back to normal.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slanecottages, Manager at Slane Farm Hostel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leavfe a review for us. Yes you are right we were on top of our eyes the weekend you arrived with us. The cows just finished calving and it was all hands on deck on the farm to get everything in order.
Then in the hostel and cottages we have been over whelmed with the amount of bookings coming in already this year and we didnt expect it. Our bookings have doubled since last year at this time and we are delighted.
Since the weekend you have stayed with us we have employeed new staff on a full time basis and we are now getting ready for a very busy summer.
We really hope you will return to us again in the furture and we hope you have a great onward journey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the cottages for several days and had the most delightful time. Felt like I walked into a home away from home as soon as I arrived. Very close to town, can have some pints at Boyles and then stroll home, even closer to the castle. Love it, will be back!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank pkatzmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slanecottages, Manager at Slane Farm Hostel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our place. We hope you will return again in the future! Regards, All at Slane Farm!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We have just stayed here for my sisters hen party . A brilliant experience for everyone . This place is in a great location and we had the entire rooms to ourselves . It suited us perfectly . We brought our own food , there is a huge kitchen and dining area . There is a games/ sitting room upstairs where we spent after eating . Then only minutes to the village to sample the many pubs .
The family that run the hostel are so accommodating , they didn't come near us at all and we partied until the early hours of the morning , they just wanted the place left as we found it. A very helpful family to deal with . I would highly recommend for any one looking for any sort of getaway , be it party or quiet and relaxing .

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Royalers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gemma m, Manager at Slane Farm Hostel, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review.
It is only really this winter that we have decided to try and get more groups - and all I can say if all our groups are like your group we will be doing pretty well!
Health and happiness to you all for 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This place was heaven on earth. Clean, professional, environmentally conscious, tucked away in the Irish countryside with plenty of places to walk and take in the Irish way of life. Plus it's only a 20 minute walk into the village of Slane for a pint or two. I would recommend this to anyone, and plan on returning again and again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Royal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gemma m, Manager at Slane Farm Hostel, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thanks Royal - don't forget us when you are picking up your awards!!!
We will look forward to seeing you again in 2014!
Gemma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed here last weekend and found to the place to be a little treasure. Clean bedrooms,big sitting room and kitchen and great for a group of friends to stay in for the weekend. I would stay there again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gemma m, Manager at Slane Farm Hostel, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review!
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we will be looking for to your return visit - hopefully soon!
Best of luck in 2014!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meath, Irelmand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Slane Farm Hostel is a little gem hidden away in the Slane/Meath countryside. Close to the village, yet far enough to give it that "quaint and rural vibe". Accommodation standard is excellent, with all the necessities you need on a trip away. The outside space has picnic benches so that you can nip outside, relax and enjoy the scenery. I would highly recommend this as a place to stay. Family run also so you get a great welcome :)

Room Tip: Cottages Rock to be honest - very private :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afitz05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gemma m, Manager at Slane Farm Hostel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thanks for such a great comment! I am delighted to hear you enjoyed you stay and thank you for taking the time to give us a review! Happy Christmas and see you again in the new year! Regards, Gemma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slane
1.5 mi away
Conyngham Arms Hotel
2.1 mi away
Tankardstown
Tankardstown
#1 of 3 in Slane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
9.4 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
6.2 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
5.8 mi away
Newgrange Lodge
Newgrange Lodge
#1 of 2 in Donore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slane Farm Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slane Farm Hostel

Property: Slane Farm Hostel
Address: Harlinstown House, Slane, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Slane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Slane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slane Farm Hostel and Cottages are situated on a large working farm in the heart of the historic Boyne Valley. These old farm buildings have been lovingly transferred into luxury accommodation that would suit couples, families, groups or individuals. With Dublin city and Dublin Airport only 40 mins. away guests can enjoy the freedom of the countryside and stroll around the many walks on the farm and visit the dairy enterprise and family pets. Slane Castle is next door the many historic site of the Boyne Valley are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, PitchUp and Priceline so you can book your Slane Farm Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing