We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW WOW WOW”
Review of Tankardstown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tankardstown
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Slane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My daughters wedding was hosted here and from the moment we arrived we were made welcome by Emma the receptionist who checked us in and showed us to our rooms.The rooms are out of this world I have stayed in some luxury hotel rooms but this is just something else [ my wife stayed in the library suite] spacious furnished with antiques the other bedrooms are way above your average 5 star standard room.We had the entire house to ourselves,other guests took over the courtyard apartments which are pure luxury.The wedding party dined in the main house in the formal dining room which is like a scene of Downton Abbey,we had a choice of starters,main courses, and desserts.all cooked perfection.Fran the manager seemed to do a hundred things yet he had a great eye for detail the silver service went smooth as clockwork and our wine glasses never went empty his staff were courteous and efficient [a special mention for Luca our barman in the small bar who was on the ball].The rest of the wedding party dined in the Brabazon restaurant with a choice of menu with every thing cooked to perfection[this is Not your usual wedding fare] but first class restaurant food cooked to order.The grounds are extensive and we had the place completely to ourselves as the gates are closed,boots and resident dogs can be supplied for those feeling energetic or you can relax in the outdoor hot tub.Thanks again to Fran and staff for a memorable stay .WE will definitely be back this is simply the best boutique hotel in Ireland North or South you five star rating does not do you justice.

Room Tip: There are simply no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charlie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

This was a very special visit - my only Son was getting married, and based on Trip Advisor reviews (not to mention the meticulous preparations of the bridal couple) our expectations were extremely high. We were highly impressed and had a truly memorable day here!

Getting to Tankardstown is a little bit tricky - find your way to Slane village, follow the road towards Navan, and opposite the landmark Slane Castle, go right. This narrow road meanders somewhat, but taking care to veer left along the way, you eventually arrive at Tankardstown's gates (on your right) after about 2.5 miles.

We couldn't but be impressed with this restored 18th Century Georgian House, set as it is in pleasant parkland. Inside is stunning : a series of Reception Rooms, tastefully decorated, and this being late December, we also appreciated the atmospheric blazing fires. From the time of our arrival, the staff were welcoming, friendly, helpful and efficient - well done all concerned!

Our meal was served downstairs in what's known as "The Orangery", again an impressive and comfortable space, well-suited to a Function such as this. On a day like this, the main focus isn't necessarily on Food, but Tankardstown certainly distinguished itself with what was presented. From what we chose, the "Confit of Duck Leg" Starter was especially tasty, the "Roast Rump of Lamb" Main was good, and the "Chocolate Tart" Dessert was rated "excellent" by my "Better Half" - high praise indeed!

Bedrooms here are also of high quality, although limited in number. To facilitate guests at weddings, Tankardstown has a network of B & B accommodation in the surrounding area, and also provides a "Courtesy Coach" to ferry people to and from the main House at set times - a very useful facility indeed.

How did the Wedding go? Extremely well, it must be said! I'm immensely proud of my Son (despite his support for a certain red-clad football team from Manchester!) and his Wife is simply gorgeous. They organised a great day, and we wish them all the very best, now and in the years ahead!

Room Tip: Book early as Rooms are limited in number at the Main House
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gooner10_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stayed overnight to attend a wedding. A wonderful location whether staying in the house or the courtyard cottages. The house interior has to be seen to be believed. It had the most magnificent Christmas tree in the entrance hall. The food in the Brabazon restaurant certainly lives up to its AA two rosette award.

Room Tip: If staying in the main house, try the Library Suite. If in the cottages there a variety of sizes to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesMc691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Just loved our stay... Fires burning, the comfiest bed in the world, interiors incredible, food to die for... A stay here is a must!
There is a gorgeous honesty bar which is well stocked and gives and informal feel. The gardens are gorgeous and quirky and we enjoyed lovely walks. Brabazon restaurant excellent!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArmaghRestaurant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Attended a wedding here and all i can say is WOW !!! The Venue is to die for and the staff were very helpful the food was really good and served with a smile .. Look forward to returning to stay as the house is Gorgeous and unique ..

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fussybutnice033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My family stayed one night in this beautiful hotel. Unfortunately we arrived in the late afternoon and had to leave early in the morning. We wished we could have stayed longer. The grounds are beautiful with large trees with a wall around the entire huge estate. The hotel is exquisite. We stayed in a cottage which had two stories with two bedrooms and two bathrooms with a kitchen. It was deluxe and spotlessly clean. The staff were incredibly accommodating and very friendly. We ate dinner is the casual restaurant and it was one of the best meals we have ever had. They bake their own breads as well grow many of their own vegetables. We had to leave early to get to the airport and they offered to open the restaurant early to serve us a fantastic breakfast. This hotel is definitely a five star. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gordon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Tankardstown House near slane co. meath is a sellbounding and delightful old country House with rooms full of antiques, fine foods and fine wines. The house has been tastefully restored and is just beautifully. The staff are very helpful and the table service is excellent. Fine foods and fine wines are the order of the day at this 5 star country house which is a must stay on anyone's list.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slane
3.5 mi away
Conyngham Arms Hotel
10.1 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
921 reviews
13.7 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
23.1 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
6.8 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tankardstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tankardstown

Address: Tankardstown House | Rathkeny, Slane, County Meath, Slane, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Slane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Slane
Price Range: £181 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tankardstown 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent 80 acre estate, comprising a luxurious 18th century Manor House, adjacent courtyard of beautifully appointed Cottage Suites, and lower courtyard where award winning Brabazon Restaurant, the more casual Cellar Restaurant and The Tea Gardens are located. Understated elegance, relaxed atmosphere, just some of the adjectives used to describe our beautiful property. Located in Co. Meath, the country estate is only 40 minutes from Dublin and just over an hour from Belfast. A true oasis of tranquillity and beauty, Tankardstown House has been superbly restored throughout and offers you, your family and friends a unique opportunity to experience hospitality in a beautiful privately owned home. The country estate offers an idyllic setting for outdoor activity and adventure. It's the perfect place to discover the thrill of exploring the countryside on bicycle or foot. Tankardstown House is situated just 15 minutes from the World Heritage site of Newgrange, the Battle of the Boyne Site and Slane Castle, renowned for its own History & Whiskey Tours. For Golfers, the nearby parkland course of Headfort or the links at Baltray, will challenge any level of golfer. Alternatively, you might prefer to enjoy a spa treatment at the 'Hide-Out' to end an activity packed day, relax in the outdoor hot tub or unwind with a book in one of our many beautiful rooms. Other activities include hot air balloon rides, clay pigeon shooting and boating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Tankardstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tankardstown Hotel Slane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing