We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!”
Review of Tankardstown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tankardstown
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Slane
Certificate of Excellence
Tullamore, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Myself and my new wife Maggie got married in Tankardstown last Friday 11, having booked the venue after our first stay there last November. Simply put, this place is faultless. Food is very very good, beautifully presented, fantastic service. Rooms are beautiful, elegant, spacious, modern comforts combined with old world charm. Their staff are exceptional, nothing is ever too much trouble and they certainly made our day even more special. In particular Fran, Gillian and Des deserve special praise. Do yourself a favour and stay here...we can't wait to go back!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank pauleyc2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    28
    14
    15
    8
See reviews for
67
132
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening and day (4 rooms) at Tankardstown. The hospitality was fantastic and the accommodations were exceptional. We look forward to our next visit! It could not have been any better!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We tried to have a special Sunday lunch for our American friends, and met the most unfriendly staff at the Brabazon Restaurant, who appeared to think it a chore to serve us. All the staff looked grumpy and not once was there a smile or friendly word. The food was mediocre also, tough and gristly meat and badly cooked vegetables, so we left before dessert. We won't be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Gemma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed here for our Anniversary, Outstanding food in Brabazon restaurant, rooms in the house are absolutely beautiful, staff couldn't do enough for us, Look forward to going back for another anniversary.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

In fairness Tankardstown is a beautiful venue with lovely grounds. However the wedding meal we recently had was a letdown.Wrong temperatures of the beef given to guests . Vegetables overcooked to the point of being mush.Starters and desserts were mediocre with long delays between courses.Pity... it could have so much better.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank barryj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorey, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We attended a wedding in Tankardstown yesterday and wish to compliment the establishment for a superb experience. The staff had just the right mix of professionalism and efficiency together with warmth and sincerity. The food was first class and attention to detail left nothing to be desired. The ambiance was delightful and despite being a place of grandeur one didn't feel in the least overawed or intimidated by the old world charm and luxury on display.
I would strongly recommend this Hotel if you want the perfect base to explore the many delights of County Meath both in terms of heritage and history or indeed as a wedding venue for an experience you will not regret. It was flawless in every respect and memories will linger long after the credit card bills come rolling in ....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed here in February 2014. We stayed in a lovely cottage just for one night with dinner. Had a fantastic time and would highly recommend. Best points:
It's about 40 minutes from the M50 (N2) junction. And given that I'm only five minutes from that, we got there and back in no time! Seriously close to Dublin but very much in the country
Very nice cottage, warmed up nice and quickly, very cosy. Good tea and coffee (Nespresso) facilities in the cottage, well equipped, very comfy bed.
Meal in the evening was fantastic, very tasty, lovely service too.
There is a hot tub which I hadn't realised before getting there unfortunately, next time I will bring my swimsuit!
Unfortunately had to be up reasonably early the next day so couldn't enjoy the bar in the main house but it looked like the perfect place to settle in for the evening.
All the staff were extremely pleasant.
Stay here!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GromitDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slane
3.5 mi away
Conyngham Arms Hotel
10.1 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
846 reviews
16.9 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
23.1 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
14.9 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tankardstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tankardstown

Property: Tankardstown
Address: Tankardstown House | Rathkeny, Slane, County Meath, Slane, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Slane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Slane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tankardstown 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent 80 acre estate, comprising a luxurious 18th century Manor House, adjacent courtyard of beautifully appointed Cottage Suites, and lower courtyard where award winning Brabazon Restaurant, the more casual Cellar Restaurant and The Tea Gardens are located. Understated elegance, relaxed atmosphere, just some of the adjectives used to describe our beautiful property. Located in Co. Meath, the country estate is only 40 minutes from Dublin and just over an hour from Belfast. A true oasis of tranquillity and beauty, Tankardstown House has been superbly restored throughout and offers you, your family and friends a unique opportunity to experience hospitality in a beautiful privately owned home. The country estate offers an idyllic setting for outdoor activity and adventure. It's the perfect place to discover the thrill of exploring the countryside on bicycle or foot. Tankardstown House is situated just 15 minutes from the World Heritage site of Newgrange, the Battle of the Boyne Site and Slane Castle, renowned for its own History & Whiskey Tours. For Golfers, the nearby parkland course of Headfort or the links at Baltray, will challenge any level of golfer. Alternatively, you might prefer to enjoy a spa treatment at the 'Hide-Out' to end an activity packed day, relax in the outdoor hot tub or unwind with a book in one of our many beautiful rooms. Other activities include hot air balloon rides, clay pigeon shooting and boating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tankardstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tankardstown Hotel Slane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing