We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family Christmas at the Mill House”
Review of The Millhouse

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Slane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Millhouse
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Slane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We hired the Mill House on a self catering basis and had the perfect family Christmas - 18 adults, 4 toddlers and plenty of space. Everyone had their own room with ensuite facilities, tea maker, tv / dvd – luxury! Cooking meals was made easy with a full catering kitchen and a dining table that seated everyone comfortably located between the kitchen and the main sitting room. The house was cosy and warm, a home away from home where we could all gather together and catch up but with plenty of space that if you wanted a quiet corner to read a book, that was no problem too. The games room was a great space for the toddlers to run around while the adults chilled out on the sofa. As an added bonus it is walking distance to the local pub and there is great food in the local bistro. The Mill House has everything you need and plenty to do and explore in the surrounding area for all ages. Overall a fabulous holiday and I would definitely recommend the Mill House for any large family gathering.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank 974Jennifer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
There are newer reviews for The Millhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2011

Stayed the weekend of slane concert and considering the event on in the locality the hotel was an excellent location for the gig. The staff were excellent over the weekend and very helpful. I would recommend this hotel for a small quiet weekend break for couples. The rooms are of good standard and clean. Thanks to the staff for making our break very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anonymou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

We recently held my husband's 40th birthday at The Millhouse. We wanted somewhere that would provide us with good food, friendly service where our family and friends could enjoy themselves without feeling that we were in other guests way and we got this at The Millhouse. From the moment we arrived we were warmly welcomed by Brian and his team and nothing was too much trouble for them.

From the Pre-dinner drinks in the Drawing Room to the sit-down meal in The Pavillion we could not find fault with anything. The quality of the food was excellent and exceeded our expectations from a set menu. We required all eleven rooms and they were all well presented and clean, the four-poster rooms are truly beautiful!

I would highly recommend The Millhouse to anyone who is looking for a party/function in an exclusive yet friendly environment. The management and staff certainly know what they are doing and you feel in safe hands from the moment you first enquiry with them. We were encouraged to treat The Millhouse as our home for our stay and could not have chosen a more perfect venue for the night.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NK31London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

We had our wedding party at The Millhouse in Slane in November 2010, on the first snowy weekend of the winter.

We had initially chosen the Millhouse for its beautiful location; its informal and relaxed feel as well as the general attitude of the staff who were so happy to accommodate our wishes for a low key "non-weddingy" wedding party. We were also very impressed with the food at our menu tasting.

When it came to the actual weekend, the weather was absolutely terrible. Thankfully everyone made it there but as the weather worsened over the evening it became clear that many of those staying elsewhere were not going to make it back! However this was no problem at all to the fantastic staff at the Millhouse who made up extra beds in every available space in the hotel, on floors and sofas. Some of the staff even gave up their own beds! All these unexpected guests were provided with the Millhouse's fantastic breakfast the following morning. Nothing was too much trouble!

The Millhouse is a fantastic place for a party. If you want a wedding or party that is completely tailored to you, it is the perfect place. And I honestly think it is great value for money - you get exclusive use of a lovely house with no venue hire charge, even for our small budget the choice of menu options was amazing.

All in all, the venue is great, the food is fantastic, the staff were so helpful and low key - we were very much made to feel that the house was our own for the weekend. Highly recommended.

Stayed: November 2010
6  Thank littlehi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We held our wedding reception in the Mill House in sept 2010. It was a perfect day!!! Ecxellent staff, beautiful romantic setting, food delish!!! The wedding co ordinator Niamh, was fantastic! Calm, re assuring and experienced! We had a large wedding for the venue, 170 people!! The staff played a stormer. Bridgette stands out in particular and Niamh was there running a fantastic show the whole time!! I know every1 says their wedding was the best... but we have had so so many compliments and ours truly felt like the best!!!! The rooms could be cheaper when paying big money for a wedding.Standard rooms should be cheaper than superior. the exclusivity is great. The only thing I would say is for such a big wedding we were blessed with the weather!! Our guests had plenty of room to roam around the court yard and the house. I dont know if it would have been as comfortable with out the weather. But its a hidden country gem. (Even tho we r now locals!!) I hope to go back there for a Christening some day:) )

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank babsirelandMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

I used to work for a few magazines taking photographs of hotels in Ireland and across the world. I was attending a wedding of a good friend of mine at The Millhouse Slane two weeks ago and have to say it’s one of Irelands best kept secrets. Absolutely outstanding scenery, extremely comfortable and it’s located right on the river Boyne. Food perfect and staff very friendly, unfortunately this place will be a secret no more. I just pray I meet the right girl soon. Any takers lol 

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
3  Thank 1888Celtic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

The Millhouse truly is a find! We had our wedding reception there earlier this year. As we had only a small number of guests (approx 25), we had struggled to find a suitable venue. But once we visited the Millhouse, our search was over. The house itself is lovely with so many unique features at every turn. The decor is beautiful. As we had booked all bedrooms in the house, we were told to make ourselves at home and that’s exactly what we did (with bubbly infront of a roaring fire!). Harvey, the manager, was extremely accommodating (as were all members of staff) and helped us to customise the day as we wanted in terms of music, decoration etc. And the children (young and old) were very impressed with the games room! The food too was great. I would recommend this venue for any special gathering, for a group anywhere between 20 – 100 people. And my advice would be to make the most of this wonderful location.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RitaK97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slane
2.0 mi away
Conyngham Arms Hotel
3.9 mi away
Tankardstown
Tankardstown
#1 of 3 in Slane
318 reviews
7.1 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
373 reviews
8.8 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
651 reviews
7.0 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Millhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Millhouse

Address: Slane, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Slane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Slane
Price Range: £115 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 11 bedroomed Boutique Hotel.Specializing in bespoke weddings and private parties.Open for food all day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Millhouse Hotel Slane
Millhouse Hotel Slane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing